We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms & good staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #30 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Nice central hotel that was delightful to stay at. Staff very friendly and helpful and everything was within walking distance. Great Irish bar opposite for beer and good atmosphere. My room was excellent and very clean and quality bed and pillows. Stayed 2 weeks!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KC2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,665 - 1,671 of 3,177 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

I was on an overnight trip to Vancouver for a course and stayed in the Sutton because of its proximity to where I was on course. Absolutely beautiful room (fantastic bathroom) with great amenities. They have a lovely wine store on-site with a great selection of BC wines. The staff were very gracious and courteous. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank celticdragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The room and facilities at The Sutton exceeded our expectations. Everything was perfect for us from the room to the pool and gym area. Everything was clean and well cared for. We had a suite on an upper floor with a nice view of the city and Robson.
We knew about the additional charges for internet and parking, so we were not surprised by these fees. We were not able to use more than one computer at a time in our suite, even after talking to a tech person at the hotel, so we cancelled the internet service. Most hotels don't charge for wifi. I hope in the future it will be included with the room rate.
We plan to stay at The Sutton again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a couple times over the years. I'll admit off the bat that historical hotels are not my thing. I like the simple clean lines and space of modern chains like a Marriott or Hilton. The individual rooms at Sutton are on the small side and the furnishings are a little "the shining" for me. The suites are big and good for families. Location is amazing although the view of Burrard is mostly not, but it's fun to watch the cars drive in the rain. Staff is exceptional, truly five star worthy. There's a cute bar that's not too expensive and the gym is standard and usable. I got a great rate on the room... and if you do too then it's worth booking. But if you're looking for a spacious room then this might not be the best choice.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband booked the Sutton Place Hotel in Vancouuver using Hotwire got the room for $103 per night plus their "fee" and taxes so the total came to $130. I went on the the hotel site directly and found that they were offering a deal where the rooms were $149 per night but they were giving away a $75 Amex gift card which brought the room down to $75 per night. I contacted Hotwire and asked them if they would credit me the difference based on the fact that they adverstise a "deal", the customer service rep was short and said that they can not offer anything and that the hotel is running the special to encourage people to book directly. My advice to anyone travelling is to do just that. Hotwire is a bit of a scam, they dupe you into thinking you are getting a deal and i bet most people believe it and never check. I will NEVER use Hotwire again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank neveragain1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed in a Sutton Place "modern apartment" Residence unit with our one child. The room was well equipped with kitchen amenities, spacious, and comfortable. We made extensive use of the swimming pool, and took advantage of the coin laundry facilities that are available - always a benefit when traveling with kids or when you want to pack light for a longer trip. Service was, as usual, extremely courteous and helpful. We highly recommend the Sutton for families traveling to Vancouver.
Tip for light sleepers - request a room towards the back of the building. We were right on Burrard Street, and the normal city noise combined with the hospital just a couple of blocks away might bother some people.

Room Tip: Room 955 is the same category as 956 ('modern apartment'), but was slightly bigger. Both fe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AffordableComfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My kids (two teens) and I spent a night at the Sutton and had a wonderful time. Great location, easy to find and close to all the shopping we could want. Our room was very clean and comfortable with a great view of Robson and Burrard. Lots of fun restaurants nearby and helpful hotel staff available for information and suggestions. We had a great time!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mereann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,336 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,664 reviews
Robson Street
The Westin Grand, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,787 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Address: 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $176 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing