We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large hotel with no personality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The location is beautiful but the style of the hotel is dull. The room needed to be updated but the bed was comfortable, typical of Westins. Check-in was quick and easy. This seems to be a hotel for conferences more than for an intimate experience.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the water.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EWZP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear EWZP
Thank you for sharing your feedback with trip advisor readers. We do delight in providing memorable experiences for both our conference guests and our leisure travelers who often revel in the inspired surroundings that neighbor us. We hope you will consider us again for future Vancouver visits. So that we can better show you are attention and care for personalized guest experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,998)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,896 - 1,902 of 2,999 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

Although the hotel dates from the fifties-sixties and the whole style goes back to those years,the location is so nice,near Stanley Park and the marina,and the service is upscale ,for a Westin,that you will have a pleasant stay.
Only weak point,the insonorisation of the rooms is not existent ,so you will hear the neighbors ,if they are noisy...
Front desk is efficient,although, almost always ,busy.
Breakfast was good in quality and diversified.
Almost all rooms have some view,but the high floor front rooms on the tower are much better.
Looking to the other seaside hotels ,in Vancouver,seems that this one has the best location.
It is more a resort in a city

Room Tip: Tower front view rooms high floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLSPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear EWZP
Thank you for sharing your feedback with trip advisor readers. We do delight in providing memorable experiences for both our conference guests and our leisure travelers who often revel in the inspired surroundings that neighbor us. We hope you will consider us again for future Vancouver visits. So that we can better show you are attention and care for personalized guest experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our stay at the Westin Bayshore could not have been better. When we arrived we were told that there had been a room mix-up and the type of room we had requested was not available, but the staff handled the situation very professionally. The manager was very apologetic and gave us vouchers for a free buffet breakfast. We had the most stunning view of the harbor and Stanley Park, which were each only steps away (Tip - to get the best Vancouver experience, you want to stay closer to the harbor rather than Downtown). The hotel was clean, the lobby was sleek and beautiful, the gym was well equipped, and the indoor pool was great for the children. I highly recommend the Westin for families; it seems that it was the most family friendly hotel in the area.

P.S. - We also stayed at the Loden Hotel, but we much preferred the Westin. We liked that it was bigger, more family friendly, and had a better location. The Loden is more suited for young couples or singles.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Erin C
It was such a delight to welcome you and your family to our hotel. Thank you for sharing your experience with others online. We would truly love for you to visit us again when your travel brings you back our way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Located on the waterfront, near Stanly Park what more is there? Excellent value, beautiful setting, great rooms. Service is very courteous and customer oriented. We have stayed there many times over the past 15 years and it does keep up despite many other options available.

Excellent coffee shop 2 minutes away as are a number of other amenities including bike rentals, excellent restaurants

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the harbour The tower rooms are more upscale and are a bit more expensiv...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear ray249
We truly appreciate your loyalty over the years and delight in the fact that you continue to make the Westin Bayshore your hotel of choice. We truly look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for sharing your continued experiences with trip advisor readers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Westin Bayshore and had an amazing experience. The view from my room was beautiful. The room itself and the entire property was very luxurious. Each staff member I spoke to used my name, rather than sir. Very impressive. I will definitely be back and recommend this hotel to anyone I know travelling to Vancouver.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear modefan,
Thank you so much for sharing your lovely comments online. I truly delight in sharing feedback such as yours with our associates. We hope you will have an opportunity to return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here one night after our Alaska cruise. Room was large. Bathroom huge and lovely. Beds were terrible. Mattresses need to be replaced. So convenient to Stanley Park and Canada Place. It is located right on the seawall. It is a shame that a lousy night's sleep tarnished our impression of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ticoalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear ticoalra,
I’m very surprised to read that you did not enjoy your experience in our Westin Heavenly Bed. I apologize that that detracted from your experience. Its our pleasure to welcome so many guests such as yourself who are travelling to an from Alaskan cruises and hope that you’ll consider Westin hotels again for your next adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

On the advice of friends in Vancouver, I checked in to the Westin Bayshore, and I'm so glad I did! First off, the location can't be beat. You're literally on the seawall, a five minute walk from Stanley Park and ten minutes from the excellent shopping and dining on Robson. The workout facilities, pool, and room were of superlative quality, and room service was fast and delicious. The beds were heaven-sent, and I'm seriously considering buying a mattress for my own house! And the service was top-notch - I really felt like everyone, from the registration desk, to the concierge, to the cleaning staff, made it their mission for me to enjoy my stay. One night, I headed to the gym quite late and interrupted the janitor. I offered to come back later, but as he told me, "don't be silly, you're my guest! Use whatever you like, and I'll come back once you're done."

So why only four stars? In this day and age, there is absolutely no excuse for charging guests $15 a day for WiFi access! Yes, there is free WiFi in the lounge area, but that's hardly conducive to getting any work done, not to mention that many of the devices we've come to rely on require constant internet access to actually be effective. This anachronistic policy contrasts with the rest of my experience at the Bayshore, and I sincerely hope that management reconsiders it.

Room Tip: A view of the bay is well worth-it!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raheem S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Dear Raheem S
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. Your description of your experience with us something I will truly value sharing with our associates and team members. We recognize that WIFI is an important factor for our guests and assure you that your feedback will indeed be reviewed. In addition to increasing the free internet in the lobby, lounge and restaurant areas we have also added some additional pricing options for in room usage.
Raheem S we truly look forward to welcoming you back to us when your travels have you returning to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,070 reviews
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,587 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $195 - $613 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing