We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed at the Sutton Place Hotel with my mom and my daughter for the first time. My mom and my daughter totally enjoyed their stay here in this hotel. We felt so comfortable and the staff are very polite and provided excellent customer services. Also a perfect location for dining and shopping. Definitely will be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,505
    894
    292
    97
    49
See reviews for
514
1,215
169
564
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Alberni, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Everything at this hotel is just okay. The rooms are comfortable and the staff are very polite. I wouldn't make a big deal of eating in the restaurant. Although there is a new chef coming so things could change. The parking is $40 for valet and I'm not sure if it is cheaper if you self park. I
was most disappointed by the spa. I went for a pedicure and the room that they do the pedicures in is overheated and extremely uncomfortable. I did mention this to the girls working there and they apologized but that was it. I then complained at the front desk when I was checking out and compensated by a reduction in my parking. The quality of the pedicure was fine but I wouldn't go back to the spa as the facility is not really comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Sutton Place Hotel. We are sorry to learn of your experience at Vida Spa, please rest assured that we have related your feedback to Vida Spa. We are so exciting about our new restaurant and hope you will have a chance to experience it in a few months. Regarding the parking charges, both valet and self park have the same fee. Please contact our reservation department or visit our website for our value-added packages that including parking and wifi for your future stays. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you back to The Sutton Place Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed at the Sutton Place Hotel the weekend of March 1st for the first time. At first, I was unimpressed because the valet service was so terrible (no offer to help me with my bags and not prompt). However, the room was nicely appointed and I thought the bed was very comfortable. The location is great (one block south of Robson Street) and it's close to everything. The room was quiet and I didn't hear any street noise (our room faced Burrard Street, which is very busy - however the hotel is set off the street quite far). They were a little stingy with the number of towels in the room, but I can forgive a lot if the bed is comfy. If you prefer a very firm mattress, this is NOT the place for you. This bed was soft, but supportive.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank RmServicePls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We would like to apologize the shortcoming you experience with Valet, your feedback is important to us. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your business and look forward to the opportunity to host your future stays.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Clean, well appointed room if just a little dated. The hotel is in a good position, close to Robson street for shopping & restaurants. Enjoyed the spa located in the hotel.
Just one of those hotels which like to overcharge for the extras. $40 night for self parking, $15 a day for internet access. $6.50 for a bottle of water etc. etc. Just spoils it a bit when you feel your being gouged...We stay in Vancouver once a month and probably won't stay here again...

Room Tip: Lots of people coming and going...Higher floors are better. Lifts are super quick..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxinHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Liked the room, it was clean and bed for comfortable. Hotel was very quite so no problems sleeping. Had to do a bit of searching to find the in room coffee maker. It was hidden away in a cabinet.

It would be nicer if there was a fan in the bathroom, over head lighting was better and they did not charge for the internet and had included breakfast.

Do not go to the restaurant. We made the mistake of going to the restaurant for breakfast, it is very overpriced and the food was not good. The service in the restaurant is very good. For two people it cost us $57 for breakfast. We only had eggs with home fries, french toast, two glass of orange juice and two coffees. We only went there because it was early, my husband was very very hungry and we did not want to look around for somewhere else to eat. My husband did not even finish his eggs or the home fries because they were over cooked.

Room Tip: We were on the 17th floor facing the movie theater was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Sutton Place Hotel. We are pleased to learn that you found the bed was comfortable and the hotel was quiet. We are pleased to advise that we offer various value-added packages – such as Bed & Breakfast including breakfast for two and packages that includes wifi, and parking etc. Please visit our website or contact our reservations department so we can help you to select the best package for your future stays. We are pleased to advise we will have a new restaurant opening in a few months and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed at Sutton Place in Feb 2014 as a "Mystery Hotel" on a high-end traveler website.

The Sutton's styling is quite dated, with the interior last redecorated in a 90s "grand hotel" kind of look (polished brass and marble fixtures in the bath, gold and white wallpaper, faux antique furniture, pictures of flowers on the walls). Elevators were noisy and could hear them running by our room throughout the night. Window view was of mid-level apartment building.

The location is probably decent for businesses, but we were there on leisure.

For all the "meh" of the accommodations, the staff was great, with the concierge team particularly helpful and spot-on with their recommendations. They really shined.

Room Tip: Avoid anything near the elevator...very noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alpinecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Sutton Place Hotel . We value your feedback and have noted your room preference. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed in lots of the downtown Vancouver hotels. I like all of them for various reasons. My first stay at the Sutton Place has me convinced this is the go to place in town - great location, amazing service, large rooms, and most comfortable beds yet.

Room Tip: Even the standard room is extra large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasonakeenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,421 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#31 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,321 reviews
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Address: 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing