We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfiest bed ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Pacific Rim

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Ranked #2 of 89 Hotels in Vancouver
Certificate of Excellence
Cloverdale, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfiest bed ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I came here in March for a quick one night get away after a Canucks game. Loved it. The staff were extremely welcoming and courteous. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept on. The view of Canada Place and the harbour was fabulous. Very spendy so a rare treat for us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goby2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,414
    278
    53
    24
    20
See reviews for
595
1,044
126
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had heard that Pacific Rim was one of the jewels of the Fairmont brand and it didn't disappoint. Arrived early for our suite and it wasn't ready, so we were given a room to relax in just 2 doors down from our suite. Was quite helpful since we had a long flight with our 1 year old.

We are FPC Platinum and used a suite upgrade cert and paid a bit more to get into a pool view suite. Nice large suite with a pull out couch, 2 full bathroom, and a kitchenette with sink, full fridge, and microwave. We also had a dining table and a separate bedroom with a large bathroom. Worked well for our nanny and son to be in the living area and for my wife and I to be in the bedroom. Great balcony with a fireplace overlooking the pool.

Room service was good and prompt. Gratuity included in the bill with no expectation from the hotel staff for an extra tip. If you're looking for a quick bite or breakfast, there's a nice cafe downstairs that has pastries, sandwiches, and drinks. We had dinner at Oru. Wait staff was ok. Seafood was delicious.

It was nice to be able to use the car service by the hotel for short drives to Stanley Park, Pacific Centre, etc. Short walk to the waterfront and Olympic Monument. Short taxi ride to Edgewater Casino and a Urban Fare grocery store a few minutes walk away.

If it weren't for the suite, I would feel that this hotel would be more suited to couples traveling. I didn't see many infants or children around. The lobby is very lounge-like and you get to see a $250,000 piano.

Very much enjoyed our stay and the staff were very hospitable. Another excellent experience at the Fairmont.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JnAfromYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel is in a great location and we could see the daily comings and goings of the cruise ships from our room. The room was large and comfortable and the bed divine. Everything is within walking distance and the staff are friendly.
There are many restaurants and bars within a short distance including those at Gastown.

Room Tip: Join the Fairmonts Presidents Club for free to get extra benefits
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsMichelle35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Located on the edge of down town by the seaplane docks and within walking distance to Stanley Park. The hotel is new and modern and was buzzing in the lobby bar each evening we returned to the hotel. We stayed in a two room suite with a large sofa bed for the kids and two bathrooms. Being a corned room it had good views of both downtown and the seaplanes that take of and land in front of the hotel. The rooms were very comfortable, modern in design with all the features being controlled by a iPad in the room. The bathroom had a walk in shower and a bubble bath with airjets, also a TV in the mirror which the kids thought was cool. The sheets on the bed were very soft although the towels in the bathroom seemed a little threadbare. We ate in the restaurant once for breakfast and the staff lacked attention to detail, we were initially shown to a very wobbly table and then requested to move, only to see that ten mins later another party was given the same table without anything being done to fix the problem. The waitress also cleared the silverware during buffet courses but did not bring new silverware. Overall nothing major but just a bit sloppy. The hotel also has a fleet of 7 series BMW's that are free for hotel guests to use downtown, although we did not find this out until our third night at the property. Overall a good stay and would recommend to anyone if traveling on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SterlingIncomeLLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPacificRim, Director of Operations at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for selecting Fairmont Pacific Rim during your recent visit to Vancouver. We are thrilled to hear you enjoy your stay. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and comments and have followed up with our food and beverage team to ensure consistency in service. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Vancouver in the near future!

Sincerely,

Rudi Gimmi
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

When we found out we were going to Vancouver for a business trip, and we had 4 hotels to choose from, I used the Trip Advisor ratings to choose this one. I was exactly right. This is one of the best, if not the best, hotels I've ever stayed in. It has a fantastic location right on the water. All the people - valets, check in, concierge, etc. - were extremely polite, friendly, and helpful.

The rooms were amazing. We never take pictures of our rooms, but we had to take pictures of this one. The bathroom is what we wish we had in our home.

We were even able to take a couple of the bikes out and ride around Stanley Park. Every time we left, we were offered water by the valet. We were given great food adn shopping recommendations.

I can't say enough about how great this hotel was for us. I hope we get to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasBlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I stayed at the Pacific Rim in July and was highly impressed with the hospitality and the service. From the time we checked in, Amber assisted us and handed lovely goodie bags to the children. Check in was efficient and quick and we did not have to wait for our room. Amber also told us about the Fairmonts President Club membership and the perks, which is definitely worth taking.

The room was just awesome. We had the most stunning view of Stanley Park and the sea planes. My children gleefully opened and closed the automated curtains, experimented with all the chargers for their mobile phones and ipads and were simply fascinated by the telly in the bathroom mirror.

The service at the pool was good and the mojitos fabulous. The location is in the heart of Vancouver -worth taking a ride on the seaplanes for any tourist to Vancouver-it really is a memorable experience.

The conceirge service was also excellent. Elizabeth gave me expert guidance as to exactly where I could find a doctor and was so friendly and helpful whilst we were there.

The bicycles were complimentary and the ride through Stanley Park at sunset was one of the best things I did in Vancouver. The staff kitted us out properly when we went on our ride-with helmets, water, helped adjust seats on the bikes, gave us directions and helpful tips....and did so with a smile.

We had to board the Rocky Mountaineer train very early in the morning and once again the staff (Eric) came to our assistance. We are truly grateful for his help in getting us there on time.Its the small things that matter and its these little gestures that makes one return to such hotels time and time again.

Vancouver is far from our home in South Africa, yet the staff at the Fairmont Pacific Rim really made us "feel at home" and yes we will definitely return to beautiful British Columbia and will head straight for the warm welcome at the Fairmont Pacific Rim.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prithie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairmontPacificRim, Director of Operations at Fairmont Pacific Rim, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with your family and were able to enjoy the complimentary BMW bicycles to Stanley Park. We certainly hope you enjoyed your time aboard the Rocky Mountaineer and look forward to welcoming you back to Vancouver and your “home away from home” in the future!

Sincerely,

Rudi Gimmi
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I'm a Platinum Presidents club member with Fairmont and have stayed at a dozen or more Fairmont properties at this is by far the most modern. In fact, my main fault with Fairmont has been its tendency to cling to old architecture and design in its hotels. But the Pacific Rim is modern. This goes for the furnishings and design as well as the technology used in the hotel. We had a fabulous suite (courtesy of our Platinum benefits) and found that we could control the lights, curtains, temperature, etc. all from the ipad that was in the room. However, we didn't discover this until the 2nd night so a little tip from the front desk or bell man would have helped.

Overall, the staff were quite good and some excellent. Elizabeth at the concierge was about as top notch as they come. Seek her out. Their fleet of BMW's are also excellent for taking you around town. However, don't expect much on Sundays as they seem to only have one driver available that day. Also, they say that they only go to the entrance of Stanley park, but if you are going to the aquarium, go early and sweet talk the driver and he'll likely drop you at the door.

Food was also quite good, but lacked many of the healthy options you'd expect at a Fairmont and in Vancouver in particular. Opt for the restaurant over room service. There is a noticeable quality difference.

A few other notes:

- Not the best family pool. A bit small and seems to be more of a see and be seen kind of a place. Lots of glam and 20 somethings posing about the pool area. Though on the plus side, the pool was incredibly warm. I would guess between 88 and 90 degrees fahrenheit. Our kids (2 and 5) loved that it was warm. Also, do to the location and tall buildings around, note that the pool is in the shade until around 2pm and then back in the shade around 5pm, which is probably why they keep it so warm.

Stanley park is a 20 minute walk along a great walking/biking path. So easy and fun.

Hang out in front if you like to see exotic cars. We saw at least 6 Ferrari's, a couple Aston Martins, Rolls, Lamborghini's, Bentleys and more. The bar is happening on Friday and Saturday.

One last tip - If you are traveling with kids, go to Granville Island and if in the warm months take their swimsuits to enjoy the amazing water park. Fun for kids of all ages. Take the Water taxi. The hotel car will take you to the dock.

Room Tip: Water view will result in less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crticalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Downtown
Fairmont Waterfront
Fairmont Waterfront
#11 of 89 in Vancouver
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
Rosewood Hotel Georgia
#4 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Shangri-La Hotel, Vancouver
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#3 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Downtown
Loden Hotel
Loden Hotel
#5 of 89 in Vancouver
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Pacific Rim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Pacific Rim

Property: Fairmont Pacific Rim
Address: 1038 Canada Place, Vancouver, British Columbia V6C 0B9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Spa Hotel in Vancouver
#1 Business Hotel in Vancouver
#2 Luxury Hotel in Vancouver
#4 Family Hotel in Vancouver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Pacific Rim 5*
Number of rooms: 367
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With unobstructed views of the harbour and mountains, Fairmont Pacific Rim is a newcomer to an area rich in history and intrigue. Located in the heart of the historic port and financial district, the hotel fronts one of Vancouver's most celebrated streetscapes with unobstructed views of the North Shore Mountains, Stanley Park and Coal Harbour. Sophisticated and cosmopolitan but casual and contemporary, this downtown Vancouver hotel combines the best of Asia and the west coast in its plan, décor, and culinary offerings. Designed with five star standards and amenities, the 367-room luxury Vancouver hotel features lavish appointments, naturally inspired materials, comfortable furnishings and state-of-the-art technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Pacific Rim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Pacific Rim Hotel Vancouver

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing