We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. Everything was smooth upon check in, professional. I stayed in a suite which offered me a separate living room. I appreciated the extra space.

They share a fitness facility with a spa. The gym offers more equipment than I was typically used to in a hotel which was great. It was a full gym with plenty of cardio equipment and weights.

The only meals I ate at the hotel were breakfast buffets. They were a little pricey but good. Green Salad, cereals, fresh pastries & fruit.

The location was perfect

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,582
    938
    316
    103
    50
See reviews for
547
1,292
178
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (689)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here end of December, 2012. The hotel is very elegant and clean, centrally located with easy access to the shops of Robson and nightlife of Davie. The Christmas decorations were pretty amazing.

I got a special rate through another website, so it ended up being very inexpensive as well.

Two downsides: the rooms are a bit small, with twin beds, not the standard "doubles," and you can do much better than the hotel parking.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrintDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and feedback on TripAdvisor. I am very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and like our location.
We do have a selection of rooms with two double beds and also we have several value-added packages that include parking on our website.
We thank you very much for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Wishes for a Healthy and Prosperous.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

As many reviews state, this hotel is a class act. The service feels genuine and polished unlike at most hotels where staff is usually just skating along. My room was clean and nicely decorated in a formal English style, which is a nice visual change from all the modernism at hotels these days. Nothing appeared worn out or out of date to me, just classic. Cool old-fashioned bar downstairs, with lots of heavy wood and dim lighting. My only complaint is the exorbitant internet fee-- totally ridiculous in this day and age, especially at a luxury hotel. Perhaps they are trying to make up the difference for the well-priced room I found on Hotwire. But still, lame. Internet fee aside, this is a very nice hotel-- not out of this world perfect or anything, but perfectly worthy of a night's stay.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Veronica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Sutton Place Hotel.It is wonderful to know that you had an enjoyable stay and enjoyed your time in our Gerard Lounge.
Regarding your comment on internet charge. I am pleased to advise that we offer several value-added hotel packages on our website that include complimentary WiFi or hotel credit that can be used toward Wifi charge.
On behalf of the management and staff at The Sutton Place Hotel, we thank you for your business and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The elevator was used all the time by staff so they made it so busy for guest . I got a suit on the 16th floor when they used it I had to stop in each floor that they wanted to go which made so late and slow

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abdullahss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Sutton Place Hotel. I want to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay in regards to our elevator use.
Your feedback is important to us as we use them as learning tools to improve our service. Thank you again for your patronage and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to The Sutton Place Hotel.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed December 25, 2012

I have stayed at the Sutton Place many times for business and it never disapoints. This time though I had a bit of a mishap and called down to the front desk seeking assistance. They sent the first-aid trained security personnel up to my room to assist me within minutes. They also had an equally well trained person on the morning shift who came to follow up and check on me. I am pleased to say all of the staff are professional and ready to handle any situation. Impressive!

Room Tip: Apartment side is spacious and wonderful, hotel side is lovely and quaint and some rooms are quite s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biztraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at the Sutton in a 2 bed suite.
Positives
- Well-situated
- clean
- courteous staff
- the suite was spacious, & well appointed
- great pool
- great views from the 14th storey

Could improves
- galley kitchen a bit cramped
- Wi-Fi $20 a day

This was a great place to recuperate after a flight from London. We would certainly consider staying again, and found Vancouver a pleasant and interesting place to explore, esp. the sky train & Lonsdale Quay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pelikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the overall positive review of The Sutton Place Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be happy to welcome you again at the Sutton Place Hotel. Please visit our value-added packages on our website that offer complimentary WiFi or hotel packages.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My husband and I decided to do a staycation downtown (Vancouver) to celebrate our anniversary. It was in December so we couldn't break the bank either, so I booked a 5 star hotel on Hotwire and got the Sutton Vancouver hotel.

I was a little bit concerned because I had read mixed reviews and it seemed like those who got the hotel through Hotwire had bad experiences - possibly because they were given the non-renovated, lowever level, "cheaper" rooms.

I wrote the hotel, let them know it was a special occasion and expressed my concerns. It turns out I DID get a lower level room with 2 twin beds (one of the major complaints I saw in bad reviews). They offered to upgrade us to a king bed room for $15/night - so we did that. It was still very reasonably priced. I took some of the tips I saw on reviews and asked for a room higher than the 16th floor, and for something with a view, preferrable away from the hospital (because of noise).

When we arrived, we were greeted by friendly staff and were told we got a room on the 18th floor. When we got to the room, we saw chocolate covered strawberries on a plate that read "Happy Anniversary" in chocolate - compliments of the hotel manager. The room was perfect - we got a very nice view of Robson street and English Bay, it was quiet and the room was clean. There was a big screen TV and window was almost floor-to-ceiling. We loved the room so much that we ordered room service and set up our own little table for two by the window. It was very romantic :)

In summary:
- Very friend, and helpful staff
- Clean, updated rooms
- Large windows with nice view
- Gorgeous large bathroom with marble countertops and floors. Shower and bath are seperate and spacious.
- Other reviews are right - they have the most comfortable hotel beds I've ever slept on! If you are interested, they use the Simmon's Beauty Rest pilow top World Class 1 mattress.

My only complaint is that housekeeping knocked on our door at 8:30am. You can also hear everything in the hallway. But these were pretty small cons compared to all the pros.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for celebrating your anniversary at The Sutton Place Hotel and for sharing your recent experience with the Trip Advisor community. I appreciate your time and effort to write such a positive reviews and it's my pleasure to respond. I am grateful that you had a wonderful overall experience. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes for a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
Fairmont Hotel Vancouver
#32 of 92 in Vancouver
3,032 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 92 in Vancouver
3,237 reviews
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#26 of 92 in Vancouver
3,560 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Address: 845 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing