We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old town vibe” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gastown

Gastown
Book In Advance
More Info
$162.99*
and up
Full Day Best of Vancouver Private City Tour and Wine Tasting
Ranked #20 of 345 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The oldest commercial district in Vancouver, best known for its beautiful Victorian-style architecture.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Old town vibe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

My family visited this place as we didn't have anywhere else to go that day, we actually went to Chinatown but since the map says Gastown was just nearby we gave it a go. One can easily tell that its already the Gastown as it was written in the reviews that its an old town, so the vibe it gives was like the old Canada perhaps, the Victorian-styled buildings, the classically styled lamp posts with big chains, the potted plants, and the cobbled stone roads. We looked for Gassy Jack's monument and the steam clock, its worth for photo ops. Its drizzling a bit so the effect is like Sherlocky Holmes :) yes the reviews are true, there were a lot of homeless peeps over ther, they meant no harm, some looked like they were hign on some stuffs as they were dancing, prancing, rapping in the streets but they just do their stuffs without disturbing us, we saw a van with foods and they were distributing it to some of the folks. its quite safe, there's a lot of nice looking old England style restos and shops too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank bengch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,222
    1,357
    547
    120
    42
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
324 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Great to go in the evening.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

There are a ton of bars and restaurants on this set of streets down by the water.
We did some bar hopping the one night great fun in the different pubs.
One big tip for the people from out of town. Don't forget to bring your drivers license or a picture ID, most bars won't let you if you don't have one, regardless if you are 40 or 20 years old. No ID no entry.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Clodruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
176 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Worth Seeing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's certainly worth making a trip to Gastown along with the other sights and attractions in the downtown core, but aside from some very nice restaurants and the proximity to the ocean, Gastown is a tourist trap and is certainly run down in many areas. The amount of homeless people was surprising and you don't have to venture too far out of Gastown to find some pretty rough areas of town.

Definitely worth seeing - but prepare yourselves for that.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
957 reviews
256 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

We wandered into this area in 1971 when we were recent draftees at Ft Lewis WA. Have been back several times over the years and it only gets better.

We are from a rural state so getting to the City is always fun. There is so much to do and see in Vancouver. But these old town type places are always fun and this one is very good. In a nice city, on the water, historic, Coastal Indian art, the steam powered clock, a vibrant night life-0how good can it get.

We found the locals were easy to talk to and gave us many good tips on other Vancouver area and Vancouver Island places to go.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
252 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Gastown was a gas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

My first visit to Gastown was a cold, damp night in February. The wind felt like it could easily transport one back in time a bit. The crowds were sparse, the hot chocolate was warm and friendly, and my time here was absolutely delightful. The architecture, the cobblestone streets, made for a lovely evening.
My next visit was during the bright light of day. It wasn't as magical... night time, like snow can hide some of the dark side and add a touch of magic. But I will always remember my first visit. :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheDocIsOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastown also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Gastown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing