We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Lewisville, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This by far has to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. The staff are exceptional and helpful, anything that was needed was taken care of within a few minutes. It is very clean, updated and comfortable to stay at. Internet we did not get as you pay per day so we just went to Starbucks across the street and used the free wi-fi.

This place is central to walk any where in Vancouver and we did not need a car what so ever all week. This has to be one of the pedestrian friendly cities around as one does not need a car to get around and if so there is mass transportation.

I normally don't get excited about hotels as it is just a place to lay ones head but this place far exceeded my expectations and will be staying here any time I am in Vancouver.

Room Tip: We did not eat here at hotel as there are so many niche restaurants within walking distance. Shoppi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,506
    894
    294
    97
    49
See reviews for
514
1,216
169
566
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (665)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My son and I just returned from a four day stay at this property. We were pleasantly surprised to discover the wonderful service and amenities this property offers. The doormen were very polite and always opening doors for us (they were also appreciative when we tipped them). The lobby has a grande sort of feeling, and there is a delicious aroma that greets guests upon entering the hotel. Our room was on the 18th floor, and it had terrific views looking towards Robson Street with the North Shore mountains in the background. The room was well-appointed with the most comfortable beds that rival even Westin's beds. One night we ate in the Fleuri restaurant and it was delicious food - quite pricey but that is to be expected in a hotel restaurant. My son had their famous chocolate buffet for dessert and really enjoyed it. What we enjoyed most about this hotel was the location -- it's so close to shopping, restaurants, the Vancouver Art Gallery, and theatres. Next door is a wine shoppe and an IGA to pick up snacks and beverages. Around the other corner (on Robson st.) is a creperie that serves coffee and a crepes for $4.00 - my son loved the crepes there. Down Robson street a little further is The Thai House restaurant that has amazing food. The other thing we liked most about this hotel was the service - top notch. The attitudes of the hotel's employees: from the front desk staff to the servers in the restaurant, to the housekeeping staff are among the best employees we have experienced. We stayed at the hotel on promotional resident's rate (being resident's of B.C) which gave us $150 towards meals and beverages. Thus our dinner at the Fleuri was at no cost to us - what a bonus. We have stayed at many other Vancouver hotels but will definitely return to The Sutton Place Hotel. I LOVE this place!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms offer the best views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank time4me64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at the Sutton Place for 1 night before traveling to Hawaii and then 3 nights when returning to Vancouver. The hotel is very clean and all staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our first stay was a bit loud with our room overlooking Robson and with some domestic drama that occurred in the hallway. Security had to visit the floor a couple of times leaving us to wonder if we should bother keeping our reservation for our return to Vancouver two weeks later.
We decided to keep our reservation because of the good rate. Upon arriving very late after a long flight, the front desk staff graciously upgraded us to a larger room. This was done without us requesting or complaining about our last experience and we thought this was a very nice surprise. The four of us with suitcases would have been quite crowded in the standard room for the 3 night stay.
After receiving a great rate, a nice upgrade and pleasant service, we will definitely contact this hotel again when staying downtown Vancouver.

Room Tip: Our first room overlooking Robson was quite loud with sirens etc outside, but our second room on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Mountains of New Hampshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We found the hotel to be excellent. Rooms were updated, staff was VERY helpful, location was close to everything. We didn't eat there so can't comment on food. The gym was fine. The price was excellent since we booked through Hotwire - about $135 per night with all taxes added in. Beds very comfortable. Rooms a little small but newly decorated and great large screen tv.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is pretty central in downtown, the staff are super friendly, super polite and very helpful. And this is all the positive I can find.
The hotel lobby and the rooms look really tired, needing a spring clean in the decor! In my mind its represent the typical expensive/luxury hotel that is stuck in the 80's with its furnitures.
The worst for me has to be the bed, though. In my opinion the mattress is way too soft, so far I have woken up with a sore back everyday (but that it's me, if you like a marshmallow style bed, this one is for you!).
The duvet cover is really bad too! The material is weird, cheap version of silk?!? The problem is that during the night it slips off the bed making me and my partner wake up every so often to pull it back up.
The hotel is a bit pricy: I.e.: breakfast is $18 dollars for a continental buffet, there's only so many croissant one can eat, and they don't make up the price.
The hotel in general is not too bad once the bed and the linen is changed and the look modernised a little it could be a very very good hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank italoedinburghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is Un-impressive from the outside. The beauty is in its halls, the nice bar and the caring service. Rooms are very spacious, bed very comfortable and the wireless interest works well. The room tv is huge and modern. Bathroom shower is old and water pressure at the 17th floor was not great.
The breakfast is abundant a la carte plus a small buffet.
The bar downstairs is charming, including a fire place with nice arm chairs around.
The swimming pool is really small, no good for swimmers.
The hotel is very well located for business travelers to get to the city office buildings.

Room Tip: Most rooms would have a view. Perhaps the Roos facing north have a better view. It would be good if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisMiguel808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Book this trip thru Hotwire in the last week. Had two appointments in town within 24 hours so decided to stay over. The room was just right, accessible for my wife. Check in was smooth, got the room for 119.00 plus taxes. Only downer was that they wanted $40.00 for parking, same price for valet parking. Other hiccup was no free wifi, most hotels include that now. Even with these minor disappointments we would stay again. The other minor problem was the shower head in the bathroom was lose and did not stay up. You had to hold it above your head ,awkward. Room 402

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbey_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,423 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#31 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,325 reviews
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Address: 845 Burrard Street, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing