We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grear 2 days”

The Rocky Mountaineer
Ranked #38 of 187 Tours in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Experience the Rockies by rail! Rocky Mountaineer offers five luxury rail routes to discover the beautiful Pacific Northwest!
Reviewed July 8, 2017

We went on as part of our tour and we were not disappointed . Everything from getting on to getting off both days ran smoothly. All of the staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Meals are really good, prepared onboard , plenty of drinks and snacks. Comentary at interesting spots and the train slows for photo opportunities . Loads of room to move about, comfy seats. Really enjoyed it.

Thank marg529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACRockyMountaineer, Guest Experience Centre at The Rocky Mountaineer, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Hello marg529,

Thank you very much for this five-star review, we are happy that you enjoyed your experience as much as we enjoyed having you onboard! Your comments of seamless organization, informative service and gourmet cuisine are greatly appreciated. I hope that you keep lasting memories, photographs, and stories from your time onboard the Rocky Mountaineer.

Kind regards,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gold leaf"
in 1,201 reviews
"lake louise"
in 474 reviews
"train trip"
in 329 reviews
"breakfast and lunch"
in 247 reviews
"dining car"
in 225 reviews
"canadian rockies"
in 293 reviews
"day trip"
in 467 reviews
"gold service"
in 121 reviews
"dome car"
in 106 reviews
"goldleaf service"
in 93 reviews
"freight train"
in 84 reviews
"overnight stop in kamloops"
in 83 reviews
"red carpet"
in 80 reviews
"silver class"
in 78 reviews
"train manager"
in 73 reviews
"bucket list"
in 277 reviews
"treated like royalty"
in 75 reviews
Filter

1,334 - 1,338 of 5,679 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2017

This was a bucket list trip many years in discussion to celebrate my Mum's 70th birthday. We took the Vancouver to Jasper via Kamloops route. We were booked in silver leaf but I secretly upgraded us to gold leaf. I did wonder what we were getting for the extra money but looking back it was definitely worth it. The views are better as you are higher with a glass roof (great for watching eagles fly over) and the dining service was second to none. My mum has coeliac and has never been so well catered for. Where necessary there were substitutes but the main breakfast and lunch menu had enough gluten free options that she didn't need anything different.
The views are beautiful but for me it was the overall experience and the staff that made it extra special. Adam and Jen were fabulous hosts, looking after our needs and entertaining us with stories and information.
Every detail has been thought of, when we arrived in Kamloops we were already checked in and our bags were in our room. We were delayed on our 2nd day because there are times you have to wait for other trains to pass so we sat for about 90 mins but we were kept updated and they fed us an extra meal in the evening as we were arriving about 9pm. Be prepared for this as there's nothing anyone can do, just embrace it, after all there are worst places to sit and enjoy delicious food!
A true once in a lifetime experience, although to be honest I'm hoping to do another route in the future, maybe for my 70th!! (Hopefully sooner)

1  Thank LoveTravelMustTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACRockyMountaineer, Guest Experience Centre at The Rocky Mountaineer, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Hello LoveTravelMustTravel,

We are thrilled that you and your mum were able to join us in celebration of her 70th birthday. It was our pleasure having you onboard and your kind comments of attentive, friendly service will be passed along to Adam, Jen and the onboard chefs. We hope that you and your mum keep lasting memories and look forward to the day we can further explore the Canadian Rockies with you.

Kind regards,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile

We went on a rockymountainer holiday and it was amazing two days on the train starting at Vancouver and 3 days on the bus finishing in Calgary
The food and services were amazing and the scenery was just awesome

1  Thank 843Sammy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACRockyMountaineer, Guest Experience Centre at The Rocky Mountaineer, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Hello 843Sammy70,

Thank you very much for this five-star review of your Rocky Mountaineer experience. I am pleased to read that all of your expectations were met and exceeded onboard. It is our pleasure travelling through the beautiful Canadian Rockies and I hope you keep lasting memories of the dramatic canyons, snowy mountain peaks and ferocious rivers.

Kind regards,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2017

Food, staff, hotels were excellent. It was a 50th anniversary present. It was overall an outstanding experience. We booked through the Rocky Mountaineer staff and can not say enough about the wonderful service provided by Kleia Magtibay. She answered our many questions with knowledge and care. Talking us through the combinations, we could not have made better choices. Five great hotels, 2 totally pampered train days, gondola ride, helicopter ride, tour of Banff and area, Vancouver Lookout and Calgary tower were exceptional. We would recommend it to anyone

1  Thank acrew00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACRockyMountaineer, Guest Experience Centre at The Rocky Mountaineer, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2017

Hello acrew00d,

Thank you very much for this review and recommendation. It was our pleasure having you join us for your 50th wedding anniversary - congratulations! Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and will be passed along to Kleia. I hope that you keep lasting memories and photographs of your time exploring the Canadian Rockies, Banff, Calgary and Vancouver.

Kind regards,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2017

Travelled Golf Leaf. Nice train and seats.75% of trip you see trees.Overpriced and overrated. Views of mountains and rivers in some places were excellent.The 5 hour train trip from Mt.Mckindly to Vancouver was better.

5  Thank gordonaustralia2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACRockyMountaineer, Guest Experience Centre at The Rocky Mountaineer, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017

Hello gordonaustralia2017,

Thank you for this review of your GoldLeaf Service experience. I am disappointed to read that all elements did not live up to your expectations. However, I am pleased that you enjoyed the train comfort and hope that you are able to keep lasting memories and beautiful photographs of the Canadian Rockies.

Kind regards,
Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rocky Mountaineer also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Rocky Mountaineer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing