We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Bayshore for runners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at the Bayshore to run the Vancouver Marathon, and there were mostly highs and a few lows for this purpose, but all in all, a great stay. The hotel is clean and bright and this location for vacationers and sightseers is excellent. A bus to the Capilano Suspension Bridge stops outside every 15 minutes or so...

The seawall is a great place to run or walk, and it is right out your back door.You can take the path to beautiful Stanley Park and visit the aquarium, or just people watch.

The views from the small balconies are breathtaking, and can consume a lot of time, as the activity never stops around this area. From sea planes to cruise ships to rowing crews, there is always something to see.

The hotel itself is quiet, and the 'Heavenly' beds of the Westin chain are just that. And so, the night before the marathon, I had a great sleep. The hotel had an empty fridge for me too, and this is an amazing bonus, as any destination runner can attest.

The hotel did not provide any shuttle to the race, and weren't really aware that the run was happening. The SkyTrain terminal is about 2 kilometers from the hotel, and the last thing you want to do is walk or run another 2 k on top of the distance you are about to cover. I did manage to grab a taxi with some other runners, so was able to get to the start line in plenty of time.

The staff were friendly, the hotel was clean and attractive, the price was about what I expected to pay, and the location is great for all things except the marathon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ggirtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear ggirltel,
Thank you for your review and for choosing The Westin Bayshore for your “heavenly” rest before your marathon. Congratulations on your run! We truly delight in being close to many fantastic outdoor events and love to cheer on our active guests. Thank you for your feedback and recommendations. We look forward to being your hotel of choice for future Vancouver events!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,012)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,972 - 1,978 of 3,012 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel has amazing views of the mountains and harbor. Additionally Westin has the dream bed that just is perfect for a restful nights sleep. The rooms are very large, clean and well kept. The staff at the hotel goes above and beyond to be sure you are pleased with your stay.
I was not able to visit their spa, but they do offer a discount when you check-in for a treatment.

Room Tip: High rooms facing the harbor
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiTownTraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear ChiTownTraveler2013,
Thank you for your review. Im delighted that you were inspired by our breath taking surroundings, passionate staff and by our signature heavenly beds. We are certainly looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel offers views of the marina located right off the seawall walk path. Great location to walk to Stanley Park or to the Convention Center. The hotel lobby is nice and spacious, although it can feel like there are a lot of wasted space. The people there are friendly and willing to help at all times. Lobby has a airline check-in kiosk that offers boarding pass print out. Exchange rate at the hotel is horrific, beware! Parking is $14 over night but to park all day is $41! Don't rent a car, just use public transportation.

The hotel has 2 room towers. A lower tower close to the lobby which has views of the marina. The marine tower is higher so you will probably have a unobstructed view. Going up to the levels, the hallway seems dingy. The doors felt like it had multiple paint coats over and over again. The room itself is inviting and comfortable. The in room safe is a big plus but their internet is a disappointing service. The internet is plug in, not wireless. If you brought your tablet you won't be able to connect. Internet is also $15 per day but free wifi in the lobby.

Overall, hotel is comfortable, great location but with that comes high prices. A bowl of clam chowder $13! You get what I mean.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Agedalanga,
Thank you for your reviews of your experience with us at the Westin Bayshore. We certainly do delight in inspiring views around us. Our overnight valet services are $41 however there is also a slightly less costly self parking option for guests who might prefer that. Thank you also for your recommendations about public transit. Our associates are happy to provide insights about transit options for guests also.
We do offer wireless internet access so I apologize if that was not clear to you. Although there is a charge in guest rooms we do provide free internet in our lobby and restaurants for our guests as you mentioned. Thank you again for your feedback. I hope you will continue to choose the Westin Bayshore for your Vancouver experiences as we will certainly look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Was here for a conference last Fall. This is a good hotel, typical of the Westin chain. I opted for a room in the "regular" wing, rather than a pricier tower room, and it was fine. The only strange thing is that the "closet" (really just a closet rod, no doors) is in the bathroom.

If you want to be near the water and the seawall, this location is perfect. It is, however, a bit of a walk from downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CdnMtnGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear CdnMtnGal,
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your fall visit with trip advisor readers. I hope that you will have an opportunity to choose the Westin Bayshore for a Vancouver escape again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My family stayed at the Westin after taking a cruise to Vancouver on the Golden Princess. We arrived pretty early at the hotel before 9:00 and was totally ready to just check in our luggage with the bell hop and go exploring. However, the extremely pleasant gal at the front desk said that one of our two rooms was ready and she could give one room right away and the second room would be ready later in the afternoon. I was blown away, I wasn't expecting that! It was so nice being able to take our luggage to the room my parents would stay in and relax a little. My sister and her husband who is in wheelchair, arrived soon after us and were able to check into their wheelchair accessible room before 11:00 a.m! How awesome is that?!

The rooms were clean and modern with some of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. We had great views of the harbor and Stanley Park. Our second room was ready by 1:30 p.m. The hotel staff was exceptional, everyone was super friendly and helpful.

The breakfast buffet was really good but, it is not cheap at $28. However, I had to say it was much better than the breakfast buffet on the cruise so I'm not complaining. There are several very affordable breakfast options nearby as long many other options for lunch and dinner nearby on Denman and Robson Street.

We enjoyed many walks along the beautiful seawall area and Stanley Park is only about 15 minutes away on foot.

If we ever come back to part of Vancouver, we are definitely returning to the Westin Bayshore! They just do it right!

Room Tip: Just down along the seawall they are several cafes to get coffee and breakfast within a five minute...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterlc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear peterlc63,
Thank you for your delightful review. I'm thrilled that you and your family were able to experience the passion that our associates have for our guests and that we were able to make your escape a bit easier by having rooms ready for you earlier than expected. We will truly look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit Vancouver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Waterfront hotel with direct access to the walk and bike path around the bay, easy walk to
Stanley Park and towards the city to the float plane airport.
within walking distance to most restaurants "downtown" 10 min.
Rooms and facility were clean and comfortable, Internet speed in the rooms was ok.
Kinda weird set-up to hang your garments and clothes in the bathroom, no closet in the room, just drawers.
Bed for my taste too soft.
Breakfast area too small to accomodate all participants during a conference, rather long wait.
Check-in staff very friendly, check-out experience rather unfriendly.
Shipping and Handling staff extremely customer friendly (italian origin gentleman)

Room Tip: Make sure you get a harbor view room, great way to wake up (as of 07.00 you'll hear the floatpl...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claude C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Claude C,
Thank you for your review. I appreciate your feedback and will certainly share with our team. I apologize that not all of your interactions were as inspired as we would expect however thank you for your kind words about our shipping staff..I know precisely who you are referring to and will delight in sharing this with him.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed here one night between cruises..

The front desk staff was so very friendly and eager to share information on what Vancouver has to offer.

The location was perfect! Nice views of the water and marina.

The beds are some of the best I've ever slept in. Especially after being on a cruise ship.

One of the pluses for me was there were plenty of places to plug in all your electronics and the desk was arranged to look out the window to take advantage of the incredible views.

If there was any negative it was the shower. It has one of those straight down facing rain heads and no way to keep the water from splashing out into the bathroom area. Not really a big deal but just seems like something that could have been a little better thought out..

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather G, Front Office Manager at The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Ken F,
Thank you so much for your delightful review. We are thrilled to welcome many guests such as yourself who are about to enjoy a cruise. We are really inspired by the adventures that our guests share with us.
I’m so glad that you shared the luxury of our signature “heavenly bed” with trip advisor readers. Our beds truly are ideal for a refreshing escape! I hope your travels will bring you back to us again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,073 reviews
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,592 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $190 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing