We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location, awesome views & fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pan Pacific Vancouver
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant location, awesome views & fantastic staff”
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Highly recommended, great location to enjoy sight seeing around Vancouver. Only downside was no Wifi.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,337
    1,022
    261
    78
    36
See reviews for
811
1,501
117
835
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

Stayed in the Pan Pacific for one night before embarking on Alaskan cruise.

Slightly odd entrance, in that you have to take two esculators to reach reception on the second floor , however, nothing will beat puling back the curtains and taking in the superb view over Vancouver harbour @ 6am as daylight breaks

Our room was very comfortable with all modern facilities including a 32inch LCD TV. The bathroom was really nice with Aveda toiletries provded..

We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food

The staff were very helpful and polite.

We booked this hotel for the added bonus of being attached drectly to the cruise ship terminal. The lift to the right of reception took us directly down to the check in centre.

Hassle free and very convenient stay

Well recommended

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JG-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Although not generally a fan of large "convention" hotels, the Pan Pacific in Vancouver was a great experience during our 3-day stay. The property literally juts out into the harbor, so most of the rooms have nice views of the water. We woke up the first morning to discover a huge cruise ship had bearthed on the bulkhead right below us, and the continual activities in the harbor (e.g., sea planes landing, yachts, ocean vessels moving) were really interesting.

The property is "right in the middle" of activities in the downtown Vancouver area, with plenty of sights, restaurants, etc. within easy walking distance. Although the hotel is part of a convention center (Canada Place), and is pretty caverous, its modern nautical flair architecture is pleasing. The staff was universally friendly. As an example, when the rooms we reserved were not available, we were upgraded into a luxury suite. After the first night the kids preferred to have two separate rooms (which we had reserved), and the staff cheerfully moved us into those. All of our rooms were very nice with great views. The buffet breakfasts (complimentary with our package) were fabulous.

One of the bellmen (Peter, I think) was especially friendly, giving us friendly (and accurate) advice on restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigTripGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

The hotel is modern right on the waterfront which is convenient to pretty much everything.The cruise ships (mostly) leave right from the hotel . For Holland America they take your luggage directly from the room to your room on the ship. The boarding is on the bottom floor of the hotel.
CAVEAT:: Be sure you book a waterfront view, but be careful that one side of the hotel looks over the commercial docks, while the other side looks over Stanley Park. Be sure to get a higher floor since floors 9 & 10 (lowest room floors)have obstructed views.
Breakfast is very good but expensive. Easily $100 for 4 adults and 2 children.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfnut15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed 1 night at the Pan Pacific for our wedding anniversary and it was wonderful.

Check in was quick and the front desk person was very friendly and said Happy Anniversary to us. We also received a little chocolate gift in the room which was a thoughtful touch. The room and washroom were clean and tidy. The room looked a little dated compared to the newer/trendier hotels, but that's ok.

The view was the best part. At night or in the morning...it was so beautiful! The lights, moutains, water, buildings, float-planes and boats was breath-taking. If you stay in a hotel in Vancouver, you should definitely stay here.

We then went to Spa Utopia and had relaxing massages. My favorite spa in Vancouver. Gorgeous setting, wonderful facilities and amazing service.

After the spa and dinner, we decided to use their rooftop pool. Love it! It was a warm night and it was very romantic to swim and use the hot tub under the stars. There were plenty of towels out for guests to use and the whole pool area was very clean.

We had brunch the next day at Cafe Pacifica and it will always be my favorite brunch. They definitely have the best brunch buffet in Vancouver. A little pricey, but it's worth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koko269
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

I usually stay at Four Seasons or Opus, however due to some major conferences and event both of them were fully booked. So I picked Pan Pacific, despite some warning about it being a cruise ship hotel (it is on top of the Canada Place, a national landmark where most of the Alaskan Cruises depart). But it definitely was a surprisingly pleasant stay. 4 things I have to mention.

1) The View: Upon reaching its lobby level, the beautiful view of the Vancouver harbor, Lions Gate Bridge, and the mountains range to the right of it dominated my view. Harbor facing side of the lobby had a 5 floor high uninterrupted and expansive glass wall. And I booked an inner harbor view room with basically the same stunning view. The room was large with a king and a lounge chaise. Clean, comfortable with a decent bath room.

2) The pool: it is said to be the best pool and jacuzzi in town, not because of it's size or depth (not large and very shallow), but for it's view and tanning potential. Facing the same harbor view on the 8th floor terrace and with ample lounging chairs for tanning and people watching, I would probably have to agree (Four Seasons and Shangri-la only have indoor pools and Opus doesn't even have one). Only thing is if you order drinks, you might have to wait for awhile, their room service department seems to be a little understaffed during the tanning hours.

3) The Sunday brunch: I'm not usually one for the buffet, but from what I've seen, the Sunday brunch is all fresh supplies (not your usual let's-get-rid-of-week-long-left-over Sunday brunch). It does reminded me of a luxury cruise ship brunch. You might want to book ahead, the seats filled up rather quickly.

The only downside is if you want to sleep in after a long night of partying, you might have some trouble if you are a light sleeper. There is a float plane terminal right next to the hotel, the first flight could be as early as 9 am and the cruise ships might blow their horns around noon. But for me, I throughly enjoyed my stay and with my corporate discount, I ended up saving my company close to half of what usually the other 2 hotels (yeah, the other 2 don't do have discount in their vocabulary) would have charged me.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidzLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I took a friend here for a girls night two nights before her wedding. I have stayed at many 4 star hotels downtown Vancouver but thought I would splurge on a 5 star. We sprung for the valet parking. Totally worth it, they take you luggage right to your room and you feel like a celebrity when you just pull up to the front of the hotel and walk away. Self parking is $35 and valet is $39 very worth the $4 extra, A really nicet bellman Brent brought up our bags and filled up our ice bucket.
Check in lady was cold and unfriendly. She said that there was an $80 extra charge for two extra people for one night !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I was upset be didn't want to taint the brides day so I went down later and after a long conversation with the duty manager got the $80 charge taken off. Advice do not tell them about extra guest just walk the extra people up to the room later.
Our mini bar fridge didn't work and was dirty had food bits stuck to the inside so they moved us to anther room but that room was smaller so we moved again total of three room changes. Mini bar in all three room didn't work. Room was great but nothing five star about it. When we phoned down to ask for extra wine glasses they were at our room in less than five minutes. The hot tub and pool was amazing but they advertise that is it adults only 10pm-12am but at 1045 we had to go and find someone to ask to ask the many young kids to leave. The check out bell service and valet was again great this was the only part of the hotel that felt 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJDVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pan Pacific Vancouver, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
We are surprised at the “cold” and “unfriendly” attitude at reception as we normally receive extremely positive comments regarding our excellent customer service. Although, our hotel is in the process of reviewing our current extra person charge and how & when it is applied, most hotels do charge from $25 - $50 per additional person, as there are costs associated with having additional guests staying in a room. As this guest was obviously upset over this, our Duty Manager graciously deducted the extra person charge from her bill.

We are pleased to advise that new mini-bars have been ordered for all rooms still housing our original mini bars, and are scheduled to arrive imminently. Despite the popular misconception, mini bars are not fridges, but merely coolers designed to keep drinks at a constant temperature. As such, they are often perceived as not working. That being said, some of these mini-bars do break down without warning, so we do our best to accommodate the guest, in this case, by moving them to another room.

While we do have signs stating that our Hot Tub and Pool are for Adults only from 10pm – 12am, children are not always monitored closely by their parents, nor do children (or adults) necessarily adhere to posted rules & regulations. We are disappointed these guests were put in the position of having to seek out a staff member to ask underage children to leave, but are pleased our associate was able to assist.

We are pleased to see that when contacting any of our guest services associates, their concerns were addressed and resolved promptly throughout their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,289 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
3,019 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,819 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Vancouver

Property: Pan Pacific Vancouver
Address: 300-999 Canada Place Way | Suite 300, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pan Pacific Vancouver Hotel is luxuriously appointed with a wide selection of modern hotel amenities, with its waterfront restaurants and lounge providing an award-winning selection of West Coast Cuisine over Vancouver's magnificent Harbour, Coastal Mountains and Stanley Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pan Pacific Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Pan Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing