We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite overnight stop before cruising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
North, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
564 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Favorite overnight stop before cruising”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We always stay here before an Alaska cruise on Princess. This is a beautiful, comfortable property with very good staff, great views and comfortable furnishings. Quiet sleeping rooms and nice restaurants on site add to the value of this property. Pricey but a great way to start a cruise.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Cands2,
Thank you for choosing us to help get your cruise vacations started! You’re loyalty is very meaningful and we will look forward to welcoming you with our Heavenly beds and inspired staff before your next Alaskan cruise adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    995
    228
    88
    52
See reviews for
603
846
121
950
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Westin Bayshore twice, the latest was in June of 2013. The hotel has everything you could want, from a spa, indoor and outdoor pools, restaurant and bar, the best location in Vancouver, beautiful rooms, and last but not least, fantastic views. The hotel is very close to Stanley Park and the walkway around the harbor. You can walk to Stanley Park, the convention center, downtown, and to a million great restaurants. It is very close to bike rental shops where you can rent a bike and spend the day riding around and hanging out in Stanley Park. Lovely.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher floor to get the best views. The harbor views are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruzNround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear CruzNround,
We are so delighted that you have returned to us after your first experience. Thank you for sharing your consistent feedback with trip advisor readers. We truly look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

First, let me mention that we usually stay in Westin in Asia and since Westin wants to build a name for itself here, their standard are much higher than in Canada or US in terms of room, so that probably increase our disappointment.

( i'm going to westin Kuala Lumpur in 2 days, so will see if I'm wrong on this).

This hotel has a superb situation in the middle of Vancouver and right by the harbor, magnificent view, right next to everything the op-on bus stops at the hotel, you can walk from there to Canada place and there is a super cool restaurant right in front on the left of the hotel, that we enjoyed every night. That about where it ends.


Rooms are large, but old style, with shower/bath holiday inn type bathroom, 32 inch tv, nothing more. The service is polite, but you wait to check-in, you can wait forever to see or talk to the concierge. The room cleaning forgot to do our room and we we asked to have it done at 4h00 pm we were asked if we really wanted it to be done ! duuuuh yes at 300$ a night we would like to have our room damn clean.

You get two bottle of water in a room, your 3 or 4 people in the room and you paid for it you won't get an extra bottle of water with it, you'll pay for it. Internet is not included and charged at horrendous price, guys in 2013 wake up internet is free in a coffee shop with a 4$ coffee it should be included with a 300$ a night room! Can't believe it, it is always the most expensive hotel that charge you for internet!

The pool is great, nice little bar/restaurant next to it, serves you a margarita at 13$ or 16$, worst drink I ever had, I was shown that it shouldn't be that bad since the mix they use is from a cheap carton bottle both at grocery store. The whole is serve in the cheapest tinny plastic glass. Now you're going to tell me it's to go on the side of a pool and I'll say sure but now a day you go great beautiful plastic ware that looks like the real thing. You,re in a "5 stars" hotel" you pay a 5 stars price, make it on site, fresh, in a nice glass, this is simple business. Hey we solved the problem and went to that small bar right next to the hotel service is great and drinks are good.

No restaurant in the Hotel except for breakfast that I have seen.

So summary : Location great, room just ok, service very good but can be long to get access. Everything from bar to restaurant to internet around your stay below standards.

Hope it helps you make your choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Pierre- Marc L,
I’m truly disappointed that you found your experience to be disappointing. I appreciate the details that you have shared here and want to ensure you that we will review them. We truly value opportunities to grow and evolve. I do hope that you will continue to remain loyal to Westin hotels and that should you travels bring you back to Vancouver I hope you’ll choose the Westin Bayshore again so that you may have an instinctive and exceptional experience like so many other trip advisor reviewers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCordsville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel has one of the best views of the Vancouver harbor. We had upgraded to the harbor view which is an absolute must. Every night and morning provided the weather was clear, we had a "postcard view" of the city. Hands down, this location should be taken over the other downtown Westin. The room and service was typical for a Westin (excellent). Most of the major tourist attractions are in easy walking distance. A bonus is that it is away from the congestion of downtown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Henry K,
Thank you for your delightful review of your experience with us at the Westin Bayshore. We truly appreciate your continued loyalty and hope you’ll return to us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

I booked at jr suite at 409 a night that was to include a balcony and view. I recieved the worst room in the building with a view of air conditioning units and a sliver of a harbor view. The balcony was dirty with cigarette butts and ashes on the chairs. This is my first time in Vancouver and really hoped to see its beauty from my room. I asked for something better and offered to pay more but of course nothing else was available. Thanks SPG for making me feel like such a preferred guest. First order of business is to cancel my amex card with them and do all my stays with another brand.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonbaby728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Moonbaby728,
I would very much like to rectify your experience and would love for you to connect with me personally at heather.guay@westin.com. We truly value your loyalty and would love an opportunity to restore your loyalty in Starwood before you might choose an alternate company. I look forward to hearing from you directly Moonbaby728.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We disembarked from our Cruise at VC and Princess Cruises Co. set us up with a couple nights at Westin Bayshore. The location is excellent, but the check in staff member was rather "cool" and not so welcoming. Maybe she was having a bad day- who knows? Our room wasn't ready that early (understandable- we arrived at 1030am) so around 1pm we got the room. It was supposed to be a "Water view" but we were facing rooftops, and technically, if you torqued your head to the left, you could see the water. I had to laugh at that one. The room is very nice, good size, new furniture, and excellent Bath. Very nice fixtures and up to date decor. The service/room staff were very kind, and helpful, as were the bell staff. The Concierge gal helped me out tremendously on getting our boarding passes too. And- set us up with a reservation for Cardero's Restaurant next door. I noticed it is a very popular Hotel. Has a Starbucks inside (YAY!) & other nice little shops and amenities. We did try their on-site restaurant "Seawall Bar & Grill". It's ok, rather mediocre in my humble opinion. My fellow travelers didn't like it much, but I thought it was ok. All in all- Very nice stay and thank you for all your help in getting around and making our little VC adventure comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KoloheSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear KoloheSanJose,
Thank you for sharing your detailed review. I appreciate your positive comments and also will certainly benefit from the opportunities that you have highlighted here. We are always delighted to welcome so many cruise guests and hope that your travels will bring you back our way again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

When arriving at this hotel earlier than 4.00pm you are told that your booked room is not ready, however if you pay for an upgraded room costing $20 per night a room is available immediately.
I believe that this is a way of getting the additional $20 and not because other rooms are not available for occupancy. An international hotel should be able to offer guests rooms when available regardless of their stated check in time. During our stay it was obvious that the hotel was not full and many rooms were empty. we arrived tired after a long flight and tried to check in at 2.00pm but we're told the the only available room was an upgrade costing $20 more than we had booked.

Room Tip: Negotiate to get a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear James L,
Thank you for sharing your response with Trip Advisor readers. I truly apologize that we were not able to provide you with an early check in for the room type that you had booked. I do want to clarify and assure you that rooms are absolutely never withheld from our guests for any reason. We endeavor to allow for early check in as often as possible and will often provide options for our guests to ensure that their experience is optimal. We are very fortunate that the majority of our hotel rooms provide beautiful water views. These rooms do typically have a price slightly above rooms without any view. As you’ve likely noticed from other trip advisor reviews our water view rooms render very positive response from our guests so whenever possible we like to provide the option to upgrade to these preferred rooms. I’m sorry that your interpretation was that an upgrade option was for a purpose other than to provide the most ideal experience for you. Had a room consistent to what you'd booked been available we would always ensure that you were checked in regardless of your arrival time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,287 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Property: The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing