We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2009

I stayed at the Sutton Place for 3 nights when attending a conference at the nearby Sheraton Walll Center.
This is a really god otion to stay the Hotel is a 5 star but you paid a reasonable price and it deserves all the money you spend: confortable and cosy rooms, high standards of quality in service. Excelent location in downtown Vancouver with all nice spots around. Try the Crocodile a french restaurant just beside the Hotel and the Market Place to buy fruit and yogur for breakfast or for a light meal.
Excelent option!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clara50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,790 - 2,796 of 3,178 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2009

We stayed in the Sutton Place residence for 4 days and really enjoyed it, although I would not give it 5 stars but 4 1/2. The people at the reception were very nice, even if we reserved on Hotwire (and got a great deal).

The location is perfect, at the corner of Robson with stores and restaurants open late.
We had a one bedroom apartment and the size was just perfect for 3 people. We had a kitchen with a fridge, a microwave, a range, a toaster, a coffee machine, and a dishwashing machine. Plus dishes, glasses, pots and pan, coffee, dishwashing liquid... The only thing missing is the food and there's a grocery store (IGA) on the other side of the street! We only used the kitchen for breakfast but you could cook entire meals if you wished to.

There is a table with 4 chairs in one corner of the living room plus a sofa bed and a big chair and a HUGE flat screen TV and a DVD player, plus a desk. The bedroom also has a (small) flatscreen TV and a DVD player. We had a complimentary newspaper every morning and the housekeepers were very nice, even starting the dishwasher when most of the dished were soiled.

I only have a few negative comments: The (King) bed was not very confortable, the temperature at the pool and in the corridors was very cold and access to Internet is expensive . Speaking of Internet, make sure that your antivirus is up to date as there was almost 900 intruder attempts when we were connected to the hotel network...

I would go back to the Sutton Place without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealMichelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

This hotels location is fantastic for seeing shows or shopping in Vancouver. The service was excellent and friendly. Hotel room was very clean and offered a great view of the city. However the mattress was about the most uncomfortable I have ever slept on. I expect a high quality bed and bedding when staying in a 5 star hotel, (even the Raddison has sleep number beds) As with other reviews I agree that this was a bit of a stretch on the 5 star rating. If the bed was better I would not hesitate to rate it a high 4. Parking is very expensive but parking anywhere in downtown Vancouver is. Would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigdog1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed at Sutton Place for one day following an Alaskan cruise. We had never been in Vancouver before and were excited to spend a day in the city. Sutton Place came highly recommended and did not disappoint.

We took a taxi over very early in the morning and were greeted warmly. They took our luggage, provided us with maps and recommendations for the day, and told us that our room would be ready early afternoon. We bought a day pass on one of the hop-on-hop-off busses and took off.

After spending a few hours at Granville Island and then lunch in Stanley Park we went back to our lovely, comfortable room for a late afternoon nap before dinner. After a refreshing nap, we simply walked out from our hotel and found a fun, trendy restaurant for dinner - Cactus Club Cafe - within walking distance.

The room was not overly large but lovely and very comfortable. What really set the place apart was the exquisite level of service. Every single employee we dealt with went above and beyond our expectations in not only meeting our needs, but doing so in a friendly, helpful, professional way. Taxi's were readily available when we, sadly, had to leave for a 6 a.m. flight the next morning.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kz2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

My wife and I recently stayed here for a 20th Anniversary trip, and definitely enjoyed the hotel. However, the property claims to be a 5-star location. While certainly a nice, solid place to stay, it's FAR from 5-star properties I've stayed at over the years.

On the good side:
-The La Grande Residence Tower where we stayed were very spacious suites (these are a $40-$70 per night upgrade from their regular hotel rooms, which constitute the other tower,) Rooms had big-screen televisions, dvd players with SURROUND SOUND speakers, and full kitchens, which featured unusual twists like blenders and tea makers (when have you ever seen THOSE in a hotel?)
-Perfect location near Robson Street shopping district and about 1-mile away from the world's greatest city park, Stanley Park! Worth an entire day by itself!
-Fantastic weight room, with boatloads of free weights. Also, separate men's and ladies steam rooms, with good, secure lockers and an okay indoor swimming pool/ hot tub combo.
-Comfy beds, decent amenities, in-room safes, spacious balconies, a quiet lobby, free newspapers, Seattle's Best Coffee and bathrobes (why only 1 per room instead of 2?)
-Freindly staff and concierge, who gladly answered some questions and concerns we had during our stay.

While these are all nice features, the hotel falls short of a 5-star for the following reasons:
-REALLY showing age in some places. Pipes under sinks in bathrooms have painted over rust. Dimly-lit hallways, cheap utensils in kitchens, and areas of wallpaper starting to peel and noticeable paint chips.
-1 of the days we were there, there was NO HOT WATER from 10-4. Most 5-star hotels are in the practice of providing hot water to clients!
-$15 per day for internet usage and $30 per day for parking. Not to mention $1.50 for a local phone call or to dial toll-free. Additionally, prices in the restaurant were a bit above the silly range, especially for breakfast. If hotels realized how petty they make themselves look on some of these charges, they'd have to step back and shake their heads in embarassment. Why not just charge $5 per room more, and include internet and local calls? Am I the first one to ever think of this?
-ELEVATOR PROBLEMS!! The hotel has 3 primary elevators in the tower we stayed in. For an extended period of time, only ONE was working!! Lines got so long, that people would wait on the first floor, then not even be able to all fit on the next one available. My wife and I were on floor SEVENTEEN, and wound up walking up to our room!!!

With all this being said, this is a competent hotel that's fine to stay at for business or a fun, romantic weekend in Vancouver, just have no fantasies about it being a 5-star experience!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank damonandtina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

Our family stayed one night at this Hotel. We chose this hotel based on the location. The room looks like it needs to be updated. We will probably try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ILUV2TRAVEL007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2009

The lobby was fancy, but the hallways and the rooms had a Vegas feel to it. The hotel is a little dated but still had all the amenities you can imagine. Doesn't quite measure up to a 5 star but definitely in the 4's. Be aware that daily parking is CDN $30 per day. Ouch. There is a market across the street to the right of the hotel so very convenient. And a Japadog stand on the corner.

The staff was beyond friendly and helpful, from the valet, to the doorman and conceirge. Also the hotel tends to attract the more older adult guests, so you won't see a lot of young backpacker types. The older guests tend to dress better either in suits or dinner jackets or evening gowns so being in jeans and a t-shirt, we felt quite under dressed most of the time.

We got a great rate through hotwire and was placed on the 11th floor and we never felt like we were looked down upon for being a hotwire customer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinsela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,339 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,665 reviews
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,790 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Address: 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $176 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing