We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth spending two hours via the aqua bus from yale town.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Granville Island

Granville Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$161.65*
and up
Full Day Best of Vancouver Private City Tour and Wine Tasting
Ranked #4 of 347 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Former industrial site has been transformed into an artsy, posh neighborhood with quaint shops, cafes and bookstores.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
2 reviews
“Worth spending two hours via the aqua bus from yale town.”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Catch the aqua bus from yale town for 7-8$ round trip. Granville island is really fun to explore the market and island, people watch, and grab a bite to eat.

Helpful?
Thank Andrewkailua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,884
    4,450
    1,234
    206
    38
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Culinary Institute of the Pacific”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I went to Granville Island, mainly because it was my dad's name, and it was well worth the trip. The #50 bus stopped a block from my hotel, so I just hopped on and paid under $3.00 to get there.
i was hungry, and happened to walk past the Culinary Institute which advertised a 3 course meal for $18. I was seated immediately at a sunny table by the window. I ordered the mussels in a delicious garlic sauce with tiny shoe-string fried potatoes, very fresh cod with asparagus, and profiteroles for dessert. I chose a glass of light British Colombian wine for $11.50 (well worth it--actually a mixture of grapes I'd never seen before), and an espresso to end the meal. The service was excellent. As in many fine restaurants, they start you off with an "amuse-bouche", which was, I believe, a lobster-mushroom ravioli in a delicious sauce. Highlight of Granville Island for me! My dad would have approved.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 33037Kathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Market ever”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I love this place and if I lived in the city would be shopping here all the time. Has lots of Arts and gift shops, theatre as well. Childrens toy market, but best of all is the indoor market where they sell everything from freah produce, cakes, etc and have also got a food court with so many different types of cooked food to purchase.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
115 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Loads to see and do even in the rain”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great markets and shops. We ate both in the market and at a more formal setting. Worth a visit whatever the weather and recommend Granville Island Brewery although beer consumption is limited and Dockside Hotel restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Granville Island...any weather!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

You would think that a place like Granville Island would only be fun in the summer when the days are long and even after the sun has set, its streets are safe and attractive for that final stroll before going home. Right in the smack of rainy March, Granville Island welcomes you into its indoor attractions with as much charm as in the summer. I found a bonus in cold March...warmth in its hospitality. There is a fuzzy warmth about visiting its myriad of shops filled to the brim with artistic touches while other shops sell everyday products born out of creativity and necessity. The indoor market is a treat to the eye and taste buds with products ranging from fruits and vegetables for amazing salads to the freshest seafoods to aromatic coffees to sinful cupcakes to handmade souvenirs from local artists (this is a gem rare these days...originality). What completed my day on Granville Island on a cold wet day in March was a very much needed and appreciated good sized bowl of bouillabaisse! Was having so much fun that I forgot to check on wifi availability!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granville Island also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Granville Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing