We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2008

I stayed here as part of an educational trip to Canada.
Nice hotel, fabulous location and wonderful staff.
If you can't afford the Fairmont up the road,stay here.
Good luxury option.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wildflowerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,857 - 2,863 of 3,143 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2008

There are about four hotels in Vancouver I try to stay at when I go up on business. It usually comes down to who gives me the best rate for my days there.

The Sutton Place is a marvelous place for business or pleasure travel. The location just off Robson St is great for shopping and it is close to some of the better restaurants too.

The rooms are very well appointed and the staff knows how to accommodate serious travelers. The concierge has pulled off some tough request for me.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank scottca075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

We picked the Sutton Place for a two night stay in Vancouver based on the reviews we found on tripadvisor and the location in the city. The photos seemed great so we booked two nights at a great rate.

We found ourselves heading to Vancouver a night earlier than expected and called the hotel while on the road to see if they had any vacancy for that evening. They did, but at $100 more than what we paid. We noted to the front desk that we saw a 24hr. deal on their website for $70 cheaper and they told us we needed to book the room online—they would not reserve the room for us by phone at that rate. When we explained that we were on the road and this was difficult, and we were already booked for two evenings with them, they didn't seem to care. Their site reservation system turned out to not work on our mobile phones and we ended up staying at the Fairmont two blocks away instead. It didn't seem very courteous to not extend the web fare for already booked and expected guests, especially as this was mid-week (I could maybe understand if it was a busy weekend).

Once we arrived at Sutton Place, the valet and front door folks were very polite and helpful. However, on the few occasions during our brief stay in which we asked the front desk or concierge a questions, we found we got very short and circuitous answers.

i.e. when we asked if we could check in early since we were in town earlier in the morning than expected, they said "Check in is at 3." When we asked if we could simply store our bags at their hotel while we were out in the afternoon, then they said "yes." I don't understand why they wouldn't offer this option from the first question.

That said, the room was clean and pleasant enough and the hotel location is central to fun city spots. The bed was sort of uncomfortable and the pricey internet connection was on and off. The valet guy was super helpful and the housekeeping staff friendly.

However, I would not recommend the Sutton Place considering all the other hotel options in Vancouver.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2008

'Just wanted to let you all know ... those who helped us choose a hotel ... that we really liked Sutton Place. Excellent staff - we really relied onthe concierge quite a bit. There were usually 2 of them available. No hanging on hold forever. The registration desk called us on my cell when our room was ready. Easy access to cabs. Great location, although our room had no view - but other hotels. The room was large and comfy. Large bathroom with excellent bath products.

The price had gone down since our original booking, and we called ... no sweat! They gave us the lower price - always courteous.

What would I change? The bed spread/comforter was a pretty gold fabric, but very slippery. Liked to creep off the bed in the middle of the night. Brr! Also - no hand-held nozzle in the shower. We're really hooked on them.

We highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BLBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2008

We selected the Sutton Place Hotel for our 4-day stay after researching various hotels through their own websites and after reading reviews on the tripadvisor website.

This hotel is centrally located in Vancouver's downtown core, on Burrard Street, just one block from Robson Street's shopping area. It is also within a 25-minute taxi ride to Grouse Mountain for a spectacular view of Vancouver and the harbour area. We were also able to visit the Capilano Suspension Bridge which is a bit closer along the same route. In addition, we visited the Aquarium at Stanley Park, just 10 minutes from the hotel and well worth every penny just to watch the otters playing. Another interesting place to visit is Granville Island filled with small shops, art galleries and restaurants, all within a short walk from the hotel, followed by an even shorter aquabus ride (a must do again).

Check-in went smoothly after a very late arrival. (We called ahead to make sure they knew about the delay.)

The two-room suite was well appointed with a very comfortable sofa that was also a fold-out bed, soft chairs, two flat screen TVs, a king bed, desk area, a large bathroom and two closets. There were also two in-room safes. Two newspapers were delivered to our door every morning.

The entire hotel was kept spotlessly clean by the housekeeping staff.

The consierge service was excellent and offered many suggestions and advice as to how one would best get around Vancouver and see as much as possible within the limited amount of time we would be spending there.

The dining room offered excellent meals with beautiful presentations. The wait staff was extremely flexible in providing substitutes, saying, "As long as the item is in the kitchen, the chef will cook it." In fact, we were also able to order from the Gerard Lounge menu. The lounge is located beside the main dining room and offers a warm spot by the fire to sip a glass of wine while relaxing after a full day of sight-seeing. You might even see a few "celebs" around this hotel since there are so many movies being shot in the Vancouver area, but please allow them their private time to unwind (as we did).

We can't wait to stay at this wonderful hotel again in Vancouver!

Stayed: October 2008
2  Thank Amluckytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed at this hotel twice whilst on our trip in September. We stayed 2 nights before our cruise to Alaska and two nights at the end of our Rocky Mountaineer Tour.

Both times the hotel was excellent. The rooms are delightful and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom is a good size and the hotel and rooms are spotless.

We had a good breakfast each day and one night we had dinner in the dining room. The food was excellent.

If and when we return to Vancouver, we would stay at this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Aussiegal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Booked a grand suite, but due to a flood before we arrived ended up in a luxury one-bedroom suite in the Residence. Unlike other reviewers had no complaints about the bed but the air-con unit on the balcony was noisy and we were near the elevator and had distant rumbling from this into the early hours. A minor irritation. But the suite was great, large and clean, and room-service breakfast (inclusive in our rate) was a treat every day. There are indeed some stairs to descend to get to the pool from the changing rooms but the pool itself was quiet and in a good state of maintenance.

The Sunday Jazz Brunch was very tasty - but the saxophone I had anticipated did not materialize: electric guitar and piano-based group instead.

Would definitely come again but would ask to be away from the elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Vaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,241 reviews
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,623 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,414 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Address: 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $147 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing