We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
290 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2007

Our family's stay at the Westin was terrific. The location is unbelievable - you have a great view of the harbor and you can walk or bike into Stanley Park in no time. Being an east coaster, I was up early, and watched the sun rise from my terrace, while the cruise ships came into the pier.

The lobby was beautiful, and for a city hotel, the outdoor pool was large, inviting and clean. There's a Starbucks in the hotel for the early morning coffee. The Corporate rate that I got made the hotel a great bargain.

The room was comfortable and clean, although the hotel is clearly not new. We had a good-sized room with a terrace, but the wear of 30+ years is starting to show on the guest rooms and in the hallways. The indoor pool and health club were as you would expect for a large hotel.

All of the staff were helpful, especially the bell desk and the greeter. The concierge were cordial and helpful, but not especially knowledgeable. They were able to make reservations for us for dinner and for rafting, but when we asked about taking an aerial tour, they said to just go down to the airport and we could take a flight immediately - that advice was incorrect - you definitely need to book ahead.

  • Liked — The location on the harbor and proximity to Stanley Park
  • Disliked — Guest rooms, while clean, are somewhat dated
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,226
    899
    201
    80
    46
See reviews for
503
733
110
785
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

The Westin Bayshore is like an old friend--quite predictable with subtle surprises. I've been staying at the Bayshore for over 15 years now, but this was my first visit back in about 5 years.

The guest rooms really need some work though. We had a harbourview room in the main (read older) building, and while the view was spectacular, the room showed its age. The bed was not particularly heavenly (a Westin trademark), and the bathroom and closet were rather small by today's standards. The physical plant needed TLC as the bathtub did not drain that quickly, the toilet would flush only with some effort, and the "secret" elevator for our wing was not functioning.

That being said, the remodeling of the lobby and public places was done with class and beauty. The poolside restaurant and bar, now named the Seawall Bar & Grill (fka Trader Vic's--an institution), is a good place to relax with a drink in the afternoon, or smoke a cigar after dinner. The large circular pool is nice, but it could use some more lounge chairs. The staff are quite helpful and friendly (as are most Canadians). One of the pool attendants even remembered our names the next day. The hotel also has airport check-in for certain airlines.

If you can, try to get a harbourview room, whether in the main building or the tower. Waking up in the morning with a view of the Northshore mountains and the sound of seaplanes landing nearby is an only-in-Vancouver experience. (Just be prepared for the prices--a harbourview room in the summer runs north of $250, and with parity between the Candian dollar and the U.S. dollar, it's not the bargain it used to be.)

Location-wise, the Bayshore is tough to beat. It's right on Coal Harbour, and a block from Stanley Park. There are a couple restaurants nearby (Lift--a fancy place, and Cardero's--a more down-to-earth place), and you are a couple blocks from Denman (which has great little unique shops and restaurants). Downtown is a 15 minute walk away. There is not much traffic around the Bayshore because it is secluded on its own little street. Parking is expensive ($26 per day for valet, a little less for self).

I will always have a sentimental place in my heart for the Bayshore. If you are looking for more glitz and glamour, stay at the Pan Pacific or the Fairmount Hotel Vancouver. But, if you can tolerate a some rougher edges and do not need perfection, the Bayshore is a great hotel.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Physical plant needs some work
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank McMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

My latest Starwood Hotel stay brought me to the Westin Bayshore, which is the only resort-style hotel in Vancouver. If one were to compare the locations of Vancouver's downtown hotels, the Westin Bayshore, in my opinion, has the best; its waterfront location is peaceful and serene. The hotel is within easy walking distance to all of the downtown attractions/shopping, as well as Stanley Park. Here are the highlights of my stay:

Pro's:
- Gorgeous waterfront locale.
- Beautiful Lobby with acres of marble, blonde-wood accents and a large, cozy fireplace.
- Friendly, courteous staff.
- Views from the rooms are great! North/North-West facing rooms of the Bayshore Tower have the best views (Mountains/Ocean etc.).
- As always, one cannot go wrong with Westin's Heavenly Beds
- Exercise Room is very nice, and there are two pools on site (Indoor and Outdoor).
- The Starbucks in the lobby-area is nice and convenient.
- Currents Restaurant: excellent hotel restaurant that serves breakfast and Sunday brunch. It can be a little pricey, but the food is definitely worth it. The brunch buffet is amazing.

Con's:
- The hotel is large and has an expansive layout (can be confusing to navigate the hallways at first).
- The elevators for the main-building were not all operating, so sometimes we had to wait a bit for the elevator.
- The hotel's biggest fault is its age: though it was renovated in the late 90's, the hallways and rooms are showing some wear-and-tear. The main-level public spaces are perfect, but the guestrooms definitely need some upgrading (one of the hotel employees mentioned that this is rumoured to happen soon).
- Seawall Restaurant: this is where the hotel serves Lunch/Dinner. Eating lunch here might be worthwhile, but dinner is overpriced for what you get (the waterfront views are appreciated, though).
- Because the hotel has a large convention centre, it can get quite busy (especially evenings on weekends).

Overview:
Despite the hotel's shortcomings, with regards to outdated infrastructure/guest rooms, it excels in guest service, location, and atmosphere. The Westin Bayshore manages to successfully provide a resort-ambience in the downtown of a bustling metropolitan city: this is a great feat in and of itself. A return stay is definitely in the works.

  • Liked — Tranquil Waterfront Location, Grand Lobby, Great Views & Service
  • Disliked — Outdated Rooms & Buildings
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank Resort_Employee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2007

We enjoyed our stay at the Westin Bayshore. We booked through Priceline and got a much better price than we would have otherwise, so I don't know if I would've been as satisfied had I paid full price. The exterior of the hotel, lobby, and other public facilities were beautiful. The location on the water is also very nice. The room itself was okay. Very comfortable bed and the dual showerhead was amazing (we actually thought about buying it!). The hotel is walking distance to Canada Place, Robson Street, and Stanley Park. We were disappointed with what seemed like the hotel "nickel and dime-ing" us or trying to squeeze every last cent out of us such as charging $16/day for in-room internet access, $0.30/minute for use of the internet in the business center with a $5 minimum charge. One last example of this was when we chose to self-park. We unloaded our bags, then my husband was just going to help me get the bags to our room and then return to park the car. Mind you, it was 11pm (not busy at all). The valet attendant told my husband that he couldn't leave the car there since we were self-parking. That was kind of annoying. But overall, we had a nice time staying at this hotel and would stay again (if we could get a reasonable price).

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ATL75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland,Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

Here is what I wrote to the hotel upon departure,need I say more? I should have listen to the other reviewers
To whom it may concern,
After reading many bad reviews on tripadvisor.com about your hotel, we decided to keep our reservations anyway as we already paid for the rooms and we've always had a great experience with Westin around the world. We did get an upgrade to a harbour view which was great although I'd like to point something out that actually came up on tripadvisor.com. My mother stayed in room 516 (my husband and I in 515) and her wallpaper was not only falling apart but there was some mold underneath. I called guest services and after 45 minutes, a tech came and put a blue pin to hold the wallpaper and told us that , that way, we wouldn't have to look at the mold anymore... i don't know about you but for the price of the room, mold is never out of sight, out of mind in my book. I explained my concerns to a guest service agent who gave 2 people of my party of 4 a complimentary breakfast for the next morning but although appreciated i feel that $70 was not fair compared to the moldy room situation.
Last but not least if Morton at the concierge was extremely helpful and professional, Colette on the other hand was borderline racist and very rude. I asked her about Richmond and she said "I wouldn't know as I would not shop in that area".
As an SPG member, my husband and i felt that the experience was awful. Next time if we are in the area we will probably stay at the Soleil or the four season hotel. I hope STARWOOD will review whether or not the bay shore should be on their hotel list.
Thank you for listening

  • Disliked — rooms, price
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bcbg1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

The hotel has one of the best locations for Vancouver and its worth staying there just for that alone. The room was very good with great views across Stanley Park and the harbour. The floatplanes fly past on approach to the harbour but you get used to the noise. There are a number of eating out options as the hotel is expensive. We used the Starbucks just off the lobby area and also ate breakfast in the hotel which was very good. Curiously we had an elevator problem like many others. There was always one elevator inoperative during our 5 day stay.There was a TV crew in filming around the pool area on one day which made for an entertaining morning. You can walk into Stanley Park in less than 10 minutes and then there is a huge area to wander around, well worth a visit. You can also walk to the Cruise Terminal and Gastown in about half an hour. We even walked to False Creek in about 35-40 minutes and took a little ferry across to Granville Island which is well worth a visit. The floatplane terminal is only about a 15 minute walk (but don't forget your photo ID if you plan on flying!). We would definitely stay in this hotel again, even if its just to go back to that location and walk along the harbour front and soak up the views.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Elevators not working
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank TJ862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

Stayed here due to proximity to business meeting so I didn't read the reviews beforehand but they are accurate.

The Good
1. Absolutely spectacular views of the harbor and the mountains. I had a corner room on the third floor overlooking all of the boats, the park and the mountains. One of the best urban hotel views I have ever had. It didn't hurt that it was 70 and sunny in August - it doesn't get much better in Vancouver. My room was quite spacious.
2. Lobby areas - The ground floor has been redone in blond wood throughout - though a bit sterile and lifeless, it is open and visually stunning.
3. Close to the action - Great walks/jogs in the morning, close to restaurants on the water - Cardero's was excellent. Vancouver is a wonderful city with a clean and modern downtown and the Westin is a great vantage point to gaze at the city in all its splendor.

The Bad
1. Prices - The $375 I paid was the most I've ever paid for a business hotel other than Palmilla in Cabo. I pay less than this in Manhattan. Adding insult to injury, I had to pay $10.95 for internet
access which is outrageous at those prices.
2. Elevators - As others have noted, one of two three elevators from the lobby doesn't work, leaving only two, and both of them are incredibly slow. There is one more off the hallway which is also slow. The guests in my cab chuckled about how long we all spent going downstairs. Now that I read the other reviews, the really annoying thing is that it doesn't appear that they're in any hurry to fix the elevators.
3. Door keys - My door key didn't work after dinner. I went back down to the lobby after a long wait and got a new key. One of my associates had the same experience checking at midnight and they finally sent security up after two trips to the front desk.
4. Run down - The hotel rooms themselves are like any other Westin - the heavenly bed is outstanding - but the infrastructure is deteriorating - the main building looks like a 60's condo from the outside and paint is chipping and there is a musty smell in the hallways - the hallways also have those ugly ceiling tiles and outdated wallcoverings. A hair on my TP roll didn't do it for me either.
5. Service - No chocolates on my beds or turndown service or radio/TV turned on to a relaxing channel. Lights were off but the AC was on - I always know I'm in a Westin when I come in for the night and it's an icebox. Some survey must tell them everyone likes this. However, when I went back to the front desk to fix my malfunctioning key, the front desk manager asked me how I liked the view from my room and I had to laugh - it's like climbing a mountain and being told not to look down.

The Bottom Line
If I had paid $149 midweek or even $199 I would probably be a lot less testy but if the Westin is going to charge like a luxury hotel than it ought to deliver as one. The hotel has a long way to go in its consistency but it's hard not to have a good time when the view and the surroundings are so nice.

  • Liked — Views, location
  • Disliked — Cost, run down hotel, inconsistent service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank HarryfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Westin Grand Vancouver
Westin Grand Vancouver
#30 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,657 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,077 reviews
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Property: The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Address: 1601 Bayshore Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Jetsetter, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing