We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice, but ... Not sure it's worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Not our usual pick for Vancouver, but had a company function going on, so we stayed a couple nights. Location is great for stanley park, and Harbour walks. Sorry for the price ... It would be in third for our choice of hotels. Sutton place is still a better corp deal and we prefer that location, and second is hotel Vancouver. Quality of room is comparable, linens similiar. Prefer the layout and size of room and bathroom at Sutton, and HV better. Location to Robeson shopping, and restaurant options better at Sutton. Excellent service at all three.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear ReneLes,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest for the conference you recently attended. You’ve listed some wonderful properties in Vancouver but I’m sorry to hear that your preference lies elsewhere. Our hotel is a slight walk from the busier downtown area and shopping which allows us to provide direct waterfont access and views. We would be delighted to have you as our guest again for either business or pleasure to enjoy your inspired scenery if that should meet your travel needs. Thank you for sharing your comments with other trip advisor viewers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,973 - 1,979 of 3,163 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

First time we've stayed at this hotel...the location can't be beat and you can walk in every direction - the Seawall, Canada Place, Pacific Centre, Robson Street. There are lots of stores and restaurants around. The hotel is clean and staff is very helpful and professional but it's the view that make this hotel. Beware, most of the rooms - balconies are too narrow to sit on and the furniture is not arranged to enjoy 'sitting and looking out' at the view and all the activity of a bustling harbour and seaport. And we are amazed in this day and age that the only free WiFi is in the lobby - but there are plenty of quiet spaces to hole up while you do e-mail or whatever.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dascoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear dascoop,
We were delighted to have you as our guest and thank you for sharing your comments online.
We are indeed very fortunate to be surrounded by such inspired views. I hope that you will return as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I have stayed at the Westin Bayshore several times over the last few years and really enjoy it every time. The staff is always great, it has a perfect location and terrific outdoor and indoor pool. There are a few little things that need addressing at this hotel though. While the breakfast buffet is great, it is odd that the space is not made more multi-purpose - it is just a big dark space off the lobby in the afternoon and evening. It would make a great lounge area but instead is just left dark and empty. The Seawest restaurant is also a pretty dull place - the food is good- it just has no atmosphere or character compared to most Vancouver hotel restaurants. Finally, while the hotel entrance and lobby is very impressive, the hallways in the main building once you get off the elevator are beige and drab. The views from the rooms and overall experience more than make up for these shortcomings though and there are several excellent restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Doug602

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty. It’s always my pleasure to share your kind words with our associates too. We also appreciate the suggestions that you have provided. We always strive to stay refreshed and renewed to help us continue exceeding our guests’ expectations. Your feedback is very meaningful to us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Absolutely perfect location, right on the seawall, next to Stanley park, and a short walk to the shops and restaurants on Robson Street.

The staff at the hotel was very accommodating in finding us a room for an extra night even though the hotel was "sold out" for the extra night we needed to stay.

It may not have been the nicest Westin we have ever stayed at, but it was perfect for what it was. A nice and clean hotel, with a comfy bed, and a perfect location for sightseeing.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AdamInTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear AdamlnTX

It was a delight to have you spend your Vancouver holiday with us. We are indeed inspired but our ideal location. It’s always a treat to see that a guest was so refreshed during their time with us that they wanted to stay longer and I’m delighted we could make that happen! Come back and visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel and was nicely surprised by the helpful staff and fantastic location. We stayed there for a few days in the off season and had a nice experience. If you don't mind having large groups and conferences around, it is a good value for your dollar. My room in the tower had a view of the bay with the Olympic mountains in the background. The size was ideal as there was ample space for lounging and luggage. The balcony was tiny but a nice touch nonetheless. I would definitely recommend as a good value hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the tower rooms facing the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brookeburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

DearBrookeburke,

Thank you for sharing your feedback online. I’m glad that you were renewed by our lovely surroundings. We would be delighted to have you return some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

This reviews is a little late as it's from July. I stayed here as a sort of stop over before we went to the Banff and Jasper national parks. It was a lovely stay. The rooms were comfortable and the hotel had good facilities. The views of coal harbor were good and there was lots of attractions to visit in vancouver.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julius v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear TheCritic2000
We are very pleased to have been a part of your refreshing West Coast tour. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our property. I hope you’re travels might bring you back to us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in September at the beginning of a three week holiday.

Upon arrival from the airport we had to wait for our room to be ready but we had arrived before the usual checkin time. We went for a walk and grabbed a coffee while we waited. There were a lot of people in reception when we came back to collect our room key - clearly a busy hotel, especially on a Friday afternoon. We were assisted by one of the porters so we did not have to queue again.

We have Starwood gold status and we were upgraded to a great room with a lovely harbour view.

The hotel was perfectly located for walks along the waterfront and with close access to Stanley Park. Easy to hire bikes just around the corner. We walked from the hotel easily to the ferry to Granville island - Vancouver is very walkable - at least in late summer/early autumn!

We did not dine at the hotel but there were many great restaurants nearby.

We caught a cab easily outside the hotel to the bus station - to catch our bus for the ferry to Victoria.

We had a fabulous long weekend in Vancouver and would love to return for a longer stay.

Definitely recommend the Westin Bayshore.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Lisa H

Thank you both so much for your continued loyalty to Starwood hotels. I’m delighted that you were able to visit our property for your long weekend and feel very pleased that you’ve already considered your next visit. Thank you for sharing your valued feedback with other Trip Advisor Readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,454 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
3,158 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $159 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splitty, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing