We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Ranked #28 of 96 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent our 23rd anniversary at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver through a Travelzoo voucher we bought. We were treated with the utmost respect by all levels of staff, presented with chocolate dipped strawberries from the hotel, and given an awesome room on the 21st floor with a city view. The hotel is just beautiful and the lobby was magically decorated for Christmas. It is located within easy walking distance to major shopping and tourist areas - Robson Strreet, Pacific Centre Mall, Gastown and the waterfront. Public transit is easy to get to and find.
Would we stay again? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Try for a high floor with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maple757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,351
    801
    265
    88
    43
See reviews for
442
1,100
150
505
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This hotel is located in the heart of downtown Vancouver. It's only steps to all the shopping, dining and attractions, so it's extremely convenient. But what I like most about this hotel is the amazing staff. I have stayed here numerous times, and every time I have been impressed by the courteous, friendly yet professional treatment I received from all of the staff. From the doormen that always open the door with a smile, to the helpful bartender who introduced me to my new favourite wine, the service is second to none. It reminds me of how service should be but rarely is. The hotel itself is older but comfortable and slightly glamorous, like an old movie star. The restaurant is higher end, so don't expect a cheap breakfast, but dinners are surprisingly reasonable and the food is excellent. The little lounge is warm and cozy. There is no coffee shop, but you can grab a latte and a chocolate croissant at the little coffee bar on your way out the door. The beds are super soft and comfortable, with one of the nicer duvet/pillow sets out there. I have stayed in many hotels over the years and this is one of my favourites. Try to get a room facing Burrard Street, otherwise it's not much of a view.

Room Tip: The rooms that overlook Burrard are a little noisy from street traffic, but not overly so, and they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YukonTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for again choosing to stay at The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver. I am delighted to read that you have truly enjoyed your stay and our facilities. Your compliments about our friendly and welcoming staff are greatly appreciated as we take great pride in our personnel. The cafe you are refering to is called La Boulangerie which is our hotel cafe. We also provide coffee service in our lobby news cafe store.
Thank you again for posting your review, it would be our pleasure to welcome you for another stay with us.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This centrally-located hotel has a marvelous and welcoming lobby (especially around the Christmas season!), efficient staff and very good service. The exercise room is better than most, and the standard rooms are well-stocked and a good size. I used an online booking service rather than booking directly with the hotel and was able to get a very good price.

If you are driving, note that the small semicircular driveway is extremely busy and if you are in a hurry, it may not be convenient despite the best efforts of the staff at the front desk and the door.

Only complaint is the very high cost of the Wi-Fi, more than $14 per day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you kindly for your nice review about our hotel and its services and Christmas’ décor in the lobby. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
For future reservations please visit us on line for our loyalty program and various packages with special offerings.Thank you again for your business and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom, requested a sofa bed, unfortunately none of the upgraded suites had a sofa bed, so we were in a non upgraded suite.

The facilities in the suite were perfect, the only complaints being the tv was small in the master and the second bedroom did not have a tv - no big deal.

Everyone was super helpful and friendly and went out of their way to accomodate us even in teh lounge late at night post Christmas party when we were not on our best behaviour!

Room service was prompt and delicious.
Perfect location, we had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Gees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay in our two-bedroom suite at La Grande Residence. I am pleased to advise that we are in the process of placing new sofa-beds for selected one and two-bedroom suites on the renovated floors. I am glad that you enjoyed the christmas party and our Gerard Lounge. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting your future stays.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Best location for shopping in downtown Vancouver. Just off Robson Street and an easy two block walk to Pacific Centre Mall. Elegant hotel with well appointed rooms. Staff are a bit stiff but friendly. If available, get a room on a higher floor for the views of the city. Great choice for a casual weekend or an overnight stay for business. If you want to sleep in be sure to put the Do Not Disturb hanger on your door, otherwise the maids will be interupting your sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest available floor for the views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canuckonthego57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Situated downtown Vancouver, this is my favourite hotel in Vancouver. The rooms are very comfortable and all is very elegant but the great attraction is the staff who are always on hand to help. The bar Gerrards is also a great escape.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oblimov18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and your inspiring compliments for our staff are greatly appreciated. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you back to The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a great time. Central, walk everywhere and a great brunch in the morning. Everyone went out of their way to make sure everything worked out. We spent a long time just sitting in the lobby. Not many hotels I'd enjoy just hanging out in the lobby... in fact this is the only one for sure. Next time we get a weekend just to two of us in Vancouver I think we'll go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing The Sutton Place Hotel. It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay and location of our hotel. Our lobby is beautifully decorated with Christmas trees during this time of the year. Spending time in the lobby to relax and enjoy the festive atmosphere is certainly an enjoyable thing to do. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
West End
La Grande Residence at the Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Metropolitan Hotel Vancouver
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#4 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Le Soleil
Hotel Le Soleil
#15 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,114 reviews
Robson Street
Westin Grand Vancouver
Westin Grand Vancouver
#29 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 1,525 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#20 of 96 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 stars 2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver

Property: Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Address: 845 Burrard St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6Z 2K6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#23 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#24 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#32 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few hotels can rival the elegance, European charm and hospitality of The Sutton Place Hotel. One of Vancouver's most beautiful boutique hotels, situated in the heart of downtown Vancouver. The spectacular setting allows guests to experience exceptional service and all the needed amenities within the cosmopolitan ambiance of the city set against a majestic backdrop of mountains and sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutton Place Vancouver
Vancouver Sutton Place Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing