We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We spent a couple days in Vancouver on our way back to the States from an Alaskan land and sea cruise. Sutton Place gave us a smooth transition to the more populated areas. It was in a great location, across from a stop for the trolley. The two day pass was a bargain, and it took us everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel two room suite was elegantly furnished--two televisions, beautiful, stately furniture. The hotel was very quiet and staff helpful. Many restaurants in easy walking distance from inexpensive to four star. Rather expensive hotel, but all hotels in Vancouver are pretty pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler-pm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,695 - 2,701 of 3,177 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2010

Getting around such a big city was a real challenge, we've never been lost so many times.
Do your homework. Know exactly what you want to see and decide how you want to travel. Get a comprehensive bus and sky train schedule. Better yet hire a driver for the day. The locals know the best restaurants, shopping, etc.
Plan to visit each area and see as much as possible on that visit. If you don't you probably won't get back for another chance. We missed Grouse Mountain for this reason. After a week I would have loved to do it all over again knowing what I did at the end of my vacation. Perhaps another time and we would certainly stay at the Sutter Place Hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlynnef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

Loved the bedding. Got a great sleep. The staff was very helpful. Location is great for just walking around. Very close to the cruise dock and MUCH better priced than the hotels nearer to the cruise dock. Great value for my purposes.

Internet is not free and quite high priced. The hotel is right near a hospital and we heard ambulance sirens going by. We only heard them while we were awake and not while we were sleeping.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim-N-Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

We like to consider ourselves as young, hip early 30-somethings so felt a bit scruffy for such a traditional 'Ritz/Claridges' style, elegant hotel amongst its well heeled guests and their little dogs. But as a treat at the end of our mountain biking trip we spent 3 nights here at Sutton Place and were not dissapointed. Once the staff got used to our scruffy ways they couldn't help enough and were extremely attentive. The room; spacious as well as the bathroom-large shower plus separate bath. All details here: robes, mini bar, toiletries, hair dryer, shower cap etc. The most comfortable, plush bed I have ever had the pleasure of sleeping in. If I could track down the pillow and mattress manufacturers I could sleep well forever. There was a spa (gym & pool not treatments) too-free for guests and we took advantange of the gym and hot tub. Even being at basement level it's low level lighting and oriental interiors gave it a luxurious touch. You cannot shuffle to the spa in your room robes but large stripy beach towels are provided at the pool/gym. The parking was pretty pricy but you pay for the smack, bang central location. We skipped on the pricy breakfasts preferring the crepeire round the corner on Robson. We found a funky, amazing Japanese tapas style place called Guu on Thurlow St pretty much backing our hotel and would highly recommend for dinner but be prepared to queue to join the beautiful & hip crowd-its worth it though and very reasonably priced. Another slick bar directly opposite the hotel served great cocktails too. 3 days at the Sutton Place left me feeling pampered and special. Great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LousArchive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We try to visit Vancouver once every summer, and we were looking forward to spending a few days there again. Upon our arrival in early September, we were told the price for parking was $40 a night! We were so shocked. So we tried to look for another parking spot in the area of the hotel, and unfortunately could not find one. So immediately, we lost $80 just to park our car in their lot for two nights. Check-in was a breeze, and the man who was working behind the desk was extremely polite and attentive. My spouse and I took a gamble considering we booked through Hotwire.com, and we hoped we would have at least a queen sized bed for the two of us. Sadly, we received a room with two TWIN sized beds, now you can imagine how awkward that was. We did not bother to complain or change rooms because we just wanted to enjoy our stay with no hassles. The room is Victorian styled, not modernized whatsoever, except for the flat screen TV. The fan is very loud, but works fine. I think this would be a problem for some people if they have sleeping problems, although I slept like a baby. The view from our room was decent, just a view of the streets. They do have snacks and a mini bar in the room, but it is extremely over-priced! Internet is a whole other story..they charge $15 per day! So another $30 down the drain for us. It appeared as though many of the employees were just standing around looking for something to do. We did not see the pool or the restaurant, as I'm sure those would of had overly priced items as well. We wanted to experience what the rest of Vancouver had to offer. Overall, it was a decent stay and I would only stay again if the prices (for everything) were lower!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank life_is_a_journey_mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Visited Vancouver for the first time in late September after an Alaskan Cruise out of Seattle. Drove to Vancouver to start our Canadian Rockies extension of the holiday.
Found Vancouver to be a much more attractive city than Seattle and better attuned to tourism.
Our travel agent recommended Sutton Place and we were all pleased with her choice. Good quality luxury hotel in an ideal location in the City. On arrival we were put onto a complimentary breakfast package which saved us quite a bit. Suggest you avoid the orange juice at breakfast which tasted waxy. We were told this was because the hotel juices the whole orange - end result, not enjoyable.
Our only moan would be the high parking charges at the hotel. With all the taxes this came to approx $40 CAD per night! A rip off when you have already paid to stay in the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff2727_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

We spent three nights at the Sutton Place for an academic conference and could not be more pleased. The room was spectacular with a view of the harbor and every amenity that we could want. The service was faultless. The only drawback was the incredibly high Canadian taxes. That added at least one-third more to our bill than a comparable hotel in Washington state. In fact, we flew into Seattle and rented a car to drive up to Vancouver since flying into Vancouver was twice the air fare, almost all of it due to taxes.

Canada is at risk of killing its tourist income with its taxes.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Business_TravelerFFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,337 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,664 reviews
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,788 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Address: 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $176 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing