We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, TX
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Heavenly Hotel”
Reviewed July 5, 2005

Booked it on Hotwire for CDN100/night for Memorial Day weekend. Got a room in the Towers wing. Highly recommend requesting a room in the Towers. Very clean hotel, nice room, king size bed, balcony overlooking the Marina and the hills. Decent bathroom, Starbucks coffee in room, the Heavenly Bed. Just a great experience. Nice breakfast buffet, though we just walked to the Bojangles Cafe about a block along the water. Parking was expensive, so we parked on the street at night. The street parking is actually closer than the hotel underground parking, and it is free till 9am. Great hotel location. Denman street is where all the nice restaurants are located, and Robson is for shopping. The only thing bad is there is no free Wi-Fi, even in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RetroK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,530
    998
    229
    88
    52
See reviews for
605
847
122
952
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland NZ
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2005

This was the overall most enjoyable hotel I have ever stayed in, and I've stayed in probably 200 or so in every part of the world, some of which were quite literally fit for roylaty.

Rooms bright & airy, value for money excellent, location superb, amenities superb. I particularly liked the ability to specify when you wanted your room serviced each day. I would have absolutely no hesitation in staying again.

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2005

Oh that bed, that bed!!! It was a little slice of heaven! ;)

The service was great. We started off in a small room that smelled of smoke actually, but called down to the front desk and got moved for $30 more to a room that was enormous with a balcony and gorgeous view of the marina. Spacious room, lusciously decadent beds, nice bathroom, lovely service, good location (close to Robson and Denman with lots of good shopping and great sushi). All in all, a pretty wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Raath_ki_Rani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2005

I stayed here for 4 nights while working in Vancouver and I did not want to leave.
I had a corner room in the Tower. It seems like a bit of a walk to get to the Tower from the lobby but the view was worth it. Gorgeous view of the mountains and the marina. The sea planes land in the harbor near by which is a very neat thing to watch in the mornings.

The room was a nice size and the beds were great. Bathrobes were provided which is always a nice touch.
Spent a lot of time in the Lobby Bar / Restaurant and the service there was always very good and the staff were very friendly.

I also found the front desk, concierge, and valet staff to be very friendly and helpful. They went above and beyond on a couple of occassions.

The only thing that keeps me from rating this hotel as Excellent is the difficulties that I had with the hotel provided wireless internet access.

I was unable to use their wireless-equipment to access the internet from my room. Their tech support tried to get it to work, couldn't, said they would come back the next day, but never returned. So, I was stuck going down to the lobby to check my company email.

I was too lazy to pursue this with the management so I don't know what they would have done to resolve it.

But, all in all, a lovely hotel and I would definitely stay again and recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank SummerA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2005

We just spent 5 nights at the Westin Bayshore and were delighted with our room, the fitness facilities and pool(s), the staff, the location, and the hotel overall. We were able to take advantage of a special rate offer so that made it even better, of course. Our tower "city view" room was as we expected (we always appreciate the robes!). It had a step out only balcony, and as we were kind of on a corner we also had a bit of marina & mountain view. It was fun to step out and take in the refreshing air and sights. No big conventions or crowds during out stay so except for one time when a hord of pre-teens were canon-balling in the indoor pool we had the pool/hot tub to our selves or shared it with a family or two.

We really loved the location adjacent to Stanley Park (a block or two away) and delighted in finding Denman Street for its local feel, the cafes (Blenz Coffee chain here has free wireless internet), and we ate at fun small restaurants there. Wild Garlic, Zakkushi Japanese Grill, and a dessert place (names escapes me at the moment, was it True Confections?) were standouts for us. All were very reasonably priced and tasty. We did not feel away from the action by not being in the middle of downtown for this part of stay in Vancouver (we moved to Marriott for conference - will review separately). We especially enjoyed the Bojangles (chain cafe) that was across the street from the hotel entrance each morning for breakfast. We lucked into summer type weather and were able to sit out at the sidewalk tables and watch people go by on the seawall walk. We used the Westin shuttle a few time to get to a more downtown location and walked there and back as well to take in Robson Street (ok enough) and the art museum, etc. We used buses to get further afield.

The Westin Bayshore gave us a a real vacation feel before moving on for business.

Helpful?
9 Thank MemeNoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 12, 2005

Due to the great reviews, I decided to stay at this hotel. Exceptional location on the water but too far away from the rest of downtown Vancouver. Very poor service at reception and restaurants. Bedrooms were old and tired. Bathroom was appalling and in need of renovation. Not sure why this property is called a resort? No spa, no tennis courts, organized activities or outdoor recreation. They have a marina and are next door to Stanley Park but that's about it. Very dissapointing considering the price. Will not return to this hotel or reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
3,019 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Property: The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing