We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A nice surprise in Gastown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pourhouse Restaurant

Pourhouse Restaurant
Ranked #117 of 3,637 Restaurants in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Gastown
Transit: Waterfront Skytrain Station is a block up the street. A nice and easy walk down Water Street to Pourhouse.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A nice surprise in Gastown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Popped in here for a drink on the last day of our holiday in Vancouver. The venue is very cool and very tastefully decorated. You should stop by and have a drink. Didn't eat there but I am sure if the drinks were anything to by then I am sure the food will be good too.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MGCMGF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    75
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stellar food and drinks in a comfortable atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

We took part in a Craft Beer N Bites tour through Vancouver Food Tours and this was one of our stops. What a great place! The staff is so friendly and knowledgeable and the atmosphere is delightful. Wish we lived closer, I would frequent it all the time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jes1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It's 1930 here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great bar with Prohibition type drinks like sidecars and rye manhattans. Martini's are great and nice bar snacks. Bartenders friendly. We went before dinner and avoided the crowds

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
471 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
“A spectacle - fantastic ambiance, staff, cocktails & dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is one of my highlights for Vancouver having visited several times over the past 18 months. A fine wine list as well as an extensive selection of well-executed original cocktails their food menu is a little underwhelming by comparison. However, what they do, they do very well.
Seated at the bar, on a particularly busy Saturday night, our hostess immediately seated us although we had arrived 15 minutes late for our reservation. We had been told they were full when we telephoned 30 mins earlier but were told they could help us if we got there quickly. Top marks for flexibility and understanding; we were only in town (from France and Ireland) for the weekend.
I had a Mushroom tart ($19) followed by a Beet & Endive Salad ($14) while my colleague had a Chickpea Croquette ($19) and a portion of steamed mussels ($16), sharing a frites ($5); all excellent, well presented delicious and well proportioned. We also enjoyed a fantastic Okanagan Pinot Noir ($63).
Service was swift, friendly - and a spectacle. Seated at the bar our mixologist saw our interest in what he was up to and what he was preparing and continually gave us samples of what was left over from his creations. A fantastic atmosphere; terrific buzz, great soundtrack and a constant flow of folks of all ages and from all walks of life. Classy without exclusivity.
Total was $166 inc. tip.
Truly a great meal, great service and product I highly recommend the Pour House.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FreshEire A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Food and Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

One of our party of 4 had dined at The Pourhouse before and recommended it. Our server was excellent and helped to relocate us to a more comfortable booth when we asked. Killer selection of creative cocktails, mostly off-menu, so make sure to ask for those not listed. The menu was varied and provided good choices for each of us, including one vegetarian. It's mostly comfort food, which fits right in with the dark and homey decor. The only drawback is there's no patio, so perhaps a better fall and winter choice overall. We dined on a week night and the place was busy, good to see. Prices were average and everyone enjoyed their experience. We would certainly return again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gaylecooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pourhouse Restaurant also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Been to Pourhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing