We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of goodies”
Review of Granville Island

Granville Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$172.77*
and up
Full Day Best of Vancouver Private City Tour and Wine Tasting
More Info
$290.70*
and up
Full Day Best of Vancouver Private City Tour and Alpine Adventure
More Info
$114.89*
and up
Whale Watching Tour from Granville Island in Vancouver
Ranked #4 of 351 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Former industrial site has been transformed into an artsy, posh neighborhood with quaint shops, cafes and bookstores.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lots of goodies”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We toured the whole island. There are so many different vendors at the public market. Lots of interesting things. We enjoyed the little water taxi ride from the mainland too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frankeezgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,377
    4,743
    1,322
    216
    45
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ludiak
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to spend a few hours”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Lots of unique little shops that are privately owned -- a few were ones you might find in other cities but the majority offered lots of things I've not see in other places. There's even a broom store! There's a market there that reminded me of Reading Terminal Market in Philly - lots of local vendors selling everything from baked goods to produce. Lots of cheese, meat, fish and produce. There's even an ethnic food court that will appeal to everyone.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ludiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“It's just a feeling....”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This part of town is a little bit special. It's not as busy and characterless as downtown. The pace and effort this side of False Creek and Sunset Beach is noticeable and calming after being on the road downtown or from Victoria.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank domidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Put on your walking shoes!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We took a long walk from downtown...over the bridge to Granville. It was a bit chilly but a great walk and a nice way to spend our last day in Vancouver. We had lunch at Tony's Fish and Oyster Cafe which was a quaint local restaurant to capture the flare of this cute town. The Farmers market was fun to walk around and we even tried some exotic fruits. Wish I had room for the amazing looking pastries. We enjoyed the local street music and people watching. My one star deduction was because the prices in all of the retail stores were ridiculously over priced. I would have liked to pick up a few Holiday gifts but everything I picked up was not worth the price. Not sure if this is because it is a tourist trap or this is Vancouver (I am from the States). Just FYI...the food in the farmers market and the restaurants were all reasonably priced.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shersei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We walked to Granville Island from uptown and really enjoyed the trip. There is a very eclectic feel about the place which I love and the Granville Island Brewery produces some fantastic beers! The indoor market stalls have some fabulous food and there is plenty of choice. It is well worth having a wander around the place when in Vancouver.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 141CathB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granville Island also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Granville Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing