We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware light sleepers and late birds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

It's a nice hotel, located at the Vancouver downtown waterfront. But there are several problems during our stay. In the end, we had to check out earlier and changed our whole vacation schedule.

To be fair, I list pros and cons below:

Cons:
Outside wall and glasses are not noise preventive. During midnight, we were waken up several times by motorcycle noise from the street. motorcycler race is quite often during midnight.

There is a construction side across the street and it starts working at 7 am. Quite a bit noise and louder enough to wake you up. So if you are not an early bird, you should be aware of it.

Service including both housekeeping and luggage pick-up is slow. 20-minute-waiting is normal.

Besides, I had stomach flu after buffet breakfast in the hotel. (quite severe) My husband felt all right. I guess I had something that he did not have.

Pros:
Staffs are very friendly.

Hotel inside infrastructure meets five-star standards.

Managers show concern on our unfortunate stay and hopefully there is way to have it fixed. Otherwise, guests will have to be away from Fairmont Hotel lines.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank qpangpang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback; we sincerely appreciate it. We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and I would invite you to contact me directly at philip.barnes@fairmont.com to discuss your feedback in further detail. We certainly hope for the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,185)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,222 - 2,228 of 3,185 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

From the room, to the vibe, to the customer service - amazing! We stayed at another 5 star close by the night before and there is no comparison - look no further! The staff couldn't do enough to make our stay an enjoyable and memorable experience. The decor is contemporary and the beds extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moose00001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Very Pleased with our recent stay.

Our flight was 3 hours late arriving into YVR so we arrived at 930 instead of 530pm . I had let the hotel know of our late arrival and they were appreciative of the information. Since I am a presidents club member your check in is done before you arrive.

To my dismay I was given a suite on the pool level directly next to the pool.

This was not what I had asked for since I have a toddler and in my profile I specifically ask for a higher floor. After some negotiating with the night manager we were given a mini suite overlooking the pool one floor up but at a discounted rate. Turned out this was an excellent location due to the construction being done across the street.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. Yes they were busy and yes they lagged a few times but overall it was relaxing. It is a very modern hotel with updated electronics and the BmW car service is greatly appreciated. Oru was fantastic as well as the sushi bar / lounge.

I am looking forward to our next stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C-Suite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Thank you for selecting Fairmont Pacific Rim during your recent travels. We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy ORU and The Lobby Lounge + Raw Bar. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is probably one of the best decorated hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff is nice the beds are so comfy, oh did I mention we are gold members..... It's well worth it. We have our own member lounge with balcony on the 20th floor overlooking the harbor and Stanley Park.
Full bar in room, iPad room controls and iPod dock with room speakers even in the bathroom. Oh and a mirror TV in the bathroom with huge soaker tub. The shower is a bit strange because it shoots straight out without being able to shoot downwArds towards your body. There is a rain shower head in the ceiling.
We fell asleep early and were up at 3am and sweet Marla brought up a pizza for us. It was the Margarita with added feta!! Yummy!

Room Tip: Well we were on the 21 floor facing Stanley Park so you can't complain about that!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPacificRim, General Manager at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

We’re thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay on Fairmont Gold. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont Pacific Rim in the future.
Sincerely,
Philip M. Barnes
General Manager Fairmont Pacific Rim & Regional Vice President, Pacific Northwest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Great venue dressed to impress!

Stayed here on a concert night and enjoyed every moment. Room is stacked with accessories, an amazing view, great pool/patio & bar, and an excellent BMW 7 series valet car!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iAmitKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed at the Fairmont Pacific Rim on the last week of July, the longest and driest summer ever since 1986! This is the site of Glee star Cory Monteith's departure, and flowers still lay in the lobby from adoring fans. The mood though was far from somber-this is a very busy hotel with lots of people waiting for their cars or taxis in the driveway, and the lobby bar/restaurant was packed and could even be more loud when their live music comes on around happy hour.
This hotel is across the Canada Place, cruise ship terminal and Vancouver Convention Centre, so it is very busy with massive amounts of people all at once when they come or leave. Unlike other Fairmonts, this is decorated not in the traditional but the comtemporary style, with unique sculptures and BC photos and paintings throughout the hotel. The market cafe is there for grab and go, there is Oru for casual dining with farm fresh food with an Asian twist. The room is beautiful! I was lucky to get a suite with ample living room space, great for small meetings or families/weddings, a private deck that overlooks the swimming pool and the cruise ships at Canada Place! The room is spotless, with great amenities, robe/slippers, fridge, workspace, and an in room IPad to place room service orders or spa appointments. The bathroom has spa quality toiletries, and a push button will turn on the now-you-see-it, now-you-dont disappearing TV inside the mirror! I have only seen this at one other hotel and it is awesome. There is a gym and a spa, and if you're lucky enough to stay at the Fairmont Gold level, you can go to the club room for breakfast and evening appetizers, and to chat with fellow Gold members. There is a spiral staircase that connects both concierge floors. Yes, there's a gym and a spa too, and a florist in house. It is a huge and busy hotel, sometimes the service may be delayed or not at its best because of the busyness of the hotel. If you want to get out of the hotel, t is walking distance to Gastown and all the wonderful restaurants and shops. I would love to stay here again!

Room Tip: Coal Harbour Views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichieSel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed at this Fairmont as one of several on our visit to the Canadian Rockies, as part of a travel package with the Rocky Mountaineer. Our check-in was a bit rocky, as we were told the accommodations level we requested through the Rocky Mountaineer was not exactly what we thought we were paying for. After discussing this with the reception assistant and her manager, we were finally moved to the beautiful, spacious harborview room we had upgraded to. This is the view you should request. It is simply breathtaking.

Room Tip: Tip: if you join the Fairmont President's club, your internet charges are waived. Harborview is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#12 of 92 in Vancouver
3,479 reviews
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,016 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 92 in Vancouver
1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Vancouver
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,791 reviews
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pacific Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pacific Rim

Address: 1038 Canada Place, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 0B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#3 Family Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#5 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range: $281 - $914 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Pacific Rim 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairmont Pacific Rim – Vancouver's definitive luxury hotel – rated the World’s Best Business Hotel by Condé Nast Traveler readers and the #1 City hotel in Canada by Travel + Leisure. This ultramodern downtown hotel offers unobstructed mountain and harbour views, combining the best of the Pacific Rim in its architecture and décor. The hotel features three eclectic dining destinations, resort-style Willow Stream Spa, rooftop pool deck, and lavish guestrooms; while art, music and fashion take centre stage at the city’s most exclusive reservation. Experience a variety of the city’s most luxurious suites including the newest addition, The Fairmont Gold Owner’s Suite Collection: stylish mid-century modern designed suites inspired by what makes a city feel alive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairmont Pacific Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pacific Rim Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing