We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Thai Food.”
Review of Thai Basil

Thai Basil
Ranked #505 of 3,803 Restaurants in Vancouver
Price range: $7 - $14
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Davie Village
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Davie Village
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I work & live nearby Thai Basil & would estimate that I eat here about 4-5 times a week. The food is very good at a very reasonable price. The menu is a bit sparce, but what they do have is very good. The restaurant is a bit of a whole in the wall...better for lunch/take out, not so much for a sit down dinner or romantic date.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evancity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    37
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing first visit”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

After having a lot of excellent Thai food at places such as Mango Thai on Davie / Bute and perhaps the best Thai in Vancouver at Khunnai Chang (Madame Elephant) at Denman / Haro, I have been on a journey to learn to cook authentic Thai food. I heard good things about Thai Basil from a friend and was excited to try it out, but I was quite let down.

To be fair, I've tried two new items that I've never tried before, fish cakes & pad kee mao (drunken noodles). I won't comment much on the fish cakes as I'm not certain how they are supposed to taste or the right consistency, but they were light and quite spongey with a distinct flavour of kaffir lime leaves.

The pad kee mao was a big let-down. From reading Thai recipes before I went, I was expecting a delicious noodle dish with a stand-out mix of ingredients such as wide rice noodles, Thai chilis, orange chilis, fresh peppercorns, oyster sauce, fish sauce, soy sauce, baby corn and holy basil. What I was served was a big plate of somewhat greasy noodles mixed with crisp / tender green, red and yellow bell peppers and partially cooked tomato chunks in a disappointing sauce that had strong hints of Worcestershire sauce. There were none of the signature flavours you would expect from Thai basil, fish sauce or oyster sauce.

2 small fish cakes, 1 order of pad kee mao and 2 Diet Cokes cost $17.98. Based on the price and the disappointing flavours I will not go back to this restaurant. Considering the excellent Thai cuisine available within a 5 to 10 minute walk from this restaurant (Thida Thai & Mango Thai come to mind), I would not recommend this restaurant to the aficionado of authentic Thai cuisine.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank zaitrancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Pasta”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This place we just wondered upon while looking for dinner and they had fresh pasta with any of the items you wanted cooked up fresh from their menu. Just about every dish was $7.95. Small restaurant that didn't look like much but excellent food!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scorpio98665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDMONTON
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Okay”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

The food was okay. The place was a bit sketchy and dirty.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Runnerchic71_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Great little local restaurant on Davie Street. Only 4 tables which are always full but we enjoyed take out to our hotel one block away. The Thai menu and food were great.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JayDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Basil also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Thai Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing