We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, no special features”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Westin, as should have been expected, is just another inter-continental hotel - impersonal, efficient, and regular. For the price, I would have expected breakfast included, and hotel parking is expensive, should you drive in to town.
The hotel is situated suitably for visits to downtown attractions, and so convenient from this point of view.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Cathie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,009)
There are newer reviews for The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,061 - 2,067 of 3,009 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was our 3rd time staying at the Bayshore, and it will remain our first choice for overnight visits to Vancouver. Check-in was quick and easy, rooms were clean, modern, and spacious, and the location is perfectly situated between Stanley Park and downtown shopping.
The room had a useful fridge and room to put a roll away cot between the two twin beds. No charge for the cot, which is nice. The beds are the best! And, as always, the staff are always terrific.
Parking is not cheap and paying for the internet isn't cool. When will these big hotels get on board with providing free internet? Everyone, kids included, has some device that they need wi-fi on, and these hotels will attract far more guests when they include access for "free".
There is a Starbucks in the lobby, which is great if you can't live without your morning coffee. They do jack up the prices on everything but it's still way cheaper than sitting in the hotel restaurant, or getting room service.
The Doormen won't let you use one of their wheeled carts to move your own bags, for some reason.
Besides those few small issues, we will absolutely stay here again.

Tip - Parking is about $36 per night. Once you drop your bags and kids at the hotel, drive your car about 3 blocks east. You will find a few streets that still have free parking, if there are available spots. These streets are no more than a 10 minute walk back to the hotel. Just put the Urban Fare grocery store in you GPS as these free parking streets are located right around this grocery store. The Urban Fare is a great spot to pick up snacks for your stay at the Bayshore, after you park your car.

Room Tip: Tip - Parking is about $36 per night. Once you drop your bags and kids at the hotel, drive your car...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adognamedrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I stayed at this property for 1 night while on business in Vancouver last week. I had been a couple times before, but that was 5-6 years ago. The good parts were still there....the location and view of the harbour, access to room upgrade (I'm SPG Gold), and modern and clean rooms. The biggest downside was the noise through the walls from both beside and above, and the cost of breakfast (smoothie and veggie omelette for $40 all in after all the BS B.C. taxes!). The actual cost of the room was very reasonable but the in-room dining was atrocious.

I would likely stay again, but likely only on a corporate account.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GMROCKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Westin Bayshore again- it was for the Provincial Aboriginal Conference and so a deal had been made on parking and the cost of the internet for delegates.
This was fantastic as this has been my only complaint at this hotel - incredible staff - it has the best location ever in Vancouver with stunning views - and it is dog friendly. Internet useage up to this point has been the worst marketing stunt ever- beware because in my experience up to now, they would gouge you on the internet costs and even charge you per device! I was in for a fantastic surprise on this visit. This time the internet was included in the conference rate - CONGRATULATIONS to whoever agreed to that - everyone at the conference was thrilled.
The staff at this hotel are fabulous - you see the same faces year after year so that tells you management is doing something right. As for being Pet friendly - there are no extra charges and they are made so welcome! This is a must stay hotel for anyone visiting Vancouver!

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anafricanincanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at the Westin Bayshore the weekend of December 7- 9. We were attending a dance convention at the hotel...hundreds of teenagers and their parents attended. I feel sorry for any guests that were in the hotel that weekend that weren't with the convention.

This was not my first time at the Westin Bayshore...we enjoyed our stay last year and this year it did not disappoint.

My friend and I checked into our respective rooms at the same time on the Friday evening and asked, if at all possible, whether we could have adjoining rooms. The front desk staff were very courteous and made a few switches to accomodate our request. We were really appreciative of this and it made our weekend that much more enjoyable. Within 15 minutes of getting into the room an attendant came by to open the adjoining door as well.

The beds at this hotel are heavenly....I want one in my house!!

The hotel accomodated the convention well. I was impressed with the fact that the staff were in the lobby when the convention ended on Saturday evening to direct people to alternate ways to get up to their rooms as there was a very long line for the elevators.

The Starbucks in the lobby had some issues throughout the weekend. From what I heard from other convention attendees they were very short staffed and the lines were very long all weekend.

Parking at the hotel is very expensive...take this into consideration if you're planning on driving and parking your car. $36 per day for self-parking and $42 per day for valet. We had no choice but to drive and park so they had us.

Overall, our stay was very good and I would stay again if the need arises and the price was right.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed here on Remembrance Day as a bit of a treat to ourselves and we booked through Hotwire. We were really pleased that when we phoned ahead to make sure we got a king sized room, unlike other 4 star hotels in the area, they were happy to accommodate us. Since we booked through hotwire, our view wasn't the fancy view that everyone posts pictures of. We could see the pool, but it was still a decent view because we were high enough to see some of coal harbour.

The location is a little out of the way if you want to be downtown. It's about a 20 minute walk away from Waterfront station. It was pouring rain when I stayed here and the hotel supplied me with a nice big complimentary umbrella which was great as I was prepared to cough up $20 to buy one.

The room itself was lovely and the bathroom was amazing. The bed was nice and big and comfy. The only problem is, like some reviewers have already mentioned, is that the rooms have very little sound proofing. At least in the old tower. Normally I don't think this would have been a problem with most hotel guests, but we were unlucky in our neighbours. At 2:30am they were still talking at what must have seemed to them at a normal volume but to us trying to sleep it was very loud. The sound proofing was so bad that we could even hear them rifling through their shopping bags. We called them and asked them to be quiet, which they were for a few minutes and then quickly got loud again. Around 3:00am we called down to the front desk to ask them to do something about it because we couldn't get any sleep. It was also then that we started to smell the cigar smoke which was coming into our room through the adjoining door. This was not awesome as 1) these are non-smoking rooms and 2) I am allergic to smoke and get bad nosebleeds because of it.

The security guard came up and told them to be quiet and to put out the cigars, which they were surprised about but quickly were quiet and the smoke went away. We appreciated the quick response the hotel gave us and also the handwritten note from the on duty manager who apologized and comped us our valet parking. However, it was something we could have dealt without as it was our first weekend together since my husband had been away with work. I would have happily given this hotel the 5/5 rating if soundproofing had not been an issue.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the water have great views. New tower may help you avoid some of the soundproofing i...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just back from a one overnight stay at the Westin Bayshore in Vancouver. We were very impressed with everything - the pre-arrival contact to ascertain what room configuration we wanted, to the room, to the staff, Everything was just perfect. We had requested a king bed adjoining a 2 queen combination away from the Elevator and we were not disappointed at all. The King Bedded room was simply stunning and being located on a corner, had the full advantage of two walls of windows with a view out onto the harbour. The room was spacious, the bathrooms were clean, modern in their decor and the two headed shower gave me my best shower experience of the year :) We loved the fact that there was a fridge in each room - if only hotel out there did that. It was a very nice surprise and allowed us to keep lunch items brought for a dance convention cool and more palatable. All the staff we interacted with were pleasant and helpful. It definitely checked all the boxes for me. In terms of it's location in Vancouver, it is not right in the heart of downtown, just a little outside.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are definitely more spacious and afford excellent views....
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blebsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,074 reviews
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,592 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $190 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing