We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all round winner”
Review of Alma Beach Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alma Beach Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2013

A peaceful, friendly oasis of comfort with a basket of healthful, fresh food as well. And delicious REAL espresso! Clean and spacious. Tastefully decorated and well appointed. A pleasant, safe, short (umbrella provided) walk to everything I needed. Knowledgeable, kind and helpful hosts. What a wonderful haven in a beautiful city. Better than home. I'll be back. Soon.

Room Tip: Very roomy studio, main floor was my choice. Large north facing windows. All other suites are lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank pikesnpynns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor, we appreciate your thoughtfulness.
We are sincerely delighted you enjoyed staying in the Ambleside Suite at Alma Beach Manor. Although a studio it has a certain charm all our guests seem to enjoy. The Nespresso coffee and fresh Baked bread are a new addition to our welcome basket, we are pleased you enjoyed both. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Alma Beach Manor when you return to Vancouver in the future.
Regards,
Carol and Manfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 165 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a last minute booking and our hosts, Carol and Manfred, were most accommodating, friendly and made us feel very much at home. The location is very convenient and in a good neighborhood. The apartment (one bedroom) was well equipped and very clean. The decor is superb and the whole house is well appointed. I would not hesitate to stay there again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Carmen,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor, we really appreciate your positive comments.
The cleanliness of the suites is of paramount importance to us, happy you enjoyed the fully equipped kitchen and bathrooms.
The location is so central for both downtown and Kitsilano, happy that also worked for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Alma Beach Manor on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This house is beautifully situated,but needs some updates.the mattresses in the twin room upstairs need replacing,as do all the pillows!its extremely hot in the summer,ceiling fans would be a great improvement.
There are so many stairs with no hand railing
If all these improvements were made we would stay again,as the location is amazing

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bizzysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Bizzyer,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor, we appreciate your comments.
At your suggestion we have replaced the twin beds in the upper bedroom as well as all the pillows in the suite. We strive to offer a memorable experience to all our guests so any comment such as yours is taken as an opportunity to improve our guest experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Bayswater Manor, part of the Alma Beach Suite portfolio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We were very impressed and pleased with our accommodations at Alma Beach Manor. We rented a one bedroom and a studio apartment. Everything was clean and well-kept. We loved the welcome basket in the refrigerators! I had to call Manfred for a couple of minor issues, and he was very responsive and helpful. The area is gorgeous and 5 minutes from downtown. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank whools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear "Whools",
Thank you very much for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor with comments on your stay at Alma Beach Manor. We rely on guest referrals to encourage new guests to stay with us.
Manfred and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Alma Beach Manor in the studio and the one bedroom. We also love the area, walk everywhere and love the fact groceries, the beach and downtown are all so close, it is our favourite location in Kitsilano. Manfred is diligent with responding to guest inquiries as well as our assistant. As we are a " keyless entry" property checking in at your convenience works for most guests. The welcome basket is a new addition this year which we implemented from our own recent travel experience, we also loved the fact we could arrive late and relax rather than immediately go grocery shopping. The bread from a local bakery is legendary, almost like cake! We look forward to welcoming you to Alma Beach Manor should your travels have you return to our beautiful city.
Regards,
Carol and Manfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Not far from the sea ,walking distance of Kitsilano beach ,in a nice house.Quiet situation with bus stop nearby.Very well furnished appartment with all you need for your stay .We did appreciate to be upgraded free of charge by Manfred from studio to a nice one bedroom apartment !Very pleased to find in the fridge ,at our arrival (after a 13 hours flight....) a basket with everything for our first breakfast.Will come again as our son lives in Vancouver

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank alain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor regarding you stay at Alma Beach Manor. We are delighted you enjoyed the welcome basket with the legendary bread from one of our favorite bakeries in Kitsilano. Arriving after a long flight and having a snack before retiring gives us a feeling of "home away from home" which we aim to provide our guests. It was a pleasure to give you a complimentary upgrade to one of our one bedroom suites, they are newly renovated and very fresh. We look forward to welcoming you back to Alma Beach Manor on your return visit to Vancouver to reunite with your son. Warmest regards,
Carol and Manfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Mold in the bathroom, mold smell in the couch/living room area, damp basement apartment, HVAC controls are in another apartment (which means the apartment temp was either too hot or too cold), whistling water pipes that went on most of the night, water hammer on those same pipes, upstairs entry area smelled, and no confirmation email as promised. We sent two emails and made four phone calls in order to get the access codes. They finally came as we were driving into the area where the house is.

The mold/moisture level in the apartment was problematic for me. If we had been told that this was a basement (instead of saying it is first floor) then we would never have stayed there. We also parked at the front of the house because the garbage smell in the back of the yard next to the off street parking was so bad.

We moved to a hotel instead of staying a second night. Since the owners said they are overseas I can only guess that they have no clue as to what shape the apartment is in. However they failed on responding to emails and phone calls. Should have known at that point that this was a problem rental.

Bottom line is on-line photos look great but what is the point of staying if it is a health and noise problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Susan,
Both Manfred and are are very alarmed to read your review to Trip Advisor. We do appreciate you taking the time to write your comments of your experience at Alma Beach Manor.
Your reservation was made by telephone on August 1, a 2 night stay in the Locarno suite, (a special consideration to you as we have a 4 night minimum). As the reservation was made by telephone, we do not have an email address for you. Additionally, the telephone number recorded in our files, the contact given by you is not the same as the number recorded on our call display. We called the number starting with 913 and ending with 08 on several occasions to hear a mechanical recording of "this number is not available".
We are very surprised to read your score on sleep quality in your comments. The Locarno suite has 6 month old Sealy Posturepedic pillow top Queen size mattress and box spring. All our linens are 420 thread count with Pottery Barn duvet covers. We are wondering if the mattress was too firm for you?
The Locarno suite is ground level, opens directly to the garden, it is not a basement suite as none of the suite is below grade.
We have checked with our assistant regarding your departure one day early, she believes you stayed both nights. If you can supply us with an invoice from the hotel you moved to we would happily refund your cost.
As for your comments on mould in the suite and on the leather sofa, we have checked both without any evidence. Our cleaner is fastidious and most of the comments on Trip Advisor refer to the immaculate condition of the suites.
The Alma Beach Manor is a heritage home, now 101 years old and does have a pleasant traditional scent which perhaps you are confusing with mould.
I notice from your Trip Advisor recent comments you had been previously staying at an ecological resort. Perhaps some of your luggage was damp from the experience which could cause this odour.
The garbage cans at the rear of the property can become unpleasantly scented in the summer, Vancouver only has pick up for recycle products every two weeks. Sadly, not all tins, plastic, glass and juice boxes are cleaned before disposing, they can become very strong in 2 weeks, particularly milk product. I do apologize if you had to park in front of the suite on the street instead of in the off street parking at the rear.The weather in July and August was unusually hot, July was the hottest July ever recorded and August very close as we had next to no rain the entire month.
Should you return to Vancouver in the future, please give us the opportunity to change your opinion of Alma Beach Manor, we would happily give you a complimentary upgrade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our group of 3 families stayed in 3 suites of the Alma Beach Manor and thoroughly enjoyed the comforts and amenities of this beautiful home. We were instantly welcomed with immaculate suites and a welcome basket of fresh bread, coffee, and milk-much appreciated. The excellent location and stunning vistas make this an ideal place to stay while visiting Vancouver. The only suggestion we have is it would have been nice if the wi-fi was working on the top floor. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. We are delighted your experience in Alma Beach Manor was so enjoyable, the accommodation and location are splendid. Also, your comments on the welcome basket are very much appreciated. This is a new "treat" to welcome guests that we introduced this summer. As avid travellers we know how an available snack on arrival reminds one of home. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,067 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#58 of 92 in Vancouver
971 reviews
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Pinnacle Hotel Harbourfront
West End
910 Beach Avenue Apartment Hotel
Gastown
Skwachays Lodge
Skwachays Lodge
#1 of 57 in Vancouver
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Beach Suites

Address: 2814W 3rd Ave E, Vancouver, British Columbia V5M 1H6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Kitsilano
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range: $166 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma Beach Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful fully furnished and equipped apartments (including kitchens) ranging from Studios to Three bedrooms available for rent. There are 3 locations all within the Kitsilano neighbourhood. The model is a "home away from home" which allows cooking in completely equipped kitchens. Management is always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Alma Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing