We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scary at night”
Review of Gastown

Gastown
Book In Advance
More Info
$164.29*
and up
Full Day Best of Vancouver Private City Tour and Wine Tasting
Ranked #21 of 352 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The oldest commercial district in Vancouver, best known for its beautiful Victorian-style architecture.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Scary at night”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Yes, I saw the steam clock. Can't say that I had much time to admire it as I was trying to get back to the SeaBus for North Vancouver as quickly as possible. There are a lot of very aggressive panhandlers all throughout the area. It makes it impossible to admire any of the buildings or streets when you're being followed by sketchy folk. Take a wrong turn and you'll be tripping over needles, tie-offs (seriously, I had no idea what a "tie off" was before coming to Vancouver), and used condoms; enjoy the sights and smells of individuals relieving themselves along buildings and alleys. It's disgusting and dangerous.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerr767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,353
    1,491
    600
    130
    46
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
175 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Love the feel”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I don't know what it is about Gastown that I like so much...maybe the Victorian architecture that gives a bygone era feeling but is now occupied by shoppes and eateries with modern sensibilities? I just feel very comfortable here. Lots of neat restaurants to eat in and tons of shopping, especially for tourists looking to pick up some souvenirs.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HauntJauntsGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Walk of Old Vancouver”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Although it was raining it was still a nice walk. There were nice old buildings and a lot of pubs and gift shops. If you have nothing else to do walking through Gastown is a good option.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stephbest10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Buzzy Old Town”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Gastown is worth an hour or two of your time, whether it's to eat in the many very good cafes and restaurants, idle over a casual coffee, browse the boutiques or just enjoy the atmosphere. At weekends, it's buzzy, at all times pleasant. The old town has been tastefully renovated without destroying the feeling of the past.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules8Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Old town vibe”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My family visited this place as we didn't have anywhere else to go that day, we actually went to Chinatown but since the map says Gastown was just nearby we gave it a go. One can easily tell that its already the Gastown as it was written in the reviews that its an old town, so the vibe it gives was like the old Canada perhaps, the Victorian-styled buildings, the classically styled lamp posts with big chains, the potted plants, and the cobbled stone roads. We looked for Gassy Jack's monument and the steam clock, its worth for photo ops. Its drizzling a bit so the effect is like Sherlocky Holmes :) yes the reviews are true, there were a lot of homeless peeps over ther, they meant no harm, some looked like they were hign on some stuffs as they were dancing, prancing, rapping in the streets but they just do their stuffs without disturbing us, we saw a van with foods and they were distributing it to some of the folks. its quite safe, there's a lot of nice looking old England style restos and shops too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank bengch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastown also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Gastown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing