We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at Sutton Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Wonderful Stay at Sutton Place”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We remained in Vancouver for 3 days after our Alaska cruise. The Sutton Place was a great value with 5 star service. The rooms had everything you could ever think of needing from robes to an umbrella should you need it. The baths had scales, lighted make-up mirrors and all the amenities. And the beds and pillows were super comfortable.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and gave us many great ideas and tips on places to go and the best value of how to see them. Would definitely return and will be recommending to our friends.
The Hop-on, Hop-off bus stops directly across the street from the hotel in front an Italian restaurant, where we dined one night, delilcious!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    920
    306
    102
    49
See reviews for
527
1,261
177
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We checked in the day before our cruise and enjoyed a gorgeous two-room suite that was exceptionally clean and well-maintained. The bed was soft and comfy - not the rock most places have. Our breakfast in their restaurant was a buffet with both breakfast and lunch items, plus beverages were included. The food was delicious and service fantastic. They even prepared a little cake since it was my husband's birthday. That extra attention meant a lot to us. Easy walking distance to shopping in the heart of downtown. Perfect place to stay in Vancouver!

Room Tip: Even right next to the elevator, we heard absolutely no noise. Very well sound-proofed rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gfgramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson City, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location is ideal, located in the heart of downtown Vancouver with easy access to skytrains etc. Makes it very easy to get any where you wish to go, even North Van. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with a balcony which was surprisingly quiet considering the proximity to the hospital and a fire station.

Room Tip: Higher floors have more of a view and a balcony. Also south side rooms or suites would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenore R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location is very convenient. I don't know what the traditonal hotel is like, but the extended stay tower is lovely. We reserved a "Modern" suite. We reserved a 1 bedroom apartment with modern decor. It also had high end appliances. We felt very comfrotable - we had more than adequate space to move around. It had a small balcony which we would have used if the air conditioning unit was not out there as well. That made it noisy and not particularly appealing. The gym is on the small side but is adequate if you want to get a basic workout in. That tower also has a spa and laundry facilities should you need them. There is also a supermarket 1 block away and a wine store attached to the hotel.

We would definitely look to stay there again should we return to Vancouver.

Room Tip: Resrve a "modern room" in the extended stay residence
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda_in_Miami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Lovely hotel, extremely nice staff except for the parking attendant who was rude. Great location, wish we would've bought our suits and used their pool. Room service was served on quaint trays with a small plants or fresh flowers to reflect the meal. Felt safe and the hotel personnel were very accommodating.

Room Tip: Both rooms both stays we're equally nice with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and myself have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions.
The rooms are nice and the beds are comfortable. The gym is well equipped. The hotel's location is ideal, right next to Robson shopping, Pacific Centre Mall, lots of great restaurants and within walking distance to Canada Place and Stanley Park.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBugKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Sutton Place hotel is perfectly situated in downtown Vancouver. A one minute stroll takes you to the infamous Robson street, the shopping centre of Vancouver. A fifteen minute walk gets you to Granville Island, and a 5 minute walk takes you to the ocean side. And there are enough restaurants within close walking distance to meet any taste. You can’t get better than that!
The hotel itself has an old world charm. It reminded me of the hotels in the UK – dark wooden furniture, smaller rooms and old -fashioned floral paintings. Whilst its not a modern hotel, it has everything you may need for a comfortable stay. Some of the furniture is a little worn, but the beds are comfortable (slightly on the soft side) and the room is adequately equipped with a fully stocked bar fridge and snacks, coffee machine, flatscreen TV etc.
The room’s sound proofing between rooms is incredible – we never heard another soul in the hotel and it was fully booked. However, you do hear the outside city noise like ambulance sirens or cars, but that is part of the charm of staying in the city.
The restaurant is a little bit hit and miss. We had a delicious cobb salad one day for lunch and decided, based on our lunch experience, to book for dinner the next evening. Unfortunately dinner with a huge disappointment. The seafood linguine didn’t have much seafood in it (one lonely prawn, a few mussels and clams) and it wasn’t very tasty. The service, however, was always fantastic and the entire hotel staff can be commended on the quality of their work.
The gym is great – good quality equipment and a relatively large weight section.
The parking fees are a little on the steep side and you are charged for a full day even if you stay for less than 12 hours in 24. Wifi is also not free, which is something I will never understand.
On check out we were handed two cookies for our trip home, which was a very nice touch. I ate both! ☺
The hotel is advertised as a 5 star but based on my experience of other 5 star hotels in the city I would have to say that I would consider it a 4 star. It’s a great hotel though and you would have a comfortable stay – its perfectly located for a taste of all Vancouver has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SagMoonTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 90 in Vancouver
2,962 reviews
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,165 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,716 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Address: 845 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing