We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good fun but very overpriced”
Review of Science World

Science World
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.26*
and up
Vancouver Highlights Bike Tour
Ranked #25 of 349 things to do in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Science World at TELUS World of Science ignites the imagination with hands-on interactive exhibits, jaw-dropping live science shows, and the giant-screen OMNIMAX(R) Theatre. Fun for all ages, Science World is sure to jumpstart your imagination.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good fun but very overpriced”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

The museum was good fun with lots to do on its 2 floors but to charge $25 for just 1.5 hours entertainment was far too much, especailly as you had to pay extra for the Imax cinema.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank hamman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    300
    120
    42
    23
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Probably better with older children”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We went with our three young children (3,3,6), and it was a decent attraction. It was very busy with not enough things to keep the younger children's attention for a long time. The kids area had things that can be found at any park. If our kids were a little older, i think that it would have been a better experience.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank cpearson001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
115 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We have been to Science World many times over the years, and know the place pretty much well.

The Eureka Gallery is the favourite of most children. There are many fun activities to do, such as taking pictures of your shadow against a backdrop, and sitting on a chair while you pull yourself up. We also really enjoy the enviromental exhibit. The movie in the giant burger is really fun, and is the slide that is supposed to be a garbage shoot.

I do feel that admission here is really pricey though. As a family of 5, we can easily pay over $100 to get in each time. And while it is fun, I do not feel that this is a $100 attraction.

Overall, families will enjoy Science World, as long as they are OK with the price.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Caribby96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crowded rip off”
Reviewed July 13, 2011

My family walked in and left 5 minutes later. Place was absolutely packed. Half the center was closed off for construction. Complete rip off of $15 admission. Don't even bother with or without kids, but especially if you don't.

Use the money to buy a home experimenters kit and learn in the comfort of your own home.

Helpful?
Thank WanderingGroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hands on super fun”
Reviewed June 22, 2011

Science World has some ongoing construction that the locals tell me seems to be going on forever, and for adults this means a slight discount off normal prices. I took my 4 year old twins and opted not to watch an omni movie and our bill came to $42.75.

We stayed for over 4 hours and played with loads of interactive things including a walk on piano and a fulcrum lifting a 200kg hippo, we also watched two live shows that were both entertaining and informative. It seems more things are set up after midday and things from the shows were available to try for those who weren't used as volunteers in the show. For example the kids got to have a try of the van de graaf machine after the show, but this was in a completely different location than the actual stage it was first demonstrated on.

The place is set out on multiple levels that cater to toddler through to older kids, however the adults I saw were getting just as much a kick out of the hands on displays.

Very easy to get to from downtown, by either the skytrain or bus C23. And Science World opens at 10am.

Outside the centre are some nice green grounds right on the water with a few playgrounds so very picnicable.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank SinhDoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Science World also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Science World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing