We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!!”

The Rocky Mountaineer Train
Ranked #6 of 163 Tours in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience the Rockies by rail! Rocky Mountaineer offers five luxury rail routes to discover the beautiful Pacific Northwest!
PARKES, NSW. AUSTRALIA
1 review
“Heaven!!”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We just loved the Rocky Mountaineer, travelled from Vancouver to Lake Louise - 2 day trip, which went way too fast. Fantastic service; staff; food and the scenery is to die for. Put this on your Bucket List!! An awesome, unforgettable experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank 641LydiaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,230
    477
    245
    147
    152
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very very spoilt”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We travelled from Banff to Vancouver on the Gold Leaf section of the train, it was an experience of a lifetime and not to be missed. From the time we stepped on board we were greeted by the friendliest staff, food was fantastic and sitting back after dinner with a nice drink we savored the journey through the mountains. What a trip, oh the mountains, the scenery was breath taking. Wouldn't miss it for the world.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Luxury on the Rails”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We took the two and a half day trip from Jasper to Vancouver, a bit of a novelty for us as we don't travel by train very often in the USA. This is a first class, once in a lifetime experience! We had the Gold Leaf service. These cars have two levels. Your seat is on the second level in a dome car with great views, and the first level is the dining section. Note that there is an elevator for people with disabilities, although no one used it on our trip. The service itself was first class all the way, from the hot towels they gave you in the morning, to the excellent meals (breakfast and lunch), to the constant attention from the lovely staff all day long, including additional snacks. The lunch was a full, gourmet meal. Robin, Sasha, Roma, and Andrea couldn't have been nicer or more efficient.

There is some magnificent mountain and lake scenery, and also some less spectacular but still interesting scenery through forests and farmland. We were in the last car, which turned out to be great for photographers like me because there is a fairly large observation platform at the back of the car. This was where all the more serious photographers congregated in order to take photos without having to shoot through the windows.

The first two days are quite long and begin early. We had to have our luggage ready in our room the first morning at 5:30 am, and meet in the lobby at 6:00. The next time we saw our bags, they were waiting for us in our room at the hotel in Quesnel. We left them in ithe room and, like magic, they were waiting for us in our next room in Whistler, and the same thing when we arrived in Vancouver. Not having to handle or worry about our bags was a real treat!

The third day, we left Whistler at 3:00 pm, so we had a chance to explore the town and the area a bit. The ride from there down to Vancouver was beautiful, although this wasn't the Gold Leaf service level. It was an ordinary train car, with a snack at our seats. OK, but a bit of a comedown after the previous two days.

We had a little glitch the first morning, with the crew arriving an hour late. The reason was never clearly explained to us, but I think it was probably related to a labor dispute that is going on currently. It was only a minor inconvenience, however.

The train ride was fun, breathtaking in parts and completely relaxing. We met some lovely peopld on the train. A nice change of pace from flying or driving.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JGSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Spoilt honeymoon”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our lovely wedding guests helped us to pay over £2500 for 2days GoldLeaf on The Rocky Mountaineer. The railways strike finished on Thurs and our trip was from Sunday but the first day on the train was cancelled and in its place we had a paper-bag breakfast, day-long coach trip, toilet and drinks queues in Tim Hortons, self- service buffet lunch, long wait for road accident and 2couriers who definitely chatted to travellers who obviously had money so they'd get good tips. We were offered a complimentary 2-day trip next year (which was beyond our reach with the consequent transatlantic flights) so we had to take the meagre compensation of £377! I regard this as daylight robbery and wrote to one of the well paid executives who didn't even bother to reply! Canada'sVIA rail trains have viewing domes and excellent meals with happy service at less than half the cost so my advice is to leave The Rocky Mountaineer in its wealthy pit!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank Rowena2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“did this with family some time back”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Love trains, very relaxing and beautiful scenery, the meal as I remember was also very good. I would do this again if family comes to visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank ritad43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rocky Mountaineer Train also viewed

 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to The Rocky Mountaineer Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing