We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver
Nearby Hotels
$317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Best Western Plus Uptown Hotel(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$195
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Opus Hotel(Vancouver)
$414
$372
Opus Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Burrard(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$346
$318
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$322
$302
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$448
$387
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$363
$350
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson(Vancouver)(Great Value!)
$234
$218
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$489
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$538
$463
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,273)
Filter reviews
3,273 results
Traveler rating
1,722
1,032
342
118
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,722
1,032
342
118
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrobson streetfree wifiper daybeautiful hotelbedroom suiteconcierge staffheart of downtownvalet parkingcentral locationfull kitchenlocation is excellentcoffee makeralaskan cruisestanley parkgranville islandsirensbellman
Filter
Updating list...
2,266 - 2,271 of 3,273 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2012

First class hotel from top to bottom. The style and decor is classic - but not to be mistaken for worn down. I'm not sure if they have done renovations - but everything in my room was in great shape - no qualms about A/C or TV, etc. that I've read in some reviews. Sure, you might hear a little street noise and the occasional siren - but that's to be expected in any downtown metropolitan hotel.

The location is perfect - Robson is around the corner and the City Center station is only a couple blocks away. It's a easy walk to just about anywhere. The service was friendly, but crisp and professional. I didn't use the pool or gym, but both looked clean and adequate. The bar is a nice place to wind down the day. Not sure when I'll be back in Vancouver, but I wouldn't hesitate to book Sutton Place again or recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ATXMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Sutton and with the Government rate discount made it comparable to staying at a lower class hotel . We had a Residential Suite which was very clean and tastefully decorated. Centrally located for strolling Robson and Granville Streets and a short walk to BC Place to take in a BC Lions game. Only complaints would be the parking fee and the A/C noise but a quick adjustment to the heat levels solved that. We had free WiFi but it would not connect unless out on the patio.

Room Tip: choose a residential suite...lots of space with a kitchen to save some money on eating out.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McLeanRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at the Sutton place 3 times since April. It is now the only hotel we stay at. We always get a 700-800 sq ft apartment with full one bedroom and all Miele appliances. Completely renovated rooms with these upgrades when you book from website. They do have several other units that are a bit outdated but they are working on upgrading them all.You get a balcony as well. You are next to a shopping marketplace to buy food and a wine store and you are in the heart of downtown within walking distance to all the stores and the Pacific mall. great location. Upon entry after valet takes your car you walk in and the smells of the huge flower arrangement is beautiful. You take separate elevators to these apartments. The stove is built into the wall, the fridge is nicely covered in wood to make the look very updated. A huge working are for any meal preparation.Big screen Tv's and crystal chandelier. We have not ever stayed her in summer , but the location of air unit may be noisy.You have huge balcony doors with a small table and two chairs outside overlooking the street. One thing I will point out was you are next to the hospital a bit down the street and I have not anywhere I habpve stayed heard such loud sirens as here so if its a busy night and you stay anywhere around the area it may not please you.The hotel also has a nice lounge for evenings which had a wonderful piano player upon entry into it. For the laid back lounge get there early as its small and packed so you may not get a table as we did we had to sit out near the restaurant area. The only other negative thing this past trip that did not please us at all was the timeframe of the Valet parking. For 4 days we called down for our car and not a single person would answer the phone ever! The last day we just went down and gave the guy our ticket and we waited and waited and finally after 15 minutes we asked where our car was? He said oh you have to wait...needless to say with having to catch a flight this was not acceptable so the guy literally had to run down the ramp and accommodate our needs???We finally got our car. Valet this trip gets a 1*, sorry I guess on weekends you maybe need extra people?Other than that it is a perfect place, great updated room, great location and great price for having an apartment style accommodation. The rooms are called La Grande Residence so make sure you book those for the apartment style units.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Orlandoexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navid S, Manager at Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you for your loyal patronage of The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver. We are so thrilled to hear that you like our luxurious renovated suite with modern design at the La Grande Residence at The Sutton Place Hotel and our hotel facilities. We are grateful for your valuable feedback and would like to express our sincere regrets for any inconveniences caused during your stay with us. Please be assured that we have not only taken note of your comments but will address them by looking into every detail in improving the service provided by our valet department. We value your business and look forward to welcoming you back to The Sutton Place Hotel Vancouver soon!
Sincerely,
Navid Sariolghalam
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 weeks. recommende by a friend (which we were a bit unsure about at first) but upon arrival we had all our fears put to rest. The staff are all super helpful and courteous. Nothing is a problem. The room we had (a 2 bed appt with kitchen,dine,lounge 2 baths etc...) was excellent. The rooms have recently been updated so NO shabby furniture and the beds are supurb. Some people in other reviews complain about the AC noise...these are right near the main beroom......here is a hint. TURN IT OFF at the controls....no problems there at all....but Sutton place could do with a rethink on them......as for amenities....all good. and the bar and food is great (but a little expensive)...try Joeys across the road...much cheaper and just as good. Position is perfect. Robson St is only less than 100 ft fron the fron door (and the good end of Robson st) you can walk to pretty much any part of town on either side - but i would catch a cab or trolly/bus to stanley park....just a little too far for little feet.(dont bother hiring a car)....$9 in a cab will get you anywhere in the city from here....We met some intersting people too...Wife had a good chat with Stephen Spielberg and i bumped into Matt Fewer......yes if you visit the bar at night you are likely to see the odd celeb...but DONT take you camera......its frowned upon in this hotel...(rightly so too)...Great hotel for kids too...good pool area (inside) but no play things for them. Vida spa is very good and staff are friendly, but like all vida spas they are little more than the one down the road....NO real things for kiddies......but you dont need them...everything is at your doorstep here.
we checked out all the other hotels around the area and this won hands down.
Best Points: beds are perfect. rooms spotless. staff helpful and friendly. perfect postion.
Bad Points: breakfast menu is a little ordinary....so we cooked our own or ate out....Price might put a few people off....but well worth it if you want to be in the right spot.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room get one that faces out towards Haro St (back) but you can get the odd siren noise from the firehouse located several blocks away Front ones have a great view....but get some of the city night noise late into the night...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Sutton. It was a nice hotel although the rooms could use a bit of an update considering the cost for one night! And $40 for valet parking is crazy!!
The bed was comfy and they left us chocolate covered strawberries for our anniversary which we thought was a nice touch. Overall was a great stay but wouldn't choose the Sutton again unless it was a deal.

Room Tip: Our room was higher up and facing Robson Street which was really nice as we could somewhat see the ocean and mountains too.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philandmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews