We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't book at Alma Beach - it is awful.”
Review of Alma Beach Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alma Beach Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2005

I have never written a negative review before, but after the treatment we received at Alma Beach, we felt we needed to share our experience. For starters, the owners agreed to meet us onsite at 5 pm and did not show up. There was no note. We were told by some other guests that there were no rooms available. The innkeepers did not return our phone calls for several hours. After a dozen phone calls to them they phoned us to say they would not check us in until 9:30 pm because 'they were going out to dinner'.

The place itself is a mess - we arrived to find spoiled food in the kitchen, a pair of underwear on the mainfloor bathroom counter and piles of laundry in the living room. When we finally met the owners, we asked to discuss the issues with them and we were told 'there was no issue' and 'they'd prefer we did not stay there.' So, we didn't, we stayed at the Holiday Inn. Sarcastically, they agreed we should share our grievances with the Better Business Bureau, and we have. We've also shared them with you.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank leighod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlmaBeachBandB, owner/manager at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2007

I am writing in response to this negative review.
We are a 41/2 star rated Bed and Breakfast, inspected by Canada Select which is part of BC Accomodation Guide. We have been in business for 8 years with only glowing reports.
This person took the liberty of touring the private quarters of our home while we were not there. This private area is off limits to guests as it is the support of our business in the busy season. We process the laundry, ironing, folding, storage and preparation in our private quarters. This is not unlike any hotel support area where guests are not invited.
The 9:30pm check in time was the guests suggestion as they were going for dinner.
Sincerely,
Carol McDermott and Manfred Schultz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 165 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laure C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ciabaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GCerbasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DerSchreier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ambleside studio perfect for couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jolanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Edith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,016 reviews
Granville Street
The Burrard
The Burrard
#33 of 92 in Vancouver
1,787 reviews
Downtown
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
Executive Hotel Le Soleil
#10 of 92 in Vancouver
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Granville Street
Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Beach Suites

Address: 2814 W 3rd Ave, Vancouver, British Columbia V6K 1J9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Kitsilano
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range: $159 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma Beach Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful fully furnished and equipped apartments (including kitchens) ranging from Studios to Three bedrooms available for rent. There are 3 locations all within the Kitsilano neighbourhood. The model is a "home away from home" which allows cooking in completely equipped kitchens. Management is always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Alma Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing