We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good place to stay. near the UBC, with two babies”
Review of Alma Beach Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alma Beach Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2009

4 adults and a couple 4 months old twins from Denmark stayed at the Alma Beach Manor for 1½ month sept. oct. 2009 in "Spanish Banks" (1 month) and "Dundareve" (18 days) appartments. Theese appartments are suitable for 6 people, they are good and clean (cleaning once a week by a polite and seviceminded staff). The host Manfred and his assistent Jane made our stay to a really nice holiday in Vancouver. The one of us had to work/study at the UBC and by bus he had short time of transport to uni. Assistent Jane made us very happy when we arrived. Before our journey we asked Manfred for a shop to rent a babycarrier, There's one in the neighbourhood, he said. and when we arrived a babycarrier was ready to use outside the appartment. Jane har rented it in shop about 20 km. away, Super service! In the end we did not pay the rent for the carrier, while Manfred bought it for future renters!
The local area around is very nice with parks beaches within 5 min. walk and shopping is the same. there's shop for every need i Kitsilano few minutes away.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArneDk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2012

Dear Arndk,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write to TA, it really help future guests decided to choose our accommodations.

Hope to see you next time.

Regards,
Carol and Manfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Alma Beach Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 163 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2009

A high school friend of mine was getting married in Vancouver in early July. All the rest of his buddies, myself included, and their wives, wanted to stay in Kits and we all wanted to stay together - in a much more user-friendly, personal setting than a hotel. I contacted one of the apt. for rent websites asking if they knew of anything that would fit our requirements. She put me in contact with the owner of the Alma Beach Manor. Everything was easily set up through him, with us renting out two apts. (a three bedroom and a two bedroom, each complete with full kitchen) within the fully restored home. The accommodations were everything we were hoping they would be, large, spacious, clean, walking distance to the beach and the shops/restaurants/cafes of 4th st. and bus accessible to granville island and downtown. And, per person, it ended up being cheaper than downtown hotels (where most of the other wedding guests stayed and who were jealous of our lodging once they visited). On my next visit to the beautiful city of Vancouver, which is hopefully sooner rather than next decade, I know I cannot go wrong with Alma Beach Manor.

Thank Hawaii5doh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

We are delighted to know your choice of staying at Alma Beach Manor for this special celebration met your expectations and was successful. It truly is a "home away from home" for gatherings such as your event.

Having the opportunity to cook in the suite makes the trip to Vancouver even more enjoyable. There are so many opportunities to purchase fresh produce, fish or free range chicken and beef on west 4th or Granville Island you can "dine in" as a group, enjoy a glass of wine and feel at home together.

You must come again, we now have new kitchen with granite counters and new appliances. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Regards,
Carol and Manfred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We booked accomodation for a family holiday with family arriving from South Africa and Taiwan. We booked via the internet at Alma Beach B&B in Kitsilano, Vancouver, BC Canada.
The owners made available this beautiful home with luxurious bedrooms en suite, heated towel rails and quality linen & beds. This home is situated a short drive or bus to downtown and walking distance to the beach, shops and a variety of restaurants. Our stay in Vancouver was wonderful and this B&B can be recommended for any traveller that enjoy a homely and luxurious experience.

Thank AnnetteErasmus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you to you and your family for the reviews on Trip Advisor, we appreciate you taking the time to support our business which we love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2007

What a fantastic stay. Two better hosts you will not find than Manfred and Carol. We were pampered with first class accommodation, gourmet breakfasts and a couple who made sure that our stay was memorable in every way. It is a great location near the beach, close to public transportation, downtown and Stanley Park. We give Alma Beach B&B our highest Recommendation.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank onekiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor. We really enjoyed having you as our guest, come again?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

This B&B was absolutely FABULOUS! It is a beautiful home run by two of the classiest people I have ever met. They presented us with a beautifully appointed gourmet breakfast both days of our stay. They were delightful people who did their very best to make us feel cozy and at home. They were very helpful in giving us tips as to what to do, as we only had two days there. I only wish we had been there longer than the two days!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ruthann22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor. We are thrilled to be called "classy" a compliment for dong what we love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2007

My daughter and I stayed 2 nights at the Alma Beach B&B.
The room was very quiet , attractive and comfortable. The king sized bed was fabulous. We loved the robes that were provided and the beautiful towels and linens. We felt pampered.

The breakfasts were beautiful - fresh fruit- interesting hot entres- great coffee

The hosts, Carol and Manfred were gracious and fun with wonderful recommendations for places to eat and play.

The location can't be beat- close to the beach- lovely older neighborhood- close to shopping and all types of interesting restaurants.

Our visit was really memorable and sweet. We would certainly recommend a stay here.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank wisedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

So happy to know you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us, come again....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 days at this excellent B&B when we arrived in Vancouver. We couldn´t think of a better start of our vacation. Clean and spacious rooms, tastefully decorated and comfortable. Carol and Manfred were very good hosts and offered a delicious and varied breakfast. We would come back any time!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Hannover-One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Delighted you enjoyed your stay, the beginning of your vacation was a great start.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
Fairmont Pacific Rim
Fairmont Pacific Rim
#3 of 92 in Vancouver
3,073 reviews
Granville Island & Fairview
Granville Island Hotel
Granville Island Hotel
#20 of 92 in Vancouver
2,167 reviews
Shaughnessy
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
Holiday Inn Vancouver Centre
#35 of 92 in Vancouver
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yaletown & False Creek North
Opus Hotel
Opus Hotel
#6 of 92 in Vancouver
2,222 reviews
Granville Street
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
Wedgewood Hotel & Spa
#2 of 92 in Vancouver
1,702 reviews
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Beach Suites

Address: 2814 W 3rd Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6K 1J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Kitsilano
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range: $170 - $468 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma Beach Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful fully furnished and equipped apartments (including kitchens) ranging from Studios to Three bedrooms available for rent. There are 3 locations all within the Kitsilano neighbourhood. The model is a "home away from home" which allows cooking in completely equipped kitchens. Management is always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alma Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing