We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights 13-15 Aug, we had never stayed in Vancouver before and picked this hotel from previous Trip Advisor visitors reviews.It was a wonderful hotel, beautifully clean, all staff encountered were friendly & helpful, our room was on the 8th floor in the main building, over looking the harbour & Stanley Park, cleanliness was 1st class, opening sliding doors overlooking the harbour, small fridge, in room safe, starbucks complimentary coffee,self parking or valet parking if prefered, restaurants were a little expensive, but we dined at the ' spot ' restaurant just a short walk from the hotel,We will definetly stay here again if we travel to Vancouver

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank syanmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,214
    895
    199
    79
    46
See reviews for
498
729
110
778
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2009

A well run beautiful hotel with stable, caring staff. The best rooms are high in the towers although the standard rooms are absolutely fine. The rooms have been refurbished to a high standard. Not all have baths and shower. It is in an amazing position near Stanley Park, Robson St and has direct access to the Sea Wall and the Coal Harbour Marina. It is the only hotel with a resort style deck and pool. I have stayed here many times, I am hard to please, and will definitely return.
Gripes, they should not be charging for internet access and the breakfast, whilst superb, is not the cheapest ($26+tax+service making $65+ for two). They used to have a lobby cafe, now there is only a Starbucks in the lobby. There are plenty of outside cafes within 100 yards if one wanted a $10 breakfast. I was happy to pay the money!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

Stayed here on vacation with our young children. Started off on the wrong foot when they didn't have the king connecting with doubles room we had requested. Staff was nice but didn't/couldn't fix the issue. One of the major reasons we booked this property was because of the great looking outdoor pool seen in on-line photos. Consequently we were really unhappy to find out that the outdoor pool was closed the night of our arrival for a private function(which as my kids pointed out didn't involve swimming in the pool but rather schmoozing by the pool). The property does have a fairly nice indoor pool but it was very frustrating to have a major public area like the pool closed down for the night. On top of that the party going on by the pool was very,very loud with (bad) music blaring. Staff was very unresponsive to our complaints about this(basically sorry but nothing we can do). This party was essentially going on in the center court of the hotel so it had to be bothering anyone with a room overlooking the pool. Then at 5am we were awakened by loud,drunk people next door-walls must be thin. Security did come up and quiet them down fairly quickly and hotel did send up a cheese tray to apologize the next day.
Many of the reviews seem to reference the "tower". I think we were in an older part of the hotel-halls looked a bit tired. Room was ok and bed comfortable but nothing special.
Outdoor pool area has lovely view and when we did get to use it it was enjoyable although too cool in July to swim by about 6pm(again the indoor pool is a bit warmer).
The one(only?) reason to stay here is the location. We were thrilled to be staying outside of the congested downtown vancouver area. We loved being able to walk to Stanley Park and the aquarium(which we highly recommend). Definitely have more of a resort feel with the nice views of the bay. We ate at a really good seafood place nearby (don't recall the name). The breakfast buffet was very nice at the hotel(loads of fresh fruit) but fairly pricey.
Probably would still stay here for the location but frustrating experiences made us less than thrilled with our stay

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank IndianaTravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

We had 7 Harbor view rooms on the top floors and every one raved about the sparkling view of the harbor and the lovely very clean rooms and great TVs. Most of all they loved the beds and the location of the hotel next to Stanley Park and out of the congested Downtown. We have stayed in Vancouver on several occasions and this hotel is the best value and most comfortable.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank patgammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

Overall our stay at the westin bayshore was nice. The inside of the hotel was quite nice, although the outside of the hotel certainly needs some updating. The location is nice for access to Stanley Park, but seemed a bit distant from shopping and eating locations.

Costly computer and internet access is a downfall, as is the limited shuttle service. We were dissapointed to find that the shuttle would not drop us off at teh cruise terminal, but rather went from only the hotel to a designated point downtown.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdchambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

The Westin Bayshore has the best location in Vancouver if you're interested in staying on the waterfront, with a walkway along the harbor if you turn right on exiting the Tower entrance, and the seawall leading to Stanley Park if you turn left. The harborview rooms have beautiful water and mountain views. The Pan Pacific and Fairmont Waterfront, by comparison, are in the heart of downtown, near high-end shops if that's your preference, and near the Convention Center. Views, yes, but not a location on the water. The Juliet balconies at the Westin are small, but the fact that there is a large sliding window that opens is a big plus. So is the refrigerator in the room. And the rooms are big enough and nicely furnished. Even the two restaurants nearby are great. Both have patios on the water. The views from LIFT are spectacular especially at sunset. I love the horseshoe bar and couldn't find the Russell Lemon Ale, highly recommended, anywhere else. Crime Lab has great food and a terrific martini menu. Bottom line -- no matter where we went, we always were glad to be back at the Westin Bayshore. Incidentally, this is written about Tower harborview rooms, which are well worth the small extra rate.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trippNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

What a lobby this place has!
It has to be seen to be believed - it's the size of many UK villages!

We rolled up all hot and grubby after a long long drive (including getting lost in Vancouver!) and were treated like royalty by the doorman-valet guy.
Then at check-in a member of staff approached with a couple of refreshing cool fruit drinks. A really nice, thoughtful touch.

The room was lovely - cool but not suffering from that dreadful clanking air-con you so often find in hotels.

We were only there for a couple of days but had a lovely time - the staff really want you to have a good time and continually offer you help and refreshments.

We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and very fairly priced - cocktails by the pool was our favourite bit!
Loved it.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quaatchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Westin Grand Vancouver
Westin Grand Vancouver
#30 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,074 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Property: The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Address: 1601 Bayshore Drive, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#16 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing