We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant stay in a nice neighbourhood”
Review of Alma Beach Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alma Beach Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Not far from the sea ,walking distance of Kitsilano beach ,in a nice house.Quiet situation with bus stop nearby.Very well furnished appartment with all you need for your stay .We did appreciate to be upgraded free of charge by Manfred from studio to a nice one bedroom apartment !Very pleased to find in the fridge ,at our arrival (after a 13 hours flight....) a basket with everything for our first breakfast.Will come again as our son lives in Vancouver

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank alain N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor regarding you stay at Alma Beach Manor. We are delighted you enjoyed the welcome basket with the legendary bread from one of our favorite bakeries in Kitsilano. Arriving after a long flight and having a snack before retiring gives us a feeling of "home away from home" which we aim to provide our guests. It was a pleasure to give you a complimentary upgrade to one of our one bedroom suites, they are newly renovated and very fresh. We look forward to welcoming you back to Alma Beach Manor on your return visit to Vancouver to reunite with your son. Warmest regards,
Carol and Manfred.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 165 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Mold in the bathroom, mold smell in the couch/living room area, damp basement apartment, HVAC controls are in another apartment (which means the apartment temp was either too hot or too cold), whistling water pipes that went on most of the night, water hammer on those same pipes, upstairs entry area smelled, and no confirmation email as promised. We sent two emails and made four phone calls in order to get the access codes. They finally came as we were driving into the area where the house is.

The mold/moisture level in the apartment was problematic for me. If we had been told that this was a basement (instead of saying it is first floor) then we would never have stayed there. We also parked at the front of the house because the garbage smell in the back of the yard next to the off street parking was so bad.

We moved to a hotel instead of staying a second night. Since the owners said they are overseas I can only guess that they have no clue as to what shape the apartment is in. However they failed on responding to emails and phone calls. Should have known at that point that this was a problem rental.

Bottom line is on-line photos look great but what is the point of staying if it is a health and noise problem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BSEEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Susan,
Both Manfred and are are very alarmed to read your review to Trip Advisor. We do appreciate you taking the time to write your comments of your experience at Alma Beach Manor.
Your reservation was made by telephone on August 1, a 2 night stay in the Locarno suite, (a special consideration to you as we have a 4 night minimum). As the reservation was made by telephone, we do not have an email address for you. Additionally, the telephone number recorded in our files, the contact given by you is not the same as the number recorded on our call display. We called the number starting with 913 and ending with 08 on several occasions to hear a mechanical recording of "this number is not available".
We are very surprised to read your score on sleep quality in your comments. The Locarno suite has 6 month old Sealy Posturepedic pillow top Queen size mattress and box spring. All our linens are 420 thread count with Pottery Barn duvet covers. We are wondering if the mattress was too firm for you?
The Locarno suite is ground level, opens directly to the garden, it is not a basement suite as none of the suite is below grade.
We have checked with our assistant regarding your departure one day early, she believes you stayed both nights. If you can supply us with an invoice from the hotel you moved to we would happily refund your cost.
As for your comments on mould in the suite and on the leather sofa, we have checked both without any evidence. Our cleaner is fastidious and most of the comments on Trip Advisor refer to the immaculate condition of the suites.
The Alma Beach Manor is a heritage home, now 101 years old and does have a pleasant traditional scent which perhaps you are confusing with mould.
I notice from your Trip Advisor recent comments you had been previously staying at an ecological resort. Perhaps some of your luggage was damp from the experience which could cause this odour.
The garbage cans at the rear of the property can become unpleasantly scented in the summer, Vancouver only has pick up for recycle products every two weeks. Sadly, not all tins, plastic, glass and juice boxes are cleaned before disposing, they can become very strong in 2 weeks, particularly milk product. I do apologize if you had to park in front of the suite on the street instead of in the off street parking at the rear.The weather in July and August was unusually hot, July was the hottest July ever recorded and August very close as we had next to no rain the entire month.
Should you return to Vancouver in the future, please give us the opportunity to change your opinion of Alma Beach Manor, we would happily give you a complimentary upgrade.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our group of 3 families stayed in 3 suites of the Alma Beach Manor and thoroughly enjoyed the comforts and amenities of this beautiful home. We were instantly welcomed with immaculate suites and a welcome basket of fresh bread, coffee, and milk-much appreciated. The excellent location and stunning vistas make this an ideal place to stay while visiting Vancouver. The only suggestion we have is it would have been nice if the wi-fi was working on the top floor. Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor. We are delighted your experience in Alma Beach Manor was so enjoyable, the accommodation and location are splendid. Also, your comments on the welcome basket are very much appreciated. This is a new "treat" to welcome guests that we introduced this summer. As avid travellers we know how an available snack on arrival reminds one of home. We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at Alma Beach Manor for a month while I was a guest researcher at UBC. An ideal location on all the bus lines for both UBC and downtown. Great hosts, responsive to every need, nice to chat with. Nice quiet room, well appointed, kept clean (above and beyond what I would have expected) on a regular basis. Close to convenient shops, good restaurants and bars, great walks along the bay. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelleric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Eric,
Thank you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor with you favourable comments of staying at Alma Beach Manor.
It was a pleasure to have you with us. We were also so delighted to meet your daughter and both Manfred and I marvelled at the great relationship you share.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Manor, perhaps with your entire family?
Again, we really appreciate your comments to Trip Advisor as we rely on referrals like yours to encourage future guests to join us in Kitsilano...
Carol.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Alma Beach Manor in the Ambleside Studio suite. The suite was immaculate and had one of the most comfortable beds that I have ever slept in. The sheets were totally exquisite and this attention to detail is evident throughout. The neighbourhood is interesting to visit and the location of the Alma Beach Manor makes it a perfect base from which to explore the beautiful city of Vancouver and the surrounding areas.

Room Tip: The Ambleside studio suite was a lovely space for a solo traveller or a couple. The view from the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AquagirlVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear Aqua Girl,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor of you experience at Alma Beach Manor. I too love the Amblesdie suite with its 12' ceilings and the charming outlook onto the street, especially at this time of year...so happy you slept well and loved the sheets. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Vancouver and the Alma Beach Manor. Keep in mind we have larger suites, up to a 3 bedroom if you are travelling with friends or family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Gift Basket is wonderful. We did intially have problems getting into the house. There are Door Locks which are numerically keyed to the house and room. The code we had did not work. No one was there to help. Did talk to Bev who was very helpful. Got her name from guests at Manor who had a similar problem. I tried to contact number for hotel however it did not work. Left a message for Carol and did not get a response. There did not seem like there was anyone onsite to help us. Also need instructions on the booking of how the locks work.
Once we were in, we loved the room. The room and kitchen are well appointed, The gift basket particularly the bread and butter were fantastic.
We would stay again, however would call or email before to get the door codes and get a contact name and number.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Mike,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor of your experience when staying at the Manor.
My sincere apologies for the problem you encountersd with the keyless entry to the Alma Beach Manor. We have had a lengthy discussion with reservations and will definitely make the codes and technique clearer in our explanation. Also, will put contact numbers in the confirmation email. We rely on guest feedback to improve our guest experience, thank you again.
We are delighted you enjoyed the welcome basket! It is a new addition to our guest amenity, one we duplicated from an experience while travelling. I too love the Cobs Bread, it is almost like cake! We feel if you arrive tired and a little hungary, don't have the energy to grocery shop immediately, you have enough to survive. We approach our guest experience as if we were the arriving guest.
I look forward to welcoming you back to Alma Beach Manor on your next visit to Vancouver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have stayed at Alma Beach manor several times, the most recent in the two-bedroom Spanish Banks suite. As usual, it was clean, convenient, very well maintained, had everything you could want in your home away from home, with a full-sized kitchen and comfy sitting room. It's convenient to downtown and Kits Beach. We have made Alma Beach Manor our place to stay whenever we visit Vancouver. We highly recommend any one of the suites in this beautiful home.

Diana and Keith

Room Tip: Roomy. Large enough for small family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol1997, Owner at Alma Beach Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Diana,
It is always a pleasure to welcome you to the Alma Beach Manor. Our sincere appreciation to you for taking the time to write to Trip Advisor, we rely on guest comments to improve our guest experience and referrals.
We have implemented a welcome basket for guests which I am sure you will enjoy on your next visit. It is repeat guests such as yourself that confirm our efforts are worthwhile and make us strive and uphold our excellent standards. I look forward to your next visit to Alma Beach Manor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vancouver hotels
Downtown
L'Hermitage Hotel
L'Hermitage Hotel
#1 of 92 in Vancouver
4,041 reviews
Atrium Inn Vancouver
#59 of 92 in Vancouver
960 reviews
West End
Residence Inn Vancouver Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Robson Street
Georgian Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Granville Street
Sheraton Vancouver Wall Centre
Shaughnessy
Park Inn & Suites by Radisson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Beach Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Beach Suites

Address: 2814W 3rd Ave E, Vancouver, British Columbia V5M 1H6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver > Kitsilano
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Vancouver
Price Range: $161 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alma Beach Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful fully furnished and equipped apartments (including kitchens) ranging from Studios to Three bedrooms available for rent. There are 3 locations all within the Kitsilano neighbourhood. The model is a "home away from home" which allows cooking in completely equipped kitchens. Management is always available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Alma Beach Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing