We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Anniversary Weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pan Pacific Vancouver
Ranked #14 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Anniversary Weekend.”
Reviewed August 9, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for a anniversary weekend get away from Seattle and it was perfect. The location is perfect access to the Sky Train Waterfront station, and an easy walk to Gastown neighbourhood or about 20-minute walk along the water front to Stanly Park. Canada Place is also the main cruise terminal, so it's great access if you're taking a cruise as well.

The room we stayed in was a King with inner harbour view. The bed was perfect and the TV was huge for a hotel, with a great on-demand movie selection. The bathroom was very spacious with Aveda bath products.

The 8th floor has a pool and hot tub on a roof top terrace and it was very pleasant to sit out on a crisp night in the hot tub and heated salt water pool.

I would gladly stay here again anytime, but next time I would probably splurge on the Stanly Park view.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,337
    1,022
    261
    78
    36
See reviews for
811
1,501
117
835
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, WI
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I stayed at the Pan during a conference in late July during spectacular weather in Vancouver. In general it was a very pleasant experience at a full-service business hotel with a convenient location, but there were a couple of issues that might make me look at some of the other great full-service hotels near the convention center.

And I cannot recommend Vancouver itself highly enough - a great location with mountains and sea, spectacular shopping and amenities, and great dining. Can't wait to go back.

We had a suite on a high floor with a great view, EXCELLENT bed with high end mattress and linens, and a separate living room with a wet bar. Bathroom, wet bar with mini bar and long counter, and furniture in living room all great - two flat screen TV's. Staff kept the room spotlessly clean, room service was prompt and included the entire menu from the cafe.

I loved the pool deck - a heated pool and super-hot (hooray!) whirlpool from which you could experience sunrise and sunset. Pool is long enough to do laps, and during our stay, it was very calm with few visitors and those visitors were quiet and contemplative. Perfect.

The hotel is connected to the convention center and two blocks from the excellent public transport (train) station. The Gastown district is an easy walk, but I found it much less inviting than other parts of Vancouver - lots of generic tourist type restaurants and lots of panhandler/homeless men, which made it a little menacing for a woman. However, I strongly recommend the PourHouse in the Gastown district - great cocktails and excellent regional food in a casual, friendly atmosphere. Also recommend Bishops Restaurant downtown and the Punjabi district for fun costume jewelery shopping.

The cons for this hotel:
-no decent lobby bar scene - both Fairmonts within spitting distance had much better lobby bar scenes, which is part of the conference experience. Fairmont Pacific Rim's bar was especially groovy.
-food was celestially expensive although typical for the convention hotels, and of high quality
-service is the cafe was glacial but friendly - they always seemed to be under staffed with wait staff and we had to be very assertive on numerous occasions to get someone to take our order. Once ordered, service was fine - but twice we waited a half hour to order.
-our safe failed a couple of times and we had to wait long periods of time for help, which was tough with a convention schedule. Staff admitted that the safe was a problem, and there were marks on the floor where it had been repaired before - so why is it still there? For the cost of this hotel, this is nonsense.
-wifi was CAN $16/day and dropped constantly. I have major issues with being nickled and dimed in high end hotels over internet - but I do expect it to work. We prepaid for five days, so I addressed it at checkout and expected it to be removed, since it was extremely disruptive and unreliable. I had to speak to the manager, who said that because the hotel had not had a chance to correct the error, we had to pay the full rate. I pointed out that the safe repair took three visits by staff and was disruptive and inconvenient, and that we checked our internet at 5 am and late in the evening and didn't want to miss convention events to sit on the phone with their tech support or have their staff in our room at such late or early hours (as if they would have had tech staff available at these times). After a tussle, she cut the bill in half, which irritated me. Had I complained earlier in the week (or lied and said I did), they would have removed the whole charge. Since we had no issues with wifi at the convention center or the airport, I think the issue was with the walls in the room. Overall, I thought the whole battle was unbecoming a high end business hotel in which the wifi is pure profit. But lesson learned - next time I'll complain earlier.

Overall, I liked the hotel and it provided most of the amenities I expected for the price and for a convention hotel. However, I would probably give the Fairmont Pacific Rim a try on the next visit - chic and gorgeous with a better lobby bar scene.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pan Pacific Vancouver, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
It was a pleasure to see this guest loved our city and enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in providing excellent services and guest satisfaction so I have advised our Food & Beverage Director to take note of the comments regarding the service in our Café.

We are aware of the current challenges with our Internet and are pleased to advise that we have just signed an agreement with a new High Speed Internet provider with the intent to eliminate the dropping of signals and/or the inability to connect. This new service should be up and running by year end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

The Pan Pacific was a great start to our Alaskan Cruise, bags were taken from the room right to the room on the ship. Breakfast was exceptional, views were great

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationmlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Front desk said they would call when room was ready; they did not. Booked a inner harbor view room and first got a view of the freight railroad tracks and buildings. The front desk claimed was not their fault because had we booked with Expedia we should have been told that "inner harbor would be mostly a city view". After several calls, a manager did finally move us. Internet in room did not work and serveral other rooms did not have internet too. Hotel offered use internet for free in the lobby or the 23rd floor lounge. Later, front desk retracked the use of 23rd floor for internet. The hotel restaurants did have great views, wonderful food and friendly service. Highly reccomend the Tea Room at Stanley Park, Trolley rides - guides excellent, the Vancouver Aquarium with Beluga whales and Amazon rainforest is a must see, and local shopping and music and lunch at the Sand Bar at Granville island made for a delightful day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gone1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We arrived at this hotel on Canada Day after a long flight from Dublin. There was a lot going on in the area. We went to check in with very long queues that seemed to take forever but when we eventually got to our rooms we were very pleased. Breakfast was excellent and location was excellent. We had a three night stay and then we were heading to Victoria for a night so the hotel kindly kept our luggage for us so we only had to bring an overnight bag to Victoria. On our last night stay after returning from Victoria the hotel once again kindly agreed to give us a continental breakfast to go as we were gettin an early train to Seattle. Staff very friendly and rooms very spacious would highly recommend this to anyone

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEW5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Stayed at Pan Pacific for one night before going on Alaskan cruise. Location was great to be able to walk to cruise terminal (without much luggage) or take a three block taxi ride. Hotel was also a nice location for taking a long walk along the waterfront and into Stanley Park. Gym was oversized for a hotel of this size with a great range of machines including free weights and what looked like an exercise class or yoga room.

Hotel lobby was spacious and inviting allowing either small or moderate sized groups to sit together without a crowd spilling into another table, Service was excellent in the lobby bar area for both appetizers and drinks.

Room was pleasant with excellent view of the harbor and cruise terminal. Kept watching for my ship to come in (still waiting???) Shower was terrific.

Would stay at pan Pacific again assuming a competitive rate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMfreqtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond Washington
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We booked this hotel knowing it provided breathtaking views - which turned out to be utterly fantastic! We did upgrade our room, staying on the 23rd floor. It was worth the extra cost since it included excellant breakfasts in the Pacific Club (also on the 23rd floor), complimentary drinks our first night, complimentary evening Hors d'ovevres both nights, and free Internet access. Our room had high quality linens and toiletres. The King bed was very comfortable. Throughout our stay, the sftaff was very friendly, professional and helpful. I enjoyed using the Fitness room one day and jogged along the waterfront another day. The location is superb!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloe55555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
3,289 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
3,019 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
3,819 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Vancouver

Property: Pan Pacific Vancouver
Address: 300-999 Canada Place Way | Suite 300, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pan Pacific Vancouver Hotel is luxuriously appointed with a wide selection of modern hotel amenities, with its waterfront restaurants and lounge providing an award-winning selection of West Coast Cuisine over Vancouver's magnificent Harbour, Coastal Mountains and Stanley Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pan Pacific Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Pan Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing