We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good location and good service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Listel Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #23 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed 8 days at Listel Hotel in Vancouver. It's nice hotel with efficient services. All the times I asked thenfrontbdesk people information about restaurants and other attractions of the city, they were very helpful and gave us great tips.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbelardoFragaJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    748
    177
    53
    19
See reviews for
325
843
121
462
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

When we arrived at the Listel Hotel, we found out our room had a queen bed instead of a king (as posted on the the hotels.com description). We were subsequently charged a $10 upgrade fee to be moved a room with a king size bed. The room upon entering was anything but "modern", as we were told by the front desk concierge. The room had an old tube TV in a plastic-looking armoire, opposite the bed. The bathroom was so small that the door almost hit the toilet upon entering. The shower/bathtub combo was tiny at best and was not clean. The grout looked as if it had never been cleaned and the overall shower/tub had a dingy, yellow tint. The hook on the back of this bathroom door was hanging by one screw. The bedding was scratchy and overall not comfortable to sleep with. When we gathering our things for checkout, we found a black sock that belonged to neither my boyfriend nor I. When we checked out and gave the valet slip to the front desk concierge, we waited for a half an hour to get our car. We only got the car brought around after the valet noticed us sitting in the lobby and asked us if we were waiting for a cab. He had obviously never gotten the slip. I would never stay at this hotel again because the service was terrible and the room even more so.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caitlin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsawwassen-Jim, General Manager at The Listel Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
I am very sorry to read about the service defiencies that this guest experienced from the valet issue to the housekeeping issue... clearly not a positive reflection on our hotel and definately below ours (or any other hotels) standards. Looking at the website referrenced by the writer the room description does not guarantee a room type, but does allow for requests, I have to assume in this case the hotel was sold out of King beds... that does happen on occasion and unfortunately is beyond the hotels ability to control (the information given to it from the 3rd party websites). The guest was offered a superior room at a $10. premium to secure the king rather than a queen bed. None of the furniture in the hotel is plastic, the armoir noted is custom made of Cedar and Hemlock wood, species local to British Columbia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

My partner and I stayed at The Listel Hotel in Mid December 2011. The hotel was in the perfect location, surrounded by wonderful restaurants, convenience stores and other great shops.

The room was a good size and very warm. I did have a problem with the cleanliness though. The top sheet was stained and there were still hairs on the pillows and the towels. Once I complained to the front desk staff everything was put right and I had no further complaints about the cleanliness.

The art in the hotel was lovely to look at and the use of a computer and internet in the lobby was nice.

If I had one major gripe about the hotel, it would be the parking fee. They charge CAD$26 for parking (I already thought this was high) and then they add 36% taxes (Is that even legal) and the final charge for parking worked out to CAD$35.00 - an exhorbitant amount in my opinion. It cost me less to hire the vehicle per day. I landed up parking down the road and running every few hours to ensure the meter never ran out. A small inconvenience but much cheaper.

Other than that, I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drynanshelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

I emailed and called the hotel a few times before making a reservation. At all times the staff responded immediately to my questions and offered suggestions about touring Vancouver. The Listel in on a busy street lined with restaurants and shops of varying costs. The hotel is very nice - large rooms for a city. We stayed in standard rooms ( there are two other levels of room). The only drawback was there were very few drawers to unpack into - shelved wooden baskets instead. Attractive but not too practical. VERY NICE art all over the hotel - from the lobby to the small attached gallery there were sculptures, paintings, photographs. Much less expensive than the name brand hotels and a nicer experience. Just be aware of the crazy tax rates in Vancouver.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateisadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Listel hotel - had a great deal with Groupon that really made it worth while. It's located in a perfect area andt he rooms are clean and bed is comfortable. The lobby was decorated for Christmas and we found the staff very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catravel0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

The staff, facilities and food are exceptional. I have been staying at Listel on Robson for years. It is my home away from home. I highly recommend for business or pleasure. While cuisine is top drawer Robson Street also offers many other dining experiences within walking distance.

Room Tip: Robson side of hotel is a little noisy with window open... But more interesting. All in all a qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnatNanoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

We've stayed at this contemporary boutique hotel three times and about to make a fourth trip in a matter of weeks. We always have a comfortable and pleasant stay.

The service at both the Listel and the restaurant downstairs, O'Doul's, has been consistently above par in our stays here. During the Olympics when we were in town (we stayed elsewhere, however, due to Olympic committees booking 90% of the existing hotel rooms in the city) we had a few drinks in O'Doul's to watch the Canada/Russia game, and the restaurant manager wandered by and gave us tickets to a medal ceremony for no apparent reason.

The property is conveniently located on entertaining Robson street which is chock full of restaurants and shopping; we are big hockey fans and previously enjoyed the large sports bar across the street but on our last trip we sadly noticed it has been replaced by a Greek restaurant, which for most people will probably be a nice upgrade.

O'Doul's offers a very tasty breakfast and, apparently, live music most weekend nights. I wouldn't know because there are so many great restaurants in the area at which to eat at that I never have had dinner there. I can particularly recommend Joe Forte's on the corner of Thurlow and Robson which has a great rooftop dining area in the summers.

Of course, the hotel has a bunch of art in the lobby gallery and scattered around the building. Although they make a point of saying the rooms are also appointed with local art, most guests probably wouldn't notice--the room art is really not that conspicuously different from any other hotel of this caliber. One or two pieces in a room is not enough to make a difference. It does make the lobby more engaging, however.

The Listel is appropriately, possibly even well, priced. It is an elegant, quiet but not stodgy hotel. We are a young childless couple ourselves, so I never really noticed, but thinking back on it now I realize we haven't come across any families here.

Cars are valet-parked and are returned to you with a few cookies wrapped up with a thank-you note--a cute touch.

Highly recommended for business travelers or adults traveling with either mature or nonexistent children.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin_in_PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Blue Horizon Hotel
Blue Horizon Hotel
#21 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Listel Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Listel Hotel Vancouver

Property: The Listel Hotel Vancouver
Address: 1300 Robson St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6E 1C5, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Robson Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Listel Hotel Vancouver 3.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Despegar.com so you can book your The Listel Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Listel Vancouver Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing