We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience in Vancouver”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #23 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Experience in Vancouver”
Reviewed July 9, 2008

After growing up in the Pacific Northwest and driving by the very prominent Westin Bayshore Inn on my many trips to Vancouver, but never having had the opportunity to stay there while I lived in the northwest, but after having moved away many years ago, I finally got the chancel this past week.

What I found was a hotel whose outer shell still has vestiges of its 1960's beginnings but whose interior appointment were completely re-fashioned into very elegant and modern experience. Warm, and inviting use of beach, maple or birchwood finishes with warm and rich marbles and granite floors, this hotel is superb in many aspects.

The view from my 2nd floor room was a pleasant vista of the nearby marina and a japanese style pond. The mountains North of the City were also clearly visible and the overall atmosphere was exquisite. The marketing claim for the bed is "heavenly" and I'd have to agree with that assessment.

The main thing I found that could be improved was the shower experience. You had to reach through the overhead rain shower to adjust the temperature. So you're guaranteed to get a cold rain starting your shower.

I feel I got a 4 star hotel for close to a 3 star price during my stay so I feel that "relatively" good values are available at this resort. The restaurant service for breakfast was good but very pricey but I soon discovered that all restaurants in downtown Vancouver are very pricey so might as well enjoy it there.

  • Liked — Convenient to downtown and North Vancouver
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chibeachcomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,468
    979
    221
    86
    51
See reviews for
578
827
118
921
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

Lovely Hotel. Just the place to relax and be comfortable. Beautiful rooms, spacious and well designed. Service from all staff a joy to find. Placed right on the the harbour although some views of the sea obscured slightly by ships and private boats moored outside. The useful trolly bus stops right outside to orientate yourself when you first arrive although alternatively the hotel runs a complimentary coach service into town. Stanley park a short walk away and good jogging/cycling flows around the harbour walk. Several Seaplanes to Vancouver island are also located nearby. Food is of a high standard. A wonderful way to unwind pre or post Canadian/Alaskan adventure

  • Liked — The well designed rooms, comfort and staff friendliness
  • Disliked — View of sea slightly obscured for some rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchbosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2008

Recently got back from a stay at the Westin Bayshore in Vancouver, BC. Was quite impressed with the property; a beautiful hotel, on the water, in a good location. My room was a little on the small side but the service i received more than made up for that. The staff were friendly and accomodating, and to my delight there was a Starbucks right in the hotel. (HUGE bonus for me.)
I am a big fan of the Westin properties, the Heavenly Bed is amazing.

  • Liked — the Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank smithdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2008

I stayed at the Westin Bayshore while in Vancouver for a conference. The lobby was well maintained, with a new fruit juice for guests throughout the day. The staff was helpful and friendly. Guest services, including restaurants, gift shops, and a Starbucks were convenient, but expensive. My room had a gorgeous view of the bay and runners and bicyclists heading to Stanley Park. Heating/cooling was controlled by a convenient thermostat with both C/F scales. The room was decorated in an average fashion. I enjoyed the comfy beds with down comforter and the large flat screen television. I was definitely not a fan of the remodeled bathrooms that included a glass wall that only enclosed half the shower. It made for a chilly shower and concerns of making a wet mess on the shower floor. I was also annoyed with the ways they try to nickel and dime you. There were no vending machines. Bottles of water were $6 in the room and $2.50 in the gift shop. They charged for the business center, which is free in many hotels. 30 cents a minute for internet, plus an extra charge for printing. It was an additional $20 a day for internet in your room.
Overall, I would stay there again. The beauty and comfort of the hotel outweighed the annoyances.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Disliked — Cost and the shower
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thea_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

I stayed at the Westin Bayshore for 5 days while attending a conference. Our room was beautiful and had a great view of the bay. The "heavenly bed" really was exceptionally comfortable. Food in the hotel was as expected -- over- priced and boring but there were many many cafes and restaurants within walking distance so there is no need to feel trapped by hotel restaurants.

Our only problem occured on the last night when they turned our floor over to a film crew that was setting up a set in one of the large suites. The equipment, wires, lights and props took up almost all of the elevator lobby and hallway and created dangerous conditions for guests going to and from their rooms. The next morning we had trouble getting by all of the actors and production crew and they were very rude to us, acting as if we shouldn't be in THEIR way. I complained to the manager who was sympathetic and gave us a little discount off our last night's room rate. They should never have assigned guests to that floor knowing that they were going to have a film crew there.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LSCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

I was at the bayshore for 3 nights and it was a lovely experience. the location was nice, check in was pleasant, and the recently remodeled room was clean and comfortable. i found the beds and pillows comfortable and the room pleasantly quiet. the only complaint (given the new remodel) was the fumes from new carpet/ furniture were a little strong. overall a good experience.

  • Liked — The Westin Heavenly Bed
  • Disliked — expense of local phone calls
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hola_y_saludos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

We had a room on the 18th floor and the view of the harbor was awsome. I thought the hotel room was comfortable and the property clean with good upkeep.
However, they do nickle and dime you with everything else. They charge off the wall prices for dining, parking and wireless internet. It's a bit too much for the quality of stay in my opinion

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank cabes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,237 reviews
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Property: The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing