We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pan Pacific Vancouver
Ranked #18 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2009

This hotel is very big and I think that is its only fault. When the hotel is this big it takes time to get out of there and if you forget something in your room it takes time to get it. However this was a minor factor to me and we stayed here for 5 nights. We had a good twin room in 19th floor with a great view to sea and mountains. We could see hydroplanes depart and land every day and it was fun to look at. They were a bit noisy in the morning and would wake me up about eight. That would not bother me because I wanted to get out explore the city asap. The room was nice in size and style. And beds were best I ever slept in. The mattresses felt even better than our own at home and they were carefully picked. All the staff was friendly and helpful especially concierge Romeus. Location is good near Gastown, chinatown and shopping but if you are a big shopper you need a taxi sometimes to get back at hotel with all your bags. From Robson Street it would cost only 4-6 dollars. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a 4 star hotel: it is exactly that no less no more.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,955)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,434 - 3,440 of 3,955 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2009

After several trips to Vancouver, and always seeing the Pan Pacific, I finally decided to book a room there on my recent trip. It was a short one night stay as we were leaving on a cruise, and we only wish we had had the opportunity to spend much more time at this wonderful hotel. Our stay didn't start out so smoothly. We had an early morning flight, so we arrived to check-in at the hotel at 9am. They didn't have a room ready for us (which was fine and what we expected), so the lady at the front desk took our mobile number and said she'd call us when a room was ready. Once it got to be 4pm (check-in time) and we still hadn't heard anything, I went to the front desk to inquire. They seemed confused and claimed that we had already been provided a room key. When we said that we hadn't, more confusion ensued. At this point, Ash, one of the gentlemen at the front desk was trying to assist us. I assume the original room we had reserved was unavailable, because Ash offered us an upgrade to a corner suite. He did mention that it was a smoking room, but we could try it and let him know if it would work for us or not. When we opened the door to the room, we were amazed. It was a beautiful room, with windows on all sides and spectacular views of the harbor. The linens were high quality and the beds were amazingly comfortable. The room was spotless and obvious care had been takien in cleaning and maintaining the room. I have stayed at several 5-star hotels, and this room ranks among my top favorites.

The hotel itself is lovely as well. When we were there, they were just finishing up renovations and the whole place sparkled. Some of the staff was aloof, as previous reviews have mentioned. But we were impressed by the service we received from Ash at the front desk and Shelley at the concierge desk. The hotel is perfectly located in downtown Vancouver and right on the water. In fact, we were able to wake up in the morning and watch our cruise ship dock from our room. The hotel is located at Canada Place. And, admitedly, the hotel is a little awkward to navigate. Access from the outside deck areas to the rest of Canada Place is blocked, so it takes a bit of walking all the way down a couple of levels and back to the front of the hotel to access Canada Place. Also, finding the hotel's gym is a wild goose chase, as it is seperate from the hotel and actually in the parking lot for the cruise ship terminal. It is a great little facility, though, once you figure out how to access it. We ate buffet breakfast at the hotel's restaurant, both the morning we left for the cruise and the morning we returned, and really enjoyed both the service and the food - they have these fantastic serve-yourself smoothies in pitchers available - and all of the rest of the food was terrific.

We were really happy with our stay here. It is a high-end hotel that is not cheap, but well worth it. You can't find a better location in Vancouver. You will really as if you are in lap of luxury at this Pan Pacific property.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

I like the Pan Pacific. I’ve stayed there three or four times on business over the past five years and each visit was without incident. I always get a good night’s sleep on a great bed, the room service is (pricey but) satisfying and well-presented. Staff tend to be helpful. The location is “tourist perfect” and the views, even the standard city views, are captivating. With a Starbucks on the front entrance that opens at 5:30 a.m., Skytrain connections right close by, and all of downtown on your doorstep, it’s a great hotel and I recommend it. However, it bills itself as a luxury hotel and it comes up short in many ways. First, they still use keys. It feels like 1977, a step away from Fawlty Towers (and it’s also a nuisance to carry a key around when any other location would use a card that fits in your wallet). The bathrooms are functional but small. The restaurants, public spaces and banquet rooms, with their unrivalled harbour setting, are awesome, but the food is just OK. In some other places, OK food might pass. Not here. Vancouver has one of the most interesting, diverse and mouth-watering food scenes in North America. The Five Sails, ostensibly a high end restaurant, is just out of synch with its competition and not up to snuff for what it charges. At least the Four Seasons recognized this two years ago, renovated, and opened Yew, which is both an inviting space and a dinner destination. There’s absolutely no one living in Vancouver that would make the Pan Pacific their dinner spot of choice, unless of course they couldn’t get into West or Yew or CinCin or Vij’s or Market or Lumiere or, you get the picture. Also, with a Shang ri La up the street, a new Fairmont opening up adjacent shortly, to say nothing of the absolutely exceptional Fairmont Waterfront and Terminal City across the street, the Pan Pacific seems content to let things be rather than pick up their socks and get with the program. I would put the Pan Pacific in my top five, but it sure wouldn’t be number one.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Overseez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2009

We stayed here Oct 8-11/09 and thought the location of this hotel is what sets it apart from other hotels in downtown Vancouver.

LOCATION: Downtown Vancouver, over looking the harbour & Stanley Park. Easy access to the "Canada Line" and transit, Gastown, Stanley Park and Robson Street. There are beautiful walkways along the harbour with places to stop for coffee, lunch, a drink or simply to sit on a bench & enjoy the view. It's attached to the Convention Centre and cruise ship dock as well. About 25 minutes via taxi from the airport or you can take the Canada Line train. You enter the hotel on street level but take either the escalator or elevator up 2 floors to the check in area.

ROOM: We asked for one with a view of Stanley Park and the harbour-we weren't disappointed. The room itself was slightly dated with older carpeting and the shower/tub should be updated. The king size bed was very comfortable and had crisp, clean linens. There was a nice lounge chair that faced the large windows overlooking the harbour. Also handy to have an in room safe, umbrella, fully stocked mini bar with snacks and a 40 inch HD flat screen television with all the channels & movies you could want. Very good toiletries were provided and there is a handy make up mirror as well. Note that when you check in they offer you a "complimentary newspaper", which is the Globe & Mail. When you look at the holder for your room keys, it actually says if you decline the newspaper, the cost per day will be deducted from your bill. You also receive an actual key instead of card access. Therefore, anyone can access the room floors via the elevators and I did notice signs posted saying "no view" at the elevator area.

DINING: For breakfast we simply walked over to the food court (connected to the hotel underground) which has a vast array of dining options (including Tim Horton's for coffee). There is a restaurant open for breakfast in the hotel if you prefer or order room service. We chose to eat dinner away from the hotel as well, but there is a beautiful dining option at Sails. In the lounge we sat and enjoyed coffee & drinks while listening to the entertainment of piano and singing. It was fabulous, with large windows overlooking the habour lit up at night.

FITNESS/SPA: We finally located the fitness centre, which is in the parkade. The equipment was newer and the facility wasn't busy when we checked it out (your room key is required to enter). The spa was fantastic and very busy. They offer every service imaginable-we had a couples massage & were given 10% off with our stay. We also enjoyed the outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. There is an area with fresh towels to use and tables & chairs around the pool....again, great views.

SERVICE/SHOPS: Checking in and out was a breeze. We found the front desk staff helpful in providing maps and ideas of where to eat outside of the hotel. Our room was cleaned to our satisfaction. Service in the lounge was attentive and prompt. There are several shops for gifts and necessities as well.

Overall we were very pleased with the Pan Pacific Hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlbertaChristiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Good & helpful welcomes from this 500+ room hotel next to convention centre.

Good location as wonderful views if high enough, but a little out of downtown for walking/shopping.

Room excellent. Buffet breakfast included in rate excellent. Nice lunch in lounge overlooking harbour, but not cheap!

National car rental in foyer/garage!

Against:
NO free Wi-FI (remarkable for a business hotel!
Parking very expensive $30+ overnight

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Nothing to be impressed with here except the view, which is excellent.
Would not return unless I was on a business trip and didn't care about luxury or I wanted to be close to the dockwhere the cruise ships board..
Indifferent concierges, mediocre food, so-so bedding, small/chopped up rooms even in the suites.
Yes it is clean, that's about the best thing for this sprawling corporate hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CinderellaDearest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

i stayed in the hotel for 3 days and it was a great experience in 2006.The view is terrific from the room window.i am again planning to go to vancouver in the comming summers and would like to stay at the same place.food is also great.....Must visit the hotel on saturday nights and sunday afternoon for dinner and lunch...!

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amit_taniqsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,511 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#5 of 92 in Vancouver
3,212 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,039 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
Hyatt Regency Vancouver
#27 of 92 in Vancouver
3,846 reviews
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Vancouver

Address: 300-999 Canada Place Way | Suite 300, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $197 - $787 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pan Pacific Vancouver Hotel is luxuriously appointed with a wide selection of modern hotel amenities, with its waterfront restaurants and lounge providing an award-winning selection of West Coast Cuisine over Vancouver's magnificent Harbour, Coastal Mountains and Stanley Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pan Pacific Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Pan Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing