We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eighth Floor Luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 90 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Eighth Floor Luxury”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here as a part of a two week trip from Calgary to Victoria which was arrange by our travel company. A very nice hotel with great views from our 8th floor room. Excellent Bell Hop service and concierge. Unfortunately we found the breakfast too expensive for our liking so we ate at the Market Place (supermarket) just out of the door and across the junction to the right of the building. The hotel is a ten minute walk from the waterfront and Gastown where there is a steam powered clock. Everything else about the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    920
    306
    102
    49
See reviews for
527
1,261
177
576
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed here for a conference from June 16-June 18 and it was an excellent experience.
The food was exceptional throughout the conference and the hotel staff was extremely helpful.
Perks of going to a conference at this hotel were that we got a reduced hotel rate and free wifi throughout our stay. It would be too expensive to pay for wifi otherwise, and in this technological age, it really should be free. But that is really my only critique of the hotel. The downtown Vancouver location is wonderful with exciting views from our room of the city.
Overall, I would easily recommend this hotel to other professionals or couples looking for a more upscale experience of downtown Vancouver.

Room Tip: I stayed in an Executive Suite for my final night and it was luxurious. If you can afford the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a nice hotel in a great location. The hotel seems to routinely have great promotional programs. I have stayed here twice in the last six months and for both stays was able to get free parking in the on-site underground parking facility. The 2 bedroom apartment in the Residence tower was lovely, the kitchen was very well equipped and there is a good quality grocery store across the street. I agree with other reviews that the rooms are showing a bit of wear but it did not diminish my experience. We were travelling with our 4 month old daughter and I was pleased to see a number of other families in the hotel. I would describe this hotel as accessible luxury, a high quality facility with exceptional service, without being excessively expensive or pretentious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

this hotel is well placed and not to far to walk to the waterfront, the rooms are a good size and very well laid out, i was very impressed by the size of the TV in the room and the fact you could watch TV in bed without straining, the downside to Vancouver for us was the large population of homeless people, all begging for money, which at times was a little intimidating the city seem to do little to prevent this, which could put off people from visiting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryheeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I actually liked this hotel more than I thought I would - as I normally stay in smaller boutique properties but all my friends were staying here so I booked it as well. However whilst you can see this used to be an amazing property, it is well past it's prime and desperately in need of a face lift!

I stayed in a Executive Suite which was very spacious and in hindsight didn't really need to much space! There was a large lounge area but the sofas were really old and so I would sit on a towel on it! The bed was very comfortable and they had a good mix of pillows - it was just a shame that the window was so small as it made it quite dingy.

The bathroom was very clean and had a separate bath and the towels were very fluffy!! Also worth a special mention are all the hotel staff - from housekeeping to utilities to the concierge, I thought that everyone was very helpful and friendly.

I think my biggest pet peeve was that wi-fi wasn't included in the rate and to be honest I feel like it should be included as part of the standard package esp with a suite!

But it's a great location and for anyone who is visiting, I would recommend the hotel esp if you stay on the Grand Residences side where there are apartments, which I got to visit as I had friends staying there.

Room Tip: Book over in the Grand Residences for the newly refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorabella888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Old, tired with scratched up furnishings. Bedding was well worn and in need of renewal.Carpets were filthy don't forget your slippers. Because we prepaid there was no free wifi, The bathroom was the only saving grace, clean with a good shower.

Room Tip: Never Prepay a room. Lesson learned
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atthebeach47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My sister and I stayed at The Sutten Hotel recently! We were given an exceptional experience staying at this wonderful hotel, downtown Vancouver! Everyone was helpful and quick to answer any questions! The best bed I've ever had in a hotel! gorgeous view from the 13th floor! Lovely room, with everything you need! Very quiet and relaxing! We also had the pleasure of a very tasty Sunday breakfast! Just a very luxurious feel, for reasonable prices! I would easily go back again! So would my sister, when coming to Vancouver, to visit family!

Room Tip: Nothing to add!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mildred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 90 in Vancouver
2,967 reviews
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 90 in Vancouver
3,168 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 90 in Vancouver
3,717 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 90 in Vancouver
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Address: 845 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing