We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lobby/Convention Rooms...but rooms in need of serious Reno's”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Abbotsford, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Beautiful lobby/Convention Rooms...but rooms in need of serious Reno's”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband & I have been staying here at The Sutton Place Hotel for the past 10 years for our Annual Egg Producer Meetings every March! We love their lobby & all their convention rooms but have noticed the last couple of years that the beds are needing replacing as well as their bedding! Their duvets inside the duvet covers have next to no feathers/filling which is not acceptable...last year when we were staying there I was cold every night & because the mattresses were so uncomfortable, I did not sleep there for those 3 nights. This year when we came for our AGM's my husband asked the hotel if they had updated their beds yet & but he was told that if we booked the top floor (for extra $$) we would have a better bed & bedding!
Well we checked in a couple of weeks ago & true enough, we had a much more comfortable bed with nice bedding so I definitely slept better this stay. We were still surprised though to see that the room was exactly the same as all the lower floors with all the antique furniture & very outdated!
Because we have stayed at several other hotels in Vancouver over the years, we are really hoping The Sutton Place does some serious renovations in their rooms in the future! For being such a lovely hotel with amazing service, it is a shame to see their rooms & especially their beds, not keeping up to good standards!

Room Tip: If you want to sleep well & you like warm bedding, make sure you stay on their top floors as all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,578
    936
    311
    103
    50
See reviews for
543
1,287
178
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (688)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
niagara falls
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

beautiful classic. comfy chairs in the lobby . helpful staff. my room was on the 6th floor facing the intersection of burrard and robson. i could see a piece of the north shore mountains in the distance. i enjoyed sitting in my comfy chair facing the ceiling to floor windows; what a view of the city! just as pretty at night. the bed was perhaps the most comfortable hotel bed i've ever slept on. room was clean, luxuriously furnished and very comfortable. continental breakfast the next morning was excellent. very good coffee. i thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: views facing north are excellent (towards robson st.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babynat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a business trip and was very impressed. Lovely hotel, nice rooms, incredibly comfortable bed, and even though I didn't get to enjoy the pool or fitness centre it's nice that they were available.

It's in a great location and practically on Robson Street if you want to get some shopping in.

Room Tip: Upper floor was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

On my business trip I had a choice between “Four Seasons” and “Sutton Place” (on Burrard St). The “Four Seasons” was closer to the office, but Sutton had offered an apartment accommodation.
During my 4 week stay I received excellent service from the doormen, front desk, housekeepers, and other employees.
I had some issues with payments from my business card. This issue was professionally resolved in 5 min by front desk representative Aldrin, my needs with room preference were always completed by Henry (from desk). I was never told that “we cannot do”, instead I received a positive attitude, smile, and willingness to help.
On the weekend I went to Whistler, the concierge helped me to organize my trip with a map, directions, and location of the ski resort office.
Door men were fun and professional. No matter which side I approached the front door- they were always ready to open them for me, and again with a smile and welcome words.

Oleg

Room Tip: come to Sutton Place and they will take care of your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olegToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, General Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Sutton Place Hotel. We appreciate your many compliments, especially regarding the customer service elements provided by Henry and Aldrin at the Front Desk. Please rest assured that we will continue our pursuit for excellence in service.
Thank you for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This by far has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The staff are exceptional and helpful, anything that was needed was taken care of within a few minutes. It is very clean, updated and comfortable to stay at. Internet we did not get as you pay per day so we just went to Starbucks across the street and used the free wi-fi.

This place is central to walk any where in Vancouver and we did not need a car what so ever all week. This has to be one of the pedestrian friendly cities around as one does not need a car to get around and if so there is mass transportation.

I normally don't get excited about hotels as it is just a place to lay ones head but this place far exceeded my expectations and will be staying here any time I am in Vancouver.

Room Tip: We did not eat here at hotel as there are so many niche restaurants within walking distance. Shoppi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My son and I just returned from a four day stay at this property. We were pleasantly surprised to discover the wonderful service and amenities this property offers. The doormen were very polite and always opening doors for us (they were also appreciative when we tipped them). The lobby has a grande sort of feeling, and there is a delicious aroma that greets guests upon entering the hotel. Our room was on the 18th floor, and it had terrific views looking towards Robson Street with the North Shore mountains in the background. The room was well-appointed with the most comfortable beds that rival even Westin's beds. One night we ate in the Fleuri restaurant and it was delicious food - quite pricey but that is to be expected in a hotel restaurant. My son had their famous chocolate buffet for dessert and really enjoyed it. What we enjoyed most about this hotel was the location -- it's so close to shopping, restaurants, the Vancouver Art Gallery, and theatres. Next door is a wine shoppe and an IGA to pick up snacks and beverages. Around the other corner (on Robson st.) is a creperie that serves coffee and a crepes for $4.00 - my son loved the crepes there. Down Robson street a little further is The Thai House restaurant that has amazing food. The other thing we liked most about this hotel was the service - top notch. The attitudes of the hotel's employees: from the front desk staff to the servers in the restaurant, to the housekeeping staff are among the best employees we have experienced. We stayed at the hotel on promotional resident's rate (being resident's of B.C) which gave us $150 towards meals and beverages. Thus our dinner at the Fleuri was at no cost to us - what a bonus. We have stayed at many other Vancouver hotels but will definitely return to The Sutton Place Hotel. I LOVE this place!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms offer the best views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank time4me64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Sutton Place for 1 night before traveling to Hawaii and then 3 nights when returning to Vancouver. The hotel is very clean and all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our first stay was a bit loud with our room overlooking Robson and with some domestic drama that occurred in the hallway. Security had to visit the floor a couple of times leaving us to wonder if we should bother keeping our reservation for our return to Vancouver two weeks later.
We decided to keep our reservation because of the good rate. Upon arriving very late after a long flight, the front desk staff graciously upgraded us to a larger room. This was done without us requesting or complaining about our last experience and we thought this was a very nice surprise. The four of us with suitcases would have been quite crowded in the standard room for the 3 night stay.
After receiving a great rate, a nice upgrade and pleasant service, we will definitely contact this hotel again when staying downtown Vancouver.

Room Tip: Our first room overlooking Robson was quite loud with sirens etc outside, but our second room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,025 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,235 reviews
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,623 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#26 of 92 in Vancouver
3,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Address: 845 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing