We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stanley Park at the Doorstep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver
Ranked #21 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stayed at the Westin Bayshore for two nights in a double room in the main hotel. The best feature of this hotel is its location to Stanley Park as it located on the Coal Harbour seawall which links to the Park. The second best feature is the view as most rooms will lookout to Coal Harbour. The double bed room we stayed in had been updated to the Westin standards. The lounge chair in the room was due for a an cleaning but that was the only minor thing of note. The room had a fridge, a safe and a flat screen TV.

From this location you can access Robson Street about 3 blocks up from the water. Though we didn’t use, the fitness centre had updated equipment and the indoor pool looked to be in good condition. There is also an outdoor pool but being November was more a feature to look at.

The staff were very helpful and professional. The self parking is a bit of a walk as not in main hotel or connected to elevators, fees were 27.00 a night.

All in all, a nice place to stay and enjoy the Stanley Park while you are at it.

Room Tip: Request a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skibug_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,141 - 2,147 of 3,067 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Spent a couple nights here and found the service to be excellent. The room was very clean and comfortable. Great location and very reasonably priced, particularly for Vancouver. If you're in Vancouver for business or pleasure and want a comfortable reasonably priced room for your stay you would be well advised to book this hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanePeterson499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Arrived early for a 4 nite stay. Room was not ready but that was expected. The front desk woman was very friendly asking if they could store our luggage and they would phone when the room was ready. After a little more than two hours and no call we called the hotel. Yes the room was ready and they were expecting us to return ?? The frt desk also asked on check in if we were light sleepers and would prefer away from the elevator. We said yes however the room was steps away from the elevators which are quite noisy. On check out we were told there are rooms closer to the elevator, I guess we were lucky not to be in one of those!! We still like the hotel however a better sense if cleanliness and free wifi in the room would be expected given the hotels rates. Still a good place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dcdma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

If you want a good sleep, this hotel certainly provides the right mattress and pillows. However, two times we were interrupted with the cleaning staff entering the room while we were still there. Once in the evening and once early in the morning. A quick knock and then before having a chance to answer they walked in. Not impressive

Room Tip: we asked for an upgrade for a view, it didn't cost that much more. And what a view, beautiful l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonnecolebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

After many year's absence from this old favorite hotel of mine, I recently returned while on a 3 day business trip. It was a pleasure to be met by an old familiar face....Richard Chew, the friendly bellman.....a great ambassador for the hotel. He made me feel like I had returned home after a long trip and even went above and beyond by sending a snack plate up to my room, along with a personal note of welcome. Not your standard greeting and made me feel truly welcome. A great individual and a credit to the brand.
One other note.....the Westin people need to bring back Trader Vic's or an equivalent.

Room Tip: Tower rooms on the water side have a spectacular view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a great hotel with amazing service. We were initially booked to stay for 2 nights arriving late in the evening on the first night, however our flight into Vancouver was delayed over 8 hours and hence we didn't make it until the next morning. I called Starwood reservations once and advised them of our delay to which they made notes in the system, and then called the hotel reservations directly the second time after our flight was further delayed to advise them of our delay and avoid paying for the first night and was advised it would all be ok. My only gripe is that this was not the case on checkout and we were charged in full for 2 nights.
In terms of the hotel itself though I would choose the Westin to stay again without any hesitation! The rooms are well set out, large, and very comfortable. They can be a little noisy at times as we could hear our neighbours above occasionally, however it wasn’t an uncomfortable level. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was large and functionally designed. The Starbucks coffee in room was also a welcome addition! We were very surprised to find a gift in our room a few hours after arrival too! We arrived back after exploring the city to find a cheese platter, along with a bottle champagne and a card saying that they hope our trip gets better after our flight delays. This was not requested, nor had we made any complaints to receive this, so it shows the staff care and are always looking to make their guests feel welcome and comfortable.
All in all I would love to stay at the Westin Bay shore again on my next trip to Vancouver and highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Choose a tower room facing the bay and Stanley park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Booked for four nights stayed for one. Would have given one star however the check out lady was empathetic and did not charge me the shorten my stay $50 penalty. Also the fitness room and pool, although small was clean and well maintained.

Often things like a poor check in and shoddy Hskp can be overlooked if staff interaction is positive. I should clarify though that the daily hskp was fine it was the lack of a deep clean. Could write our names in the dust behind the couch cushions. At the base of one of the corner coffee tables, our boys collected five items(penny, cue tip, bobby pin, small hair ball and broken luggage clip). Housekeepers have to clean a room in 30minutes regardless so anything more thourough than this is probably a management directive.

So for me, what set my teeth on edge was the following. Our accountant told me to have my parking listed seperately. I had a booked a package so the check in person wasn't willing to help. It made no difference to me how they charged me or whether they had to charge me more or change me to a higher rate as my company was paying for it. Next up was Mohammed the supervisor who phoned me up to say he was told what I wanted and couldn't do it. Can accounting do it I asked and he said no. I don't know how their system works but it seems unrealistic to me that once I am placed on a package it can't be changed to anything else. Next I wasted my time writing a note to the front office manager asking if someone could help. Her response was to leave me a voice mail suggesting that as she understood it, I was being underhanded asking the hotel to break out a parking charge that didn't really exist as I was on a package. Please is no one trained enough to give me some options rather than no, no, no. How about "in order to do this sir, this is would be your new rate and I will list your parking seperatly".

The result was giving up my suite at the Bayshore for $300 a night and booking in at the Fairmont for $549. It was worth it to avoid the hassle.

Room Tip: One bedroom suites on the third floor #300 offered a very restricted view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ELLCranbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,107 reviews
Downtown
Vancouver Marriott Pinnacle Downtown Hotel
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver

Address: 1601 Bayshore Dr, Vancouver, British Columbia V6G 2V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#26 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#28 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $147 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver 4*
Number of rooms: 499
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the shores of Coal Harbour, overlooking historic 1,000-acre Stanley Park via its picturesque seawall and the North Shore Mountains, the hotel offers you the best of both worlds: an invigorating urban lifestyle and a relaxing resort-like experience. The hotel's 499 spacious guest rooms and suites feature stunning views over the water and the city. Our location on the water is unparalleled and will provide you with a one-of-a-kind West Coast experience, with downtown's thriving epicenter just blocks away and a variety of nearby shops, restaurants and cafes. The resort-inspired property features Vida Wellness full service spa, indoor and outdoor pools, and a pleasing variety of restaurants and lounges. Signature offerings include the Westin Heavenly Bed and Bath, WestinWORKOUT and RunWESTIN. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Bayshore, Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Westin Bayshore Vancouver
Westin Vancouver
Vancouver Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing