We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful part of Vancouver”
Review of Gastown

Gastown
Book In Advance
More Info
$172.77*
and up
Full Day Best of Vancouver Private City Tour and Wine Tasting
More Info
$246.81*
and up
Full Day Best of Vancouver Private City and Gardens Tour
More Info
$58.72*
and up
Gastown Walking Food Tour
Ranked #21 of 351 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The oldest commercial district in Vancouver, best known for its beautiful Victorian-style architecture.
Fort Myers, FL
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful part of Vancouver”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

In our fruitless search in the rain for Chinatown, we stumbled upon Gastown, and what a great surprise! This little nook in the city has an amazingly cool vibe, but manages to be quaint at the same time. We strolled, shopped for souvenirs, ate, and people-watched for hours...even in the rain. Take the time to explore this section of Vancouver!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank JudieAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,425
    1,565
    617
    139
    49
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gas Town (When I was travelling I worked here for a while about the Old Spaghetti Factory)”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Such a cool place, think Soho / Shoreditch but with better air... Great coffee shops , bars and restaurants. I was there for about 3 months and grew very fond of the area.

Tip! Coffee shops around this area serve the most amazing cinnamon swirls(pastries), do not go without exploring these, especially 1st thing in the morning...

If you go around the back of the old spaghetti factory you can see the ocean, a stunning view...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Steventhomasholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We went through here in buses twice before finally going to investigate.
We ate at the Old Spaghetti Factory and explored the souveneir shops. The gastown steam clock was fascinating to watch and we were given an explanation by a local as to how it works.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Do not miss this!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is their Old Town area. It's beautiful and filled with shops and restaurants. I had the best halibut I have ever had on a sidewalk cafe! I wish I could remember the name and share with you. Take a stroll among the busy streets and make sure to visit the gas clock tower

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank deb m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“historic Vancouver”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Attractive cobblestone streets with flowers and green trees (at least in early July), lots of souvenir shops & restaurants, easy to walk, don't miss the steam clock

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ScottEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastown also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Gastown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing