We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #22 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Good views and right on the water. Nice staff. Clean and tastefully decorated. Close to everything downtown so you can walk within 15-30 minutes. Only negative was the condom wrapper found under our bed.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear David V,

Thank you for sharing your overall feedback. I truly apologize for the wrapper that was missed beneath your bed and would love for you to contact me at heather.guay@westin.com.
I appreciate your review and hope we will be able to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,087)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,966 - 1,972 of 3,087 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice stay at the Westin Bayshore this weekend. Really enjoyed the heated pool and the location but I was disappointed to have to repeated call the front desk for towels and shampoo. like most things in Vancouver, it was an expensive stay but the city is fabulous

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dennisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear dennisan,

Thank you for your feedback to help us grow and ensure we always provide inspired experiences for our guests. I apologize that we missed some opportunities to be more responsive during your experience and hope that you’re travels will bring you back up our way in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Westin Bayshore from 7/28 - 8/2/2013 and would recommend this hotel to anyone! My husband was attending a conference there, so we didn't have much choice in hotels which can sometimes be a problem, but the Westin Bayshore was fantastic.

We arrived a few minutes earlier than check-in but the staff was able to let us into our room anyway. We booked a standard room (room 605) and were lucky enough to end up with a great view of the outdoor pool and the bay area behind it. Our "window" was actually a huge sliding glass door that opened up entirely and had a railing to keep you from falling out as there was no screen or anything.

We loved the openness of the room and the huge window - even though we almost had a sea gull fly right in. Our bathroom was quite small, however the rain shower head that was mounted on the ceiling was a hit with both of us. Because there was just a glass wall next to the shower head area and the back half was open, it made us wish for a separate vanity area for getting ready as the shower fogged up the mirror area when in use.

The entire staff was very nice and I was especially impressed with the cleaning staff in the rooms. One day I came up to drop some stuff off and didn't need my key to get in as the door was open. Even though I was just leaving something on the dresser, she asked to see my room key and made sure that it opened the door before letting me in. While some may consider this a nuisance, I appreciated the cautiousness and they way that they ensured that only authorized people entered the room. I did a ton of walking in Vancouver and the same cleaning staff was more than happy to bring me larger bags that I could use to ice down my knee at night, which was greatly appreciated.

Vancouver is a very "green" city, and the Westin certainly did their part by giving guests a $5 restaurant credit for each day that they did not have the staff change their linens. While we would have done our part anyway, the credit was greatly appreciated and we were able to enjoy a nice discount on a meal as well as get a free dessert our last night there. We had assumed that by not having our linens changed that the staff would still come in and straighten up the room and refill the cups & soaps, however they did not and we did have to request some items by the end of our stay.

The Westin is located a couple blocks from several coffee shops, restaurants, bus stops and the "city" area in one direction, and the other direction will take you along the waterfront which is a great walking area. The yachts in the harbor are fun to look at and the area is great for an evening stroll. Walking to the Waterfront Station (to get to the Sea Bus/Ferry) or the Gas Light District will take you about 25 minutes at a leisurely pace and you will pass sea planes, yachts, and cruise ships along your way. I was fortunate enough to take buses, the Sea Bus, and the sky train (one ticket is good for all three methods for 90 minutes) and must say that the public transportation system is very clean and a great cheap way to get around town. The staff at the Westin was very knowledgeable and helped to make sure that we got on the right buses and made the appropriate transfers. Even if we got mixed up, the bus drivers were very helpful in making sure that we got off at the correct stops if they knew where we were going.

All in all, I would recommend this hotel for anyone. The pools were very clean, and they were both heated. The only "gripe" was that each day there was a group in the outdoor pool that yelled "Marco / Polo" for hours, but that was not really anything the hotel could control and we were able to significantly cut down the noise by closing our window, although the room seemed to get stuffy quite quickly with them closed.

Room Tip: Rooms 605 & 410 both had views overlooking the bay & the outdoor pool. Definitely noisier w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Melody B,

Wow thank you for taking the time to share your experience so thoroughly with Trip Advisor readers. We always endeavor to provide an instinctive and personal experience for our guests both attending conferences and here for personal getaways. I’m delighted that you and your husband were able to do both. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

we stayed in the hotel prior of boarding a cruise to alaska.The hotel lobby is very specious
Our room facing the harbour with a king size bed was very clean, large and had the necessary facilities.The staff was very polite and helpful, breakfast was great. So we enjoyed every minute staying in the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank girus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear girus

It’s our pleasure to provide a heavenly bed for you to enjoy prior to your Alaskian cruise. Thank you for choosing us to start your vacation. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your time so thoroughly and hope we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located on marina and next to stanley park. Very clean, nice staff and good support from concierge. We liked the hotel. If traveling in the area, we suggest a rent car. Have fun!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grocery1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear grocery1,

Thank you for your kind review. I hope we will delight in having you as our guest again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you want to truly experience Vancouver this is a fabulous hotel to do.. Right on the water / bay with views of the mountains and north Vancouver. The service is exceptional and they have all the amenities you could possibly want. Great little gym and right on the Vancouver sea wall for great walks, runs or jogs. I have stayed here at least 6 times in the last 12 months and highly recommend it.. Close to absolutely everything from shopping to eating and views to die for. One of my favourite hotels if not favourite when in Vancouver.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Johnhcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Johnhcraig,

We truly value your loyalty and thank you for sharing your great feedback with Trip Advisor readers. Since you’ve mentioned your appreciation for Westin Workout and the running routes that surround us you might love to take part in our new Run Westin program which offers hosted runs on select mornings during the week. We would love to see you there!
We look forward to your next visit Johnhcraig.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

It was my first time in Vancouver and it was like a dream. Be just near the Stanley park, bicycle path, marina, restaurant and the sun!!! The landscape, the mountain, the city everything is planned with the same vision. Contemporary treatments, sidewalk, street, and TREES.
I hope I will be back soon

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view and up to 6 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieGravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear JulieGravel,

It was a delight to have you as our guest and I’m so pleased that you were refreshed by the natural surroundings here at the Westin Bayshore. We can’t wait for your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,120 reviews
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $165 - $512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing