We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Base for an Urban Vancouver Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Soleil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le Soleil
Ranked #15 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Creek, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Base for an Urban Vancouver Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Our family came to Vancouver from Seattle for a weekend trip and was lured to the Le Soleil by a fabulous Groupon offer. Without the promotion we would likely have overlooked this delightful hotel and chosen more traditional, family-grade lodging. It turned out to be a real treat and an exciting urban vacation for the kids.

Highlights of the Hotel Le Soleil
- Two room, corner suite made for comfortable down-time in the room
- Speedy and courteous valet. The car was always ready within a few minutes
- Excellent dining recommendation by the valet (Kamei Royale - Japanese)
- Courteous and helpful staff in all roles
- Convenient for walking to the major downtown attractions
- A short drive to Stanley Park, Granville Island, and North Vancouver
- Mini fridge and an electric tea kettle helped us with budget breakfasts

While this is more of a business hotel, it served well for our Vancouver vacation.

Room Tip: Our corner room, #1512, boasted almost 10 meters of floor to ceiling windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    318
    68
    23
    14
See reviews for
195
474
58
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I've stayed here for work. It's a great place for short term stays as the rooms are converted apartments, which means you get separate room from the main living area, which makes it great for hosting if you have a few people over.

Location wise, it's pretty good but, a bit of a walk (about 8 to 10min) to the main area of Robson Street, where the shopping and restaurants are located.

I know that they're renovating the rooms but, some of them are a bit dated with floral wallpaper.

Overall a great place and for the price, it's a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavaryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at Le Soleil for an evening downtown and were thrilled with our choice! The staff was attentive and helpful. The decor creates a warm, inviting and upscale ambiance. We loved the floor plan of the room and the very large walk-in showers. We also really loved the location; a few steps away from Starbucks, Pacific Centre and a couple of blocks from the waterfront pedestrian walk. We will DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodey_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Many people don't know about this hotel in Vancouver, but I can honestly say it's probably one of the best hotel's I've stayed in. Having previously stayed at other hotels (Fairmont Vancouver, Pan Pacific, etc.), I would recommend this hotel far above the others. This is the second time we've stayed at Le Soleil over the past year. The staff, from the Valet Parking reception to the concierge and the check-in, everything exceeded our expectations. The room was great (and spacious with 2 flat-screen TVs), the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was gorgeous (done in marble). Will definitely stay here each and every time we go to Vancouver!

Room Tip: The hotel can be hard to get to because of the bike-lane on Hornby Street (and it being a one-way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here having bought a groupon voucher and we had a super time. The staff team was really great, nothing was too much. We had dinner in the copper chimney restaurant both nights and the food was very good, again the staff were very friendly. Great location for either the waterfront or the ferry to granville island. Well recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorayned
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had stayed here five years ago on a business trip. The moment I walked into the hotel it was such a pleasant and familiar feeling. As always the staff were superb, checking in was a breeze, the room was amazingly clean and well appointed. The bar and dining is fantastic and the location cant be beaten for businessndowntown. Always enjoy my stays here and now that Vancouver is going to be a regular business stop will certainly make this my regular.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Neptune75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Le Soleil was our home for 4 nights in June, 2012. We had a corner room (for a supplemental fee) because it had a tub. The staff was very attentive & we loved the convenience of the Copper Chimney restaurant just off the lobby, especially for breakfast! We could walk to the waterfront or to many shops in the area. I recommend this hotel. We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Corner suites have a bath tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belarabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 3,051 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#1 of 96 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 stars 2,391 reviews
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#20 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,837 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,709 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#4 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Soleil

Property: Hotel Le Soleil
Address: 567 Hornby Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 2E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#29 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Soleil 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed with a European influence and attention to details have given the Executive Hotel Le Soleil a well deserved reputation as one of the top hotels in downtown Vancouver. Our large suites, attentive staff and great location make a visit to the beautiful City of Vancouver an experience to remember. We are always available to answer questions about the city, hotel and other Executive Hotel Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Le Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Soleil Hotel
Le Soleil Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing