We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Service could improve slightly for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pan Pacific Vancouver
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado Springs CO USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location - Service could improve slightly for the price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

Just spent three nights at the Pan Pacific in a superior room. Bed was very comfortable and the view was fantastic. I only ate the buffet in the morning and appetizers at the bar, but the food was very good (and expensive).
The only downfall was the quality of some of the help and the locked accesses for the view. When I asked the concierge to help me find a restauraunt for my anniversary, he pointed me to a reasonably bad bar with mediocre food and he obviously didnt know much about the restaurant. Similarly, he seemed eager to point me towards a very expensive suspension bridge that I am sure was lovely, but I cant believe it was worth 64 dollars for the two of us to walk across. When I asked the girl manning the door about where to get a bus she pointed to the east and said somewhere over there. She also incorrectly told us we could get a water taxi to granville island from the harbor, luckily the concierge at the westin knew how to get there.

Overall, we had a fantastic time in vancouver. but these few unknowledgable folks turned our expereince into a little more forgettable one.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitzgerald13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,148
    957
    243
    76
    35
See reviews for
738
1,399
113
775
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,069)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Probably the best location in Vancouver. Easy walking distance to Gastown; the Float Planes; Stanley Park and Downtown.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millie211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central OH
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

We had a couple of nights to spend in Vancouver before leaving on an Alaskan cruise, and the Pan Pacific couldn't have been more convenient. We were able to take the Airporter shuttle from the airport to the hotel, then the bellman took our bags right from our room to the cruise ship for us. No need to wait for cabs.

We got to the hotel several hours before normal check-in, and were given the option to leave our bags at the desk or upgrade for an extra $30 a night to immediate access to a room with a better view. We chose the upgrade and were glad we did. We had a view of the cruise ship terminal and harbor in one direction and the downtown city view in the other direction. The room was beautiful and spotless.

Everyone we dealt with on the staff was great - courteous, professional, and helpful.

We didn't try the restaurant since it looked a little pricey for our budget and the hotel was a bit of a splurge for us. There was plenty close by for the cost conscious though. The hotel connects through an underground tunnel to the food court across the street that had a good variety (Pita Express is a thumbs up for breakfast and lunch). It's only a short walk to Gastown or Coal Harbour and all the restaurants in those areas.

We were also able to walk to Stanley Park. The hotel looked to be convenient to other forms of public transportation, but we didn't have time to check them out.

The only downside we found to the hotel was that there wasn't free wi-fi. They charged to connect, so we didn't try it out.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveling_Smiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

Our group of 6 stayed here in July 2009 the night before we sailed on a cruise. The location is great for those cruising out of Canada Place terminal. Our crusie was from Ballentyne terminal, which was only a short cab ride away. Lots to do within walking distance, and all major tour companies stop right outside.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the bellman and treated wonderfully. The hotel was beautiful, although there is currently some construction in the lobby area, this didn't affect our stay. Our rate booked on travelocity came with contential breakfast which we didn't use. Rooms were beautiful and the views were great, and we didn't even have a harbor view room. The beds were probably the best I have ever slept on anywhere.

The real part that impressed us is when we returned from our cruise the following Saturday, we had nothing to do with our luggage (6 bags, and five carry on bags) due to a miscommunication wtih the cruise line. The Pan Pacific allowed us to store our luggage there for the entire day since our flight was late the same night, locking it securely in their view. This to me is above and beyond. At that point, we were no longer guests and they still insisted that we go enjoy Vancouver and pick up our luggage when ever we were ready for it. The concierge also arranged for our transportation back to the airport.

This was our first stay at Pan Pacific, but I am sure it will not be our last. This hotel really allowed us to relax and enjoy our vacation. Truly an exceptional hotel with outstanding service.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rzrbkfn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

Received a complimentary upgrade to a room with a harbour/mountain view. After spending 14 hours on a plane and the day touring Vancouver, we were in need to a comfortable nights sleep. The beds were like sleeping on a cloud and the room was large and well appointed. Breakfast was costly, but there was a great variety to choose from. The hotel is above the Alaska cruise terminal and getting to the ship was as simple as going down in the hotel's elevator. Great place to stay if you are going on a cruise from Canada Place.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelaholic37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

Booked a package of 3-night stay in two city view rooms with two queen beds each and a rental car for an astonishingly low price that I dare not disclose the remarkable value.

Traveling with extended family and with a rental car, we were open to staying near the Vancouver Int'l Airport in Richmond, BC. Doggedly looked for deals at all the usual travel sites, and one day the homework paid off because Expedia had a one-day special offer sale...

The package (2 hotel rooms+Hertz rental car) price we paid was $200-$300 USD LESS than staying at Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn Express, River Rock Casino in Richmond,, The Sutton Place, Westin, Fairmont, etc....basically less than any other type of hotel, including budget to luxury chains.

Granted, they were "city-view" rooms, which they disclosed in the deal, and supposedly more than 80% of the Pan Pacific Vancouver's rooms have harbour views. We overhead some cruisers ask if they could upgrade to a room with a view...the friendly hotel clerk said if they didn't mind a smoking room, she'd upgrade them to a harbour view room for free. So, there's a tip.

This hotel and the Fairmont Waterfront right across the street are very popular amongst cruisers staying overnight. The parking garage fee, as expected in a major city, was $30CAD a day. Even so, our package was such a bargain that we were fine with the parking fees for a three night stay. After all, we traveled around the national Canada Day holiday period (and during America's July 4th weekend).

The skytrain stop is accessible if you go to the ground floor (two escalators down from the check-in lobby floor) that can take you to the street exit, but continue down to the Canada Place/Waterfront food court. Signs show you the skytrain. Due to 2010 Olympics, they will expand Skytrain to the airport. That will be great, but if traveling with elderly relatives, a rental car is still the best way to take it easy on vacation.

Tourist center is across the street.

Pros: Pretty, clean, very well located. Great choice if you have a special deal.

Cons: high parking fee if you really need to rent a car; you can hear neighboring rooms' showers and the doors are thin...you can hear guests talking at a normal decibel very clearly right outside your door; if your room's near the lifts/elevators, you will also hear the elevators go "ding ding" whenever they arrive at your floor. Turn on the TV loud to mask such noises.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikinghiking123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

We arrived around 2 pm to find that our room was ready. We asked where the closest place to rent bikes was and it was a 5 minute walk on the other side of the convention center. Only $6 an hour! They provide a map. We rode to Stanley Park and then around the Seawall. Well worth it on a beautiful day. You can watch the seaplanes take off too. There is a restaurant on your left as you're riding called "The Mill" Great food and service. The weather was so nice that we skipped the IMAX which is located right near the hotel at Canada Place. Pacific Center Mall is a short walk, as is Gastown. The staff were always attentive and friendly. There were many guests who were leaving for the Alaskan Cruise. Two ships were docked and we want to definitely stay in this hotel and take the Alaskan cruise next summer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melannjaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#2 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Regis Hotel
St. Regis Hotel
#9 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,324 reviews
Robson Street
Hotel BLU
Hotel BLU
#12 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,422 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Vancouver

Property: Pan Pacific Vancouver
Address: 300-999 Canada Place Way | Suite 300, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#14 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pan Pacific Vancouver Hotel is luxuriously appointed with a wide selection of modern hotel amenities, with its waterfront restaurants and lounge providing an award-winning selection of West Coast Cuisine over Vancouver's magnificent Harbour, Coastal Mountains and Stanley Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pan Pacific Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Pan Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing