We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost 5-star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pan Pacific Vancouver
Ranked #19 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We (two adults, five kids) stated in a 3-bedroom Residence Suite for 4 nights (July 2011). The suite has an odd layout - one large living room with full ktichen and dining area led to a good sized bedroom, which led to the seoncd bedroom, then the third. 3 1/2 baths total.

Good points: excellent location (right on the waterfront in the cruise ship terminal), very good rooms, very good staff, room service excellent, kids loved the pool.

Needs some work: housekeeping staff was way too eager to make up the room, which made us feel rushed out the door, some nights we had turndown service, some nights not, soundproofing could be better, internet service was unreliable,

All in all, a wonderful hotel, just not quite up to the standards of the Farirmont Pan Pacific just down the street.

Room Tip: The swimming pool is on the 8th floor, which is good if you want to be close, but bad if you want qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B_and_N_and_5_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,977)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,318 - 3,324 of 3,977 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2011

I recently stayed here while attending a conference taking place at the Vancouver Convention Center, and I was very pleased with the location of this hotel. It is in the same building as the East Wing meeting rooms, and just across the square from the West Wing meeting rooms (the larger section of the convention center). There is also an underground walkway between both wings and the hotel, should the weather be uncooperative to walking outside. (The only hotel that is marginally closer to the west wing of the convention center is the Fairmont Pacific Rim, which is across the street).

I also enjoyed the hotel itself - my room was a king Harbor view room, and it was spacious and comfortable. In addition to a comfy bed and large work desk, I had a side chair and chaise lounge, next to floor to ceiling windows with a terrific view of the harbor. I did find that the desk chair was uncomfortable, as it was too low for me and wasn't adjustable. I had to stack a few pillows on the seat to be at the right height.

The bathroom was large, comfortable and very clean. Marble floors and wide counter space around the sink, plus a separate room with door for the toilet. I appreciated the Aveda bath products which were very nice.

The in-room coffee service was good (tasty coffee), and includes fresh milk and cream at no charge in your mini-bar. What a great touch, for a "real" coffee drinker! There's also a starbucks right next to the lobby of the hotel, in case you need a more complex coffee fix. I ordered room service breakfast 3 times during my stay, and it was punctual and tasty, if a bit overpriced, but it's room service...don't we expect a huge service charge by now?

Finally, I found the service overall at the hotel to be excellent. Very friendly staff all around, including helpful concierges that made a good recommendation for a nearby sushi restaurant that was terrific. (Too bad another concierge's recommendation for a casual "Mediterranean" wasn't as good.) The staff in the lobby bar was super friendly and treated us very well over the course of a week while we had numerous business meetings there.

Overall, I recommend the hotel both for business and leisure travel. It's great if you're working at the convention center, as well as if you are departing on a cruise as it is located directly on top of the cruise departures dock, as other reviewers have mentioned. Also excellent and easy access to the SkyTrain (local metro) - Waterfront station is only 1 block away.

Room Tip: A harbor-view room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crewfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments and for recommending the Pan Pacific Vancouver to fellow business or leisure travelers. It is a pleasure to hear you found our accommodation comfortable and our proximity to both the East and West Convention Centres convenient. I have passed your kind words on to our Concierge staff and other associates who will be pleased to know their efforts did not go unnoticed. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back to Vancouver and the Pan Pacific Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

It's difficult to say much bad about this hotel. Admittedly, I got a great deal with Expedia's Unpublished Rate program - $152/night instead of the published $320-400/night. Parking is a bit expensive but that's Vancouver. Great location and views. Great breakfast in the restaurant on the lobby level. Clean, comfortable rooms and beds. Beautiful open air pool on the 8th floor, maybe a little small. Internet is not free however you have the option of renting as little as an hour or by the day or week.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sir67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2011

It was a pleasure to read your comments regarding your recent stay at the Pan Pacific Vancouver and that you found your accommodation comfortable and our location convenient. It was also a pleasure to see that you were able to enjoy breakfast in our Cafe Pacifica as well as experience our outdoor, saltwater swimming pool. We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Pan Pacific Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

I was here for a conference and ended up staying an extra day because of a blizzard on the East coast....and I was happy about it. My room was spacious and with a beautiful view of the harbor and mountains. I had a roomate and there was plenty of room for both of us. The hotel is in an excellent location and not far from Metro stations or popular restaurants. The bar in the lobby tends to close up early but there are many local choices. Breakfast in the hotel is very good...there is a buffet and an al a carte menu. If you want to save money, you can go downstairs and there is a food court with lots of options including a Tim Horton's and McDonald's. There is a gourmet restaurant in the hotel as well ? 5 Sails...we couldn't get in because it was restaurant week but those who did raved about it.. Make sure to join the honors program for Pan Pacific chain to get free wi fi.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pharmacyfrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2011

Thank you for taking time to write about your January visit to the Pan Pacific Vancouver. We are happy to see that you efound our location convenient and that you were able to enjoy the view from your accommodation. Dine out is a very popular event that takes place every January. It is unfortunate that, due to its popularity, you were unable to dine at the Five Sails. Should we have the pleasure to welcome you back to Vancouver and the Pan Pacific Vancouver, we hope you will have an opportunity to experience the Five Sails and enjoy it's wonderful ambiance and excellent cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This hotel was in a great location as we had just arrived in port from a week long cruise from LA. We just walked through the hall to the adjoining hotel and were met by a super friendly young hotel bellman. He took our luggage and kept it for us until checkin, as we arrived very early in the morning. We met family who took us an toured the area which we found to be very beautiful and clean. When we arrive back at the hotel we were quickly checked in and found that they had upgraded us to a harbour view rooms. They were clean, big and roomy and our bellhop was still there and gave us great directions to go out and walk around to see more of the downtown area. We felt safe as we walked around the area and went for dinner in one of the great restaurants. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Be nice to those who look after you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikingcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2011

It was a pleasure to read your comments and to see that you enjoy the Pan Pacific Vancouver and our beautiful city. We are very proud of our associates and will pass on your kind words to our bell team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Vancouver and the Pan Pacific.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We arrived very late at night due to a flight delay, the hotel was easy to find from the airport via cab about $25.00 The lobby and registration was beautiful. The young man at the desk was friendly, helpful. Very easy to register, our luggage was brought up within minutes, also very pleasant.

The hotel is attached to the convention center, hub of almost everything, the bus tours are out the front door. Easy to walk around, the views and ease of the area was safe, with plenty to see, eat and enjoy. We would return to pan pacific for our next trip to Vancouver.

Room Tip: i believe we booked online via hotels.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunshinegirl0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 30, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Pan Pacific Vancouver. We are very pleased to read that your stay was enjoyable. We are very proud of the high calibre of our associates and have passed on your kind words to them. Our central downtown location at Canada Place is very popular with pre and post cruise visitors, particularly as the Cruise Ship Terminal is also on site.

Thank you again, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Pan Pacific Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This is a wonderful location to stay at while in Vancouver, whether you're attending a conference or just wanting to explore.

Both the building inside and rooms are elegant and comfortable. While it can be a bit of maze when you first come in, but the elevator will take you to the lobby quickly. Walking outside, you're on Vancouver's beautiful and historic waterfront.

As a location, it would be hard to find better. If you're there for a convention, you're essentially inside Canada Place and next door to the newer convention centre. It's also a short walk to Stanley Park or Robson Street. As a bonus, it's only steps away to both Starbucks and the skytrain link that will zip you to the airport faster than any cab.

My only minor complaints were a few coughs and conversations from the next room that carried surprisingly well through the adjoining door. The bathroom floor is also shockingly icy cold and it'll jolt you awake if you're not prepared. Otherwise, the rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable.

To sum it up, while this hotel isn't cheap, by Vancouver standards you'd really be hard pressed to find better for this price.

Room Tip: Get a room facing waterfront rather than downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlennon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Trip Advisor review on your recent stay with us. We were pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our convenient location and amenities. We have noted your comment regarding the conversations from the room next door; hopefully, this did not detract from the enjoyment of your stay.

We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Vancouver

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,528 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
3,241 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Downtown
Coast Coal Harbour Hotel by APA
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pan Pacific Vancouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pan Pacific Vancouver

Address: 300-999 Canada Place Way | Suite 300, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 3B5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#11 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#13 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#19 Business Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $211 - $859 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pan Pacific Vancouver 4.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pan Pacific Vancouver Hotel is luxuriously appointed with a wide selection of modern hotel amenities, with its waterfront restaurants and lounge providing an award-winning selection of West Coast Cuisine over Vancouver's magnificent Harbour, Coastal Mountains and Stanley Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pan Pacific Vancouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pan Pacific Vancouver Hotel Vancouver
Vancouver Pan Pacific

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing