We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Would NOT recommend this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Columbia Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vancouver
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia Hotel
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would NOT recommend this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is too expensive considering the fact that there is a bar downstairs where they play extremely loud music. You would not get any sleep! This is how I experienced this hotel, and the owners didn’t want to do anything about it. I would never recommend Columbia Hotel as long as the bar is downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
1
3
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

The facilities here are pretty great - linen, clean rooms, kitchens, room service every week or so, secure premises, free WiFi, laundry facilities. The price for us was perfect - we wanted 'somewhere to live' in Downtown Vancouver for a couple of months. Everywhere else was either out of our price range or located way out of town. Our one-bedroom suite is spacious, clean and well appointed. Sure, it's pretty basic but it's fine, warm and centrally located in Gastown which is cool. If you have issues with homeless then this area isn't for you, but I've been to Vancouver 3 times and never ever felt unsafe or hassled, so although the situation is sad, on a personal level I've never been negatively affected (safety wise etc. ). The area can be a little noisy, but again for the price the hotel is unbeatable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Being that there hasn't been a review on this property since 2010, I felt it was our duty to let people know that this property is not too bad at all - exceeded our expectations. Also, there's supermarkets, coffee shops, gym and downtown facilities all within EASY walk.

Room Tip: Choose a one-bedroom suite - good value for money. Includes fridge, microwave, tv etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem, or
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2010

Pretty run down facilities with crude remodeling, except for pub. Elevator is iffy. No linen service. Location is in high density homeless population area, but just a few blocks from the gastown area. No air conditioning, which can be uncomfortable and very loud in the summer. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Vancouver hotels

mullins, sc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

My wife has always wanted to visit Canada. So, I planned a long weekend to Vancouver, BC. It was pretty nice place to stay for a last minute trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertWMullins_Sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Gastown
Patricia Hotel
Patricia Hotel
#72 of 90 in Vancouver
3.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Gastown
Ramada Limited Vancouver Downtown
Gastown
Delta Hotels by Marriott Vancouver Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gastown
Victorian Hotel
Victorian Hotel
#40 of 90 in Vancouver
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Downtown
Sandman Hotel Vancouver City Centre
Gastown
Skwachays Lodge
Skwachays Lodge
#2 of 47 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia Hotel

Property: Columbia Hotel
Address: 303 Columbia St, Vancouver, British Columbia V6A 2R7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Gastown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you a student or young professional and looking for a nice and clean accommodation in downtown Vancouver? We offer private spacious furnished rooms with shared washrooms and shared kitchen. The room has a queen sized bed (linen provided), a sink, a desk with chair as well as cable TV and internet. Weekly room cleaning. Cheap laundry is also available inside the building. It's a safe place (24 hours staff at the front desk) with happy tenants. Walking distance to all the main transits including buses, sea bus and sky train and there are cheap grocery stores nearby. In walking distance schools like VFS, SFU, VCC and various language schools. Long and short term are all possible. Security deposit required. All inclusive rent between $550-$700/month for single occupancy and between $780-$850/month for double occupancy. We also rent suite rooms with microwave, fridge and private washroom on a daily basis for $100 CDN per day for 2 people. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing