We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Les Faux Bourgeois

Les Faux Bourgeois
Ranked #128 of 3,728 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
278 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We wanted to have a really good meal but we didn't want to dress up and drive to a downtown Vancouver restaurant. That's when we remembered Les Faux Bourgeois. We managed to get an 8:30 p.m. reservation for the side room, which was perfect. We've been here before several times, with our kids, with friends and just ourselves - but not for at least a couple of years. It delivers what it promises: good, hearty, tasty French bistro food and this certainly has not changed. This night the place was very busy, and we waited with four others (a family I think) for our tables to be ready. The place was flying, every table full, waiters dancing past us with platters of delicious food. The atmosphere is perfect - if what you want is a busy, snug, tiny eatery where everyone is having a great time. Once we were seated, we settled in to an absolutely delicious meal. Our waiter was not interested in being our new best friend but provided pleasant and efficient service with a smile. Our food was wonderful. Perfectly cooked beef. A veal chop that was delicate and hearty at the same time. The creme brulee was perfect. Nice wine list, nothing pretentious. I am so gald we returned. We will not wait so long for the next visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    81
    18
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

After only 2 visits this is becoming one of my favourite restaurants in Vancouver. Our first visit we sat at the bar as we had not made reservations. The bartender was awesome. He was very attentive and friendly. The second time we ate there we made reservations a few weeks ahead. There's really little to no point of showing up on a Friday or Saturday night without reservations in a group. That aside. The food. Its fairly simple french food. But executed perfectly. The steak frites i had were perfect. My steak was medium rare like i had asked. The frites were hot and crispy. Like i said simple. The second time i ate there i had the Coq Au Vin. Mouth orgasm! Chicken was cooked perfect and red wine sauce was rich and delicious. I can't wait to go back to try the milk fed veal chop!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RJRT81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Locally sourced gourmet food; come casual if you wish”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Fresh and lovingly prepared food from local sources, in an intimate cozy atmosphere. Fraser Valley Duck and Bison, ocean fresh fish and tocean delicacies prepared in decadent style. Reservations are recommended, but sometimes you will get lucky and can get in the same day. ( 604.873.9733 - open @ 5:30 p.m. www.lesfauxbourgeois.com) Winner of best French and Best Bistro - 2011. The location is out of the downtown hotel area, so parking is easy and it is worth the 3 mile ($20.00?) cab ride from downtown to eat here. The neighbourhood is unassuming but don't be fooled by the low key exterior. You will be tempted to linger over dessert, but with a constantly full house, you might be asked to give up your table for further diners. The servers are kind about letting you sit as long as they can and keeping an eye open for space for you to sit and linger over coffee and dessert in the lounge and cafe. Once you have eaten here you will want to book a reservation for your next visit right away. The wine list is well chosen and delightful. A favourite with locals, but don't miss the chance to join them when you visit Vancouver. Prices are not outrageous, and you will likely get better value for your dollar than dining downtown.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NMH500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely French Bistro”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is a lovely traditional bistro in an unlikely location. Escargot, Duck Confit, moules frites, steak frites. All very good. Unfortunately, by the time we arrived (at a relatively early 7:30), all except one special was off the menu and almost all the wine choices other than two. That was disappointing but the place is lovely and the food good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank missrisible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ongar
Level Contributor
98 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A taste of France in Vancouver”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is the second time we have dined here, the first in May, 2011 the second this year Nov, 2012. Both times you could have imagined you were dining in an upmarket restaurant in deepest France. I should add that my wife and I were on vacation in Vancouver as my son lives there and has done for 16 years. What can I say, everything was perfect. I had the moules marinieres and frites - perfect. Everything was perfect. The cost is not cheap but then you pay for what you get. Vancouver is a very casual city and it is nice to occasionally dine upmarket.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jumpingjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Faux Bourgeois also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Les Faux Bourgeois? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing