We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price from Priceline Worth the $ 70.00”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2011

We tried Priceline for the first time and got a great deal of 70.00. The room was a King with a habour view which we got as an upgrade because we were members. The rooms are a good size. Our room had no bath, only shower. The beds were comfy and the quilts were great.
It is a ways from entertainment or transit. We took a taxi up to Granville as it was raining very heavily.
Paying 14.95 for internet is not good.
Paying 35.00 for p.arking a night is not good. Luckily we took the skytrain down.

If you can get a good deal on this hotel it is worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank comingforthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2011

Dear comingforthesun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your room and the Westin Heavenly Bed. In your review, you noted a score of 1/5 for service. We strive to ensure every one of our associates creates personal and instinctive connections with our guests. If you experienced any less than this we would certainly appreciate the opportunity to speak with you to learn more. As you haven’t mention any specifics in your review, we invite you to connect with our team directly at bayshore@westin.com, or by calling 604.682.3377 to speak with a Manger on Duty. Your feedback is very important to ensuring we continue to provide memorable experiences our guests.

Best Regards,
The Westin Bayshore Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,593 - 2,599 of 3,075 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2011

While the room itself is well appointed, and the location decent enough if you want to be right next to Stanley Park and within (extended) walking distance of Canada Place the entire experience was marred by overcharging for basic services that other hotels either include or offer for a much more reasonable price.

Chief among these is internet access. $14.95 per day in the guest rooms. Ah, perhaps they offer it in the lobby for free? Nope, even if that wasn't inconvenient in itself you'd still have to pay if you went down to the business center.

Five years ago this may be understandable, but expecting your guests to pay for internet now is like expecting them to pay for basic cable. Back in the early 80s you could get away with charging for cable, back in the early 2000s you could say the same for internet. Neither is true anymore, and someone needs to tell Starwood to bring its properties up to date in this regard.

The other big inconvenience is parking and transportation. Both self-park and valet are $36 per day. Since the hotel is not located near any major terminals or transportation hubs you will probably need a car, so be prepared to add this cost to whatever room rate you find.

Again, the hotel itself is very clean, very modern, the staff was extremely helpful. But in a city that can be as expensive as Vancouver the swarm of little costly cuts are just annoying enough to warrant a negative review.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qrsqrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitcfaw, Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2011

Dear qrsqrt,

Thank you very much for staying with us, and for taking the time to provide us with feedback about your stay. We are glad to hear that our associates made your experience memorable. We also appreciate your feedback regarding our costs. Please know that we take care to ensure all of our services are priced competitively, however your comments are valuable to ensure we continue to offer our guests the best value possible.

Best Regards,
The Westin Bayshore Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

We booked a night through priceline for a great rate that almost offset the $36 a night self park fee ($41 for valet...). The hotel is in great shape and located right on the sea wall. Our room was "upgraded" to a marina view that was a great view of Stanley Park and the Northshore. From the looks of the place, almost all of the rooms would have some sort of water view, but it always helps to be a SPG member even if you book with a 3rd party.

The major downside of this hotel is that it is an extra 10mins of a walk from the main downtown areas in comparison to the Marriott, Hyatt, Delta etc. Which is a bit of a pain if it is cold and dark, especially if it is raining. We had a hard time finding anywhere to eat after 11pm on a Saturday night until we went up Robson street. (of course we don't typically eat that late, but it was still annoying).

However, the benefit to the location is being right on the seawall and close enough that a short taxi ride can get you where ever you need to go. Also, you can bring your dogs (40lbs or under) for free!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wrldtvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We arrived at the Westin Bayshore late on Saturday evening after 28 exhausting travelling hours to reach Vancouver. We were immediately greeted by friendly check-in staff and the porter who assisted with our baggage showed us to our spacious room. Despite the fact that we got the room for a bargain on Priceline, we received a complimentary upgrade to a beautiful and highly practical water-facing room. This hotel had it all – two wonderful and most comfortable double beds to choose from, decent coffee/tea maker, great quality complimentary toiletry items (which were replaced daily), plenty of towels and a much appreciated bath which doubled as a shower – with plenty of hot water! The rooms were very comfortable best described as practically furnished – the chaise next to the window was a nice touch! Every morning we were greeted by gorgeous water views through the opening double sliding windows. The hotel is perfectly positioned right on the water’s edge and is only a two or three blocks from the city centre – offering the best of both worlds. Numerous conference/functions being held at the Westin Bayshore never interfered with our enjoyment or movement in and around the hotel.

On two occasions the ever efficient concierge made excellent restaurant recommendations as well as reserving a four hour city tour on our behalf.

Whilst on the city tour, we regretfully experienced a very unfortunate incident when my handbag was stolen at the very busy Granville Public Market. Upon our return to the hotel, I cannot begin to describe the fantastic compassionate assistance we received from all the hotel’s staff – from the security gentleman who came to our room to remove the little locks on our luggage (keys went with the bag) to the endless patience and utmost friendly assistance received by the telephone operator when we needed to make numerous calls to stop credit cards, mobile phones etc and change a number of flights and hotel reservations.

Without our knowledge, the Westin Bayshore generosity even went as far as to pre-pay our taxi fare from the hotel to the airport when we departed Vancouver. I would highly recommend the Westin Bayshore hotel to anyone sharing a similar requirement to us. Thank you Westin Bayshore – we will most certainly not consider staying anywhere else in Vancouver!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joburg_Girl_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

The Bayshore is fantastic! The smell is great, the location is beautiful, and the people are so friendly it's amazing. Check out their outdoor pool in the summer and the unique breakfast buffet. We stayed here recently on a stop elsewhere and splurged for a upgrade harbour view room. it was in the tower and had an spectacular view over the harbour and was much larger than the other westin king's we've been in - all for only $20 more! Parking is a bit expensive (around $30 for valet) but much more convenient than the park yourself option.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkbc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

Reason for stars: Very clean and great location

Rooms: Clean. We were overlooking the water with a balcony. Very comforting

Location: Very close to downtown and overlooking the water and a bit of Stanley Park.

Value: We stayed for a week and the service/rooms were great. I would definitely return to the Bayshore when in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feedthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I cannot say "thank you" enough to all the staff.We were in Vancouver for medical reasons & the entire staff really made us feel at home.Daniel,thank you (such a great person) for looking out for us & going the extra mile.The Westin Bayshore is lucky to have someone like Daniel working with them,she is the best.Also I can't foreget about Emma & Jean (office),Dan,Allien (concierge) Joanne,Anna & all the staff made us want to come back & stay again at the Bayshore.
Norm R

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank captnorm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,111 reviews
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $147 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing