We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a 4* hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #24 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Not a 4* hotel!”
Reviewed June 26, 2006

If you are used to staying in a 4* hotel and expect a certain standard you'll be disappointed with this one. The guest rooms are no more than average, certainly not 4* quality, and the bathroom is very small.

Public rooms are OK but again nothing special and the general appearance of the building is that it is dated.

However, the location of the hotel is excellent. Views from the rooms overlooking the harbour are superb. Rooms are clean and the staff are friendly and helpful.

There is an excellent restaurant called "Lift" a few yards from the hotel which is well worth a try.

All in all, it's not a bad hotel - just not 4*.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,287
    915
    206
    81
    46
See reviews for
527
751
112
807
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2006

This is my 4th stay at the Bayshore in 2 years and it has got better. There is a new GM in place and the only thing that let it down before was the staff and their service but you cannot fault that now. It is quite simply the best location in Vancouver, there is a handy downtown shuttle bus and the Harbour/Stanley Park views are superb. The rooms in the old wing are tired and due for shut down and renovations. Food in the bar is good. I love the Stanley Perks coffee shop and the outdoor pool. Right on the seawall for a real authentic Vancouver experience. I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smt_RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel for one night, June 20/21, 2006. The location was excellent and quiet. It is in a primarily residential condo area right on the water. An easy, very scenic, walking distance to downtown and Stanley Park.
It has both an indoor and an outdoor swimming pool and an exercise gym.
Two restaurants are on site and others close by. Ours was a pleasure trip but the attached Conference Centre attracts a large business clientele. The Hotel is extremely clean and well looked after and the staff were helpful and friendly.
We were on the fourth floor of the main building and overlooking the water. The room was quiet with the exception of a bang when the door to some of the adjoining rooms were shut. The only negative was the very small bathroom.
We would highly recommend this Hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank Moosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2006

Stayed with friends for six nights from 10th June. Although the bathroom has to be the smallest in the world (only fit one medium sized person at a time) and was looking out at a brick wall (did not help to be a starwood member as far as outlook was concerned) we still enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Has the best location in Vancouver and the staff were so friendly and helpful. Being close to Denman Street is great, lots of very good restaurants particularly for breakfast, try the Russian restaurant, great home cooked meals!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheddyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2006

Stayed at the Westin Bayshore on the last night of our holiday around British Columbia. The staff were superb. Unlike others on your site, we asked for an upgrade on arrival- nothing venutered, nothing gained- and were given a complimentary upgrade, although maybe we were paying more than your other reviewers. Travelling with our children, we found the room to be spacious, clean and, had we known about the view before we got there, we may even have paid for the upgrade as it is just stunning. We didn't want to close the curtains at night, so as not to miss any of the vew. Can't really fault it. Yes, it was 26 dollars to park the car over night, but this compared favourably with London hotels and they don't have sea and mountian views. This hotel was 10 times beter than the Graville Island Hotel we started our trip in, which is very much more highly rated on this site and not much less money. The postion of the Westin is perfect for tourists like ourselves - just missed the breakfast in Granville Island market, but you can't have everything.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Bayshore for one night before we departed for our Alaska Cruise a little over a week ago. Thanks to past Tripadvisor reviewers on the hotwire tip. We got a rate well below the hotel's best web rates (about 50% less). We wanted to stay at this particular hotel due to the great proximity to Stanley Park and the fact that it is a 100% non-smoking hotel. We will always do our best to patronize 100% non-smoking hotels in hopes that others will take notice.

We were upgraded to a harborside view room in the main tower which overlooked the floatplanes, Canada Place pier and Carderro's restaurant (which was wonderful - friendly service and yummy food). We also had a late supper at the hotel bar (I don't recall the name but it had a boating theme) which had a great raw vegetable appetizer (how often can you get nutrition while abroad?) and British Columbia's awesome hard ciders! We were each able to go for a run around Stanley Park and the hotel provided a nice pocket-size waterproof map of the park that suggested 2 different routes.

The room was nicely appointed, the bed was comfortable but not as "heavenly" as I had expected- a bit too firm for me. The bathroom was the smallest I've seen in a hotel in many years. In fact, our bathroom on our basic ship cabin (Regent Seven Seas's Mariner) was more spacious.

What stood out about this hotel to me was the staff. Any time we had a question or issue the staff promptly responded. For instance, my husband's laptop died when he went to boot it up in the morning and the hotel allowed us to have an extremely late checkout as the outside technician we contacted could not get to our room until well after checkout time, despite the hotel being sold out for that upcoming night. Fortunately the problem was solved (btw, IBM technical support is wonderful - within a few hours the tech had arrived with a new motherboard and installed it on the spot in our room) and we were able to make our cruise embarkation time with the laptop fixed. All in all the Westin is a great beautiful hotel, great location, amazing service and we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank GinaCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2006

We went to Vancouver for our wedding anniversary trip. I had booked the hotel through hotwire for a price well below market. When we arrived, we had been given a room on the 2nd floor with a view of the rooftop equipment. Additionally, the room had two double beds. I called down to the front desk and explained that wouldn't work, the front desk personnel offered to upgrade us to a Harborside room for a fee, but quickly offered the upgrade as complimentary. When I went to the front desk to retreive our new keys, she told us that the Harborside Room she had suggested was not available all 3 nights of our stay and that she had upgraded us to the Tower instead. Our view from the 6th floor of the tower was terrific--we were able to watch the sea planes land and overlooked the marina and the park.

In the end, the hotel was a great base for our weekend of dining and celebration. Weather was less than ideal, but we're from Seattle, so a few clouds didn't bother us. The park was easy distance and the hotel is well situated for a nice evening stroll along the waterfront.

While the buildings were older, the rooms (as far as decor goes) had been updated. Built items, like the size of the bathrooms, were tell tale of the buildings age. The main common spaces had all been updated, and had a contemporary/well maintained feel.

The concierge and valet were very helpful. We didn't try the hotel restaurants, but the brunch buffet looked good.

For what we paid, I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travelingurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 89 in Vancouver
3,100 reviews
Robson Street
Westin Grand Vancouver
Westin Grand Vancouver
#30 of 89 in Vancouver
1,669 reviews
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
2,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Property: The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Address: 1601 Bayshore Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing